We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it is a "Loews" experience but not a "Love" experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfort, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“it is a "Loews" experience but not a "Love" experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We are a french family who visited this beautiful California for two weeks and we stayed one week at Loews. We are not satisfied because of the attitude of the staff at the reception and the price / quality ratio of the bedrooms. We sold us "illusion" about the ocean premium view room.

It should be noted that the hotel has a great location and a nice view on the Santa Monica beach and the concierge is very qualified and helpful.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Elise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Elise E,

Thank you for staying with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our concierge. We apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence, however, we are glad you enjoyed our property and proximity to Santa Monica Beach and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.


Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    723
    348
    180
    132
See reviews for
891
616
96
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Marked down only by small pool and no seats on a couple of days. Other than that- staff great, rooms nice and location as good as it gets for the beach, shopping, the pier etc. If you are car free - this hotel is perfect. And they have a fiat demo car which will drop you off any where free if available. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Doncasterdarling,

Thank you for your comments and your recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed our rooms and property and glad to hear you took advantage of our FIAT program.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here for a week with my adult daughter and we had a perfect premium oceanfront double king. Very expensive but worth it. The room was nice, great view of the ocean, the Pier, an of course Muscle Beach. The service was great, very pleasant and capable staff at front desk, housekeeping, etc. My daughter used the gym every day which is free if you sign up as a "Loews First" member, which also gives you free (if slow) wifi.
The pool area was beautiful; the only thing that keeps this from being a 5* review is that my daughter, a sun worshipper, found she needed to get to the pool at 7:30 am to stake out a chair. I guess there's not much that can be done about it, but people do put their towels on chairs and then disappear for most of the day.
The location is great, easy walk to restaurants and stores. Breakfasts were great and poolside lunches were delightful.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, you need to pay for an oceanfront premium, where views were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalophileNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear ItalophileNJ,

Very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with your daughter. We are glad you enjoyed your ocean view room, our outstanding food and gym and that you experienced our topnotch service. We can’t wait to have you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very, very nice hotel. Breakfast was good and fish tacos for lunch by the pool were also yummy. Close to Santa Monica Pier and right across from the beach. Pool has limited lounge seating. Lots of shopping and restaurants in the area. Only annoyance was that my little sister, who went back from the beach early one day, could not get a replacement room key because her name wasn't listed on the room and it was a security hazard. She had ID, has the same last name as my dad, who is listed, and is a little kid. A bit excessive and annoying when my dad had to leave the beach to let her into the room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Haley L,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel, property and food. So sorry for the inconvenience with the room key, however, for security purposes and your protection, this is our policy. We appreciate your understanding and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and all that Santa Monica has to offer at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel’s doorstep. We hope to welcome you to the beach again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Awesome stylish hotel in center of Santa Monica and just steps from beach and famous SM pier. Luxurious rooms with jacuzzi tubs and glass-enclosed waterfall shower. Excellent fitness center. Steps to many great restaurants as well as good local casual eats. Popular with celebrities!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Todd H,

Thanks for your kind words about our stylish hotel. So glad you enjoyed our property and your stay as well as being in the center of Santa Monica, close to the many aspects it has to offer. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed a week at this hotel. It was amazing! The service was excellent, the hotel was clean and modern. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Loved the spa and massage, especially the eucalyptus steam room! My daughter used the fitness area daily. The only downside of the using the spa and fitness area, is you had to pay $10.00 per day, per guest. I feel it should be included. Valet service was excellent... however, you will have to pay about $40 a day for parking. The location is right on the beach, and you just can't beat it. The location made all the extra fees worth the visit. If I ever return, I will be booking with Lowes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank rcox2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear rcox2014,

Thank you for your compliments, so happy to hear you had an amazing stay. We appreciate your compliments to our facilities and excellent staff and can’t wait to have you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very pricey and not very nice. Good location and lobby but the rooms are small and unattractive. Our first room was below ground level and very claustrophobic, they ended up moving us for the next two nights after I complained and the room was marginally better.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Natalie,

Thank you for your comments about our guestrooms. We value your feedback and apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing