We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful it's not what you think”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be careful it's not what you think”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Be careful these bets really need a grading I slept in the hole after three days my husband and I couldn't move the pillows are awful and it doesn't matter how many time you confirm a reservation there going to get it wrong the valet staff was impeccable full of information made us feel at home but once we walked in the hotel it went all downhill deathly not worth the price

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mariaruttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear mariaruttle,

Thank you for your comments about our guestrooms. We apologize that the pillows were not to your liking but will see to it that this is looked into and addressed.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    771
    372
    187
    138
See reviews for
983
661
101
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Location of the Hotel remains only true advantage, together with nice pool area. The rooms are outdated, old carpet, bathtubs and IKEA style furnishings. Pricing is far above quality. Same as Best Western at 2x price. Not for luxury traveler.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear David D,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our beachside location and beautiful pool area and value your feedback.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although we decided late in the game to visit California, we were not prepared for the mediocrity that greeted us at the Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. The room was not ready until 5:00 pm., the air conditioner was not working in the room, and the pool was cloudy and very small for the size of this hotel, which was priced like a resort ($700+ for a standard room with a view). The halls were noisy all night long, and the cleaning staff began knocking on doors at 8:00 with loud rapping to be heard many rooms away.
We would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieLansaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear JulieLansaw,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your delayed check in and your engineering and noise issues. Please rest assured that we will investigate this immediately, and we apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Most amazing place to stay with the best of film set style views and the staff are awesome
I was there for a Whisky extravaganza with the malt Whisky society who put on amazing night with great tastings .
The food put on from Loews was fantastic too

Room Tip: Just ask the staff there great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantisgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Grantisgee,

Thanks for coming to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel for the Whisky extravaganza. Really appreciate your kind words about our food, staff and hotel in general and hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing visit.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfort, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We are a french family who visited this beautiful California for two weeks and we stayed one week at Loews. We are not satisfied because of the attitude of the staff at the reception and the price / quality ratio of the bedrooms. We sold us "illusion" about the ocean premium view room.

It should be noted that the hotel has a great location and a nice view on the Santa Monica beach and the concierge is very qualified and helpful.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Elise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Elise E,

Thank you for staying with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our concierge. We apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence, however, we are glad you enjoyed our property and proximity to Santa Monica Beach and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.


Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Marked down only by small pool and no seats on a couple of days. Other than that- staff great, rooms nice and location as good as it gets for the beach, shopping, the pier etc. If you are car free - this hotel is perfect. And they have a fiat demo car which will drop you off any where free if available. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncasterdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Doncasterdarling,

Thank you for your comments and your recommendation. We are happy that you enjoyed our rooms and property and glad to hear you took advantage of our FIAT program.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here for a week with my adult daughter and we had a perfect premium oceanfront double king. Very expensive but worth it. The room was nice, great view of the ocean, the Pier, an of course Muscle Beach. The service was great, very pleasant and capable staff at front desk, housekeeping, etc. My daughter used the gym every day which is free if you sign up as a "Loews First" member, which also gives you free (if slow) wifi.
The pool area was beautiful; the only thing that keeps this from being a 5* review is that my daughter, a sun worshipper, found she needed to get to the pool at 7:30 am to stake out a chair. I guess there's not much that can be done about it, but people do put their towels on chairs and then disappear for most of the day.
The location is great, easy walk to restaurants and stores. Breakfasts were great and poolside lunches were delightful.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, you need to pay for an oceanfront premium, where views were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalophileNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear ItalophileNJ,

Very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with your daughter. We are glad you enjoyed your ocean view room, our outstanding food and gym and that you experienced our topnotch service. We can’t wait to have you back.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,863 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,569 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,600 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing