We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goo Staff - rooms not up to par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel the first being nearly 10 years ago - I want to love it, but 10 years later, it disappointed, as it did the first time. The location is fantastic. And the staff, for the most part is good and trying to offer high quality service. But the rooms are so basic it's not worth the price tag. For $500 a night I expect a luxury feel to the room, but we found them to be outdated and not well kept up. Our first room over looked the pool and the music was so loud I couldn't concentrate on a conference call. The carpet was worn and the chair had definitely seen better days. We did get a free upgrade after complaining about the noise and the view alone in the new room made it feel spacious and luxurious with an ocean view. But otherwise it's an average room. Nothing special, nothing to make me say I'll come back. The linens were definitely clean and crisp, but the whole room had a very worn out feel to it. The sink in the bathroom backed up every time my husband tried to shave, the shower head wouldn't move at all so while a big shower you had to stand in one tiny corner to make sure you were getting water on you. On our last morning house keeping was knocking on the door at 830am asking when they could clean the room. Overall it's fine, but not for that kind of money.

Room Tip: ask for rooms high up and NOT facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank researchlady030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear researchlady030,

Thank you for your return business and for your compliments to our quality property and staff. We are glad we were able to provide you with a room upgrade but apologize for your issues with the room and issue with housekeeping. Please know we are investigating and apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,211 - 1,217 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We recently stayed at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel for 4 nights & what a fantastic stunning hotel, our room had a very big balcony over looking the pier, amazing! The staff were all friendly and couldn't do enough for you, will be staying here again but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 7Deb549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear 7Deb549,

Thank you for your wonderful words about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your ocean view and received our signature top-notch service. Can't wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pricey hotel but you get lots for your money.Staff excellent,food good try the breakfast buffet on a weekend.Central position,walk to the pier and to the third street for shops and food day or night.Plenty of homeless in all areas but never felt uneasy.The only negative was the small pool for a hotel this size you would expect more than a splash pool and i know some people will say the Ocean is just across the road but when you just want to chill and have a cooling dip a good pool in my opinion is a must.

Room Tip: higher up better views but you will have to pay a premium for any view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Jack T,

From our excellent staff and food and location just beside the ocean, we are happy to hear you got the value you were looking for from your stay. We hope you will return for a second and third – and more – stay.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Didnt stay here but it looks like a perfect location and very nice. We spent 3 hours enjoying Sunday brunch overlooking the beach. The food was great and so was the service. THe pool area was nice and the gift shop had nice things. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Miranda H,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your brunch at Ocean & Vine - both the food and the service. Looking forward to you getting to experience the hotel on the whole upon your return.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

First impressions of this hotel were its excellent location - within easy walking distance to downtown Santa Monica and also the world famous Santa Monica Pier. The hotel itself has a very impressive reception area and palatial foyer with a live screen shot of the beach behind the reception counter and expansive views out its large floor to ceiling windows down onto the beach.

We arrived a few days before Americas infamous 4th July celebrations so everyone was gearing up for this hence the hotels popularity on their busiest week of the year. We asked for an upgrade and were given a large two roomed (one main room and one smaller reception area room). This room only had one bed, being a king sized one. We had 16 year old and 11 year old boys so we were told that they could only provide two rollaway beds, which we agreed to as we were only there 3 nights (incidentally they forgot to deliver the rollaway beds until I rang housekeeping that night to get it sorted). Originally our travel agent had booked a one room two double bed accomodation for us. Admittedly we had had to cancel our first booking in order to rearrange our two week holiday due to a death in the family so from this perspective (taking onto account 4 July week also) the hotel had certainly done their very best to satisfy our sleeping arrangements - (a teenage boy doesn't want to sleep with his little brother).

We found it very expensive to stay at this motel - $400 per night, expensive to eat there, and the room itself looked out onto somebody elses balcony area - our balcony had a huge railing across it so that you couldn't even stand on it and we had to keep our curtains pulled the whole time so that other guests could not see into our room - had to have lights on in our room the whole time! Considering we were paying what we consider premium we would have expected a more user friendly family room and outlook. The hotel complex did not have guest laundry which to me is quite important when traveling with a family of four or more. It proved very expensive to get a load of laundry laundered at $145!

Our toilet did not work properly so a workman was sent up one night to try and fix it. It could not be fixed so the next day he came back and took about two hours to replace the entire toilet - very inconvenient. When we asked what compensation they would give us, they offered a refund of $250 - personally I would have expected a refund of one nights acommodation of $400 as that was how long we were inconvenienced for.

Personally I didnt feel that we got value for money - the service was great, the restaurants, pool, bar etc were up to standard but the room and its problems let us down.

Room Tip: When booking a family holiday make sure that there are guest laundry amenities available otherwise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shay-Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Shay-Lee W,

Thank you for your experience with us in detail. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the property and its ideal placement within Santa Monica. We are also pleased we were able to accommodate your upgrade. We apologize, however, for the issues you encountered. Please rest assured that we will investigate this immediately, and we apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Lowes Santa Monica
The hotel is located in a perfect position overlooking the ocean, you have beach access from the ground floor which makes life so easy. The pool area is lovely and clean, nice sun beds and day chairs although as it's not that big does get very busy and people to bag their sunbeds although the hotel do have a 1 hour policy and so in force it which was great to see. ,the rooms are a decent size as well as the bathroom although a little tired. We ate by the pool one evening and one lunch time, good menu, good food and good friendly service. The concierge was fantastic very on the ball and knew everything. Free wifi, great gym. Easy walk into Santa Monica town for the shops and restaurants. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms also have partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear ZoeSparks,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Glad you enjoyed the food, friendly service and extensive amenities, as well as our easy access to the beach and all that Santa Monica has to offer. As far as our concierge goes, we will be sure to pass on your compliments. So happy to hear that we will hopefully have the honor of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall poor service. Waited 2 hours for room to be cleaned. Restaurant was closed Sunday and Monday. Poolside dining was never able to get fire pits lit. Cold outside. Not offered blankets or any solution. Car was not available when valet called. Overall impression: the staff at the hotel are poorly trained and unhappy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Linda A,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear of your poor experience and are investigating the various issues you mentioned. We sincerely apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence. Please note, we have messaged you privately as well.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,968 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,619 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,147 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
995 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £322 - £542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing