We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Top class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay with my family. Hotel was spotless and the staff were ALL absolutely brilliant... Would love to go back.. Special thanks to Mr Foxy the concierge, Jason on the front desk and Jonathan on the bar. Thanks again everyone!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Nicole H,

So happy to hear that you and your family had a great stay at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Thank you for your compliments – we will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff, especially, Foxy, Jason and Jonathan. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, we hope to see you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    953
    711
    344
    175
    131
See reviews for
861
606
93
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We booked the Firepit suite as the beach views on the site were spectacular. This is a sham! False advertising. The view from our suite was of a concrete wall, our so called private patio was viewed by everyone staying at the hotel, there were two chairs outside, a very uncomfortable couch, and very empty space. Their are no privacy doors in the suite. We paid a lot of money for a motel 6 experience. If you plan on staying at this hotel...there are no terraces...LOL it's a little ledge so most of the time people were flicking their cigarette butts down on us. DO NOT BOOK AT THIS HOTEL...it's overpriced, and their false advertising is a sham!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0bins0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Ms. Rosbinson,

Thank you for letting us know of your stay, we appreciate you feedback on our new rooms. We continue to develop our message and product for these rooms and appreciate you taking the time to speak with me recently. These rooms are on our first floor with closest access to the beach, which is a short walk through our colonnade garden to the boardwalk. As mentioned, we continue to develop these rooms and apologize for the issues you encountered. Please know we are investigating this immediately and we apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Room was nice. Shower great. Nice and powerful. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Thoughtfully they brought me GF bread with my room service without asking. Great location. A slight niggle was that the room wasn't entirely sound proof. That said there wasn't that much noise outside so didn't cause me any bother.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear HilaryLondonUK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Very happy you enjoyed your guest room, luxurious bathroom and our amazing staff – also glad that we were able to accommodate your dietary restrictions. Please come visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was booked by our travelagent, so except for the views on the internet, we were not sure, what we were in for.

As stated by many here on Tripadvisor the location is amazing. Full view of the beach from the pool patio and the huge and lobby, with glass from floor to ceiling. The beach can be reached from ground level by crossing a small, quiet street. Further the hotel is placed around 100 yards from the Santa Monica Pier. Close enough for the views, but far enough away to escape the hazzle at the Pier. Finally Main Street with its chique restaurants and 3rd Street with its shopping is within walking distance.

We were, however, placed in interconnecting rooms at the bottom of the hotel (actually below street level, with no view whatsoever from the small terrace). Not very satisfactory. The roll-away had not been placed in the room and the interconnecting doors were not opened. The reception served milk and cookies (fast) for the kids to make up for the mistake.

The rooms are large, but - as also stated several times here on Tripadvisor - could need an update, especially with respect of the bathrooms.

Service at the pool (which is quite small and with a quite crowded patio, which could suggest for a reservation system) was good, and the poolside menu is absolutely above average. Finally, there is the valet service, which was very fast and very serviceminded and coordinated, which was especially impressive, as there were many people arriving and departing at our checkin and check out.

Room Tip: Even though the ocean view rooms are great, please remember that most are facing the pool, which clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear batrayn,

Thank you for this wonderful review. Thank you for your compliments to our property and ideal location in regards to the beach and all of Santa Monica. We apologize for any issue with your guest room but glad we were able to make up for the mistake. We are glad that you were impressed by our topnotch service, especially that of the valet and poolside servers. Please come back to the beach soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We travel often to Los Angeles, and Santa Monica is our favourite place to stay. Having stayed at the Fairmont, the new Shore hotel and the Georgian on other occasions we thought we'd finally give Loews a try. We 'd been travelling a while in Europe and the US and had had some quite exceptional service. Here's what we thought: Loews was a good experience, but not so good we'd choose it again.

Here's why: first, though we arrived at 5pm on a Thursday, our room wasn't ready. This is a common but still annoying problem especially if you travel frequently. Second, they offered to call us on our cell when it was - but as we had an international number this was not an option. Note to management - sometimes hotel guests come from overseas! So we waited , as suggested, in the bar, where it proved impossible to be served - even after going to the bar to ask for service. Around about half an hour later, our room was ready. 90mins after check in time is not acceptable from a hotel of this quality.

Check out was just as messy. Late arrival was fine, but late checkout was impossible -they gave us 30 mins.. We lost count of the number of staff who knocked on our door between 11 and 12.30. No express checkout bill was provided. No staff were at the desk to to check out with. The bellman took our key and assured us an account would be emailed. A week later we have yet to see one.

In between staff were pleasant, the accommodations were fine if not remarkable and the food was fine. But the bones of a great service (let's face it, this is not a cheap option) were missing. This is a nicely located option, but in the end it's just another big hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Checked in mid last week with 19 year old son for boys week away. There was a mix up with the rooms on checking in so had to move rooms on second day, no big deal until bags moved on day two and son locked out for three hours whilst I went to business meeting. Not impressed but it all got better. The 7th floor room we ended up in was perfectly ok, save that I hate shower curtains.
The best thing about Loews is the location. Looking out over the ocean from the terrace is lovely, especially when you can sit by fire bowls having a drink. Great view too from breakfast, look out over beach and Santa Monica pier and when you're done take a complimentary Starbuck's to go. The service in this hotel was friendly and efficient. Valet guys were a pleasure and nothing too much trouble.
Great to see properly qualified Concierge with cross key badges. Belle was very helpful, sorted out the rental car and baseball tickets for us - even taught us about 'bobble heads'!
This a resort style family hotel but the pool area is well laid out and plenty of space. The kids in the pool weren't noisy, despite seeming to have loads of fun. Poolside service was excellent.
The gym is as good as you'll find in any hotel and the changing facilities were spotless and really well stocked with shaving gear, every lotion/cosmetic you could need and loads of towels.
Bedrooms are comfortable but fairly ordinary but you're going to be in the hotel/outdoor areas for the vast majority of the day.
The best bit about the hotel is the efficient, friendly service and the laid back feel to the place, probably because most people are on vacation. Special shout out to Julio at poolside service - remembered name, what you were drinking and a couple of times suggested better places that were available to sit etc... Will certainly go back when on a relaxing trip to LA.

Room Tip: Our room was above pool but good glazing and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LANYUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear LANYUKTraveller,

Happy to hear that your visit at Loews Santa Monica Beach hotel was such a success. Thank you for your many compliments to our property, staff and unique features. Glad you appreciated our hotel’s vibe and our extensive amenities. We will surely pass on your positive feedback about our excellent service, especially to Belle and Julio. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we are very much looking forward to having you back for another relaxing trip to LA.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Three night stay. Charged $552 per night. Air conditioner made horrible noise second night, had to turn off. Was supposed to be fixed the next day. Didn't work at all. Two sweaty nights of sleep. Hot water in bathroom sinks never worked. Stains on lamp shade. Stained carpet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Kelly P,

Thank you for providing your feedback. Our engineering team has responded and corrected the problem, however, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that you have a comfortable stay.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and TravelUp so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing