We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice now. The location is awesome and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent! I would highly recommend anyone to stay there either as a couple, friends or family. On my first trip to this hotel last year I had my daughter with me and she has food allergies. The restaurant staff were very helpful in accommodating this with their menu which is great. Best hotel in Santa Monica and I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Santa Monica Pier, its lovely to watch the lights at night. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kim2627,

Thank you for your repeat business and for sharing your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you've been pleased with your experiences at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. We strive to treat every guest like a VIP and are glad to see that shines through. Delighted to hear you are a fan of our guest rooms and food and will be sure to pass your compliments on to our excellent staff, especially our restaurant staff.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    731
    355
    180
    135
See reviews for
907
630
96
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in Santa Monica in July as a part of a west coast road trip that we took to celebrate 10 years of marriage. The whole trip had been fabulous and driving a convertible down highway 1 from San Francisco to San Diego was absolute bliss. Then we got to Santa Monica where we checked into a Marriott property. As Marriott Platinum rewards members we try to stay at a Marriott whenever we get a chance...but this trip taught me that being a Marriott Platinum member (which is based on customer loyalty) does not necessarily mean the customer is provided the same level of appreciation in return by the brand. So...3 hours after checking into the Marriott, we promptly checked out and walked next door to Loews purely on principle. We didn't expect much from Loews as we were basically walking in off the street and asking for a room for 2 nights but from the get go, as we described our situation to Michelle at the front desk, we were treated better than years of loyalty had ever bought us at the Marriott. Michelle was fun, sweet, empathetic to our story and as the 'face of Loews' made an amazing first impression of a brand that I had mistakenly assumed would be stuck up and pretentious. Michelle shared what had happened with her Manager, Dustin Seralle, and he took over - apologizing on his neighboring hotel's behalf and promising to make it up to us for them!! And boy did he make it up. Dustin is the epitome of what it means to be insanely customer centric. He recognized that there were things he could do that wouldn't cost much to Loews but would make us feel like we were being put on a pedestal. He booked us in a great room facing the ocean - it was only on the third floor but it provided a beautiful view of the beach and pier which was better than our 'elite status' got us at the Marriott (incidentally when we asked Marriott about that their response was - well, most of our guests are platinum so...) The bed in the room was super comfortable and the bathroom was great. I would recommend this hotel for the shower alone, the water pressure was unbelievable and I wanted to take multiple showers a day just for the luxuriousness of it. I wasn't a fan of the scent of the shampoo though and I felt like that stuck with me for days so next time I'll bring my own. Because he had heard it was our 10th anniversary, Dustin sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries soon after we checked in, proving again that something small for a major hotel can make their guests feel very special. He called up to make sure we had received it and ensure our room was ok - a gesture that took him 30 seconds but made us feel like we mattered. We used the pool one day and although it was small, the staff was incredibly accommodating, not hesitating to move the furniture when I asked if they could help find two chairs we could put together. Nayeli (spelling?) who was our server at the pool was not only stunning, she was also very sweet and good natured. And when I left to use the bathroom and came back to a flyer on my chair that spoke to a policy on how long chairs could go unattended, before towels were removed, she was quick to come over and tell me not to worry, that it was just something they put out daily to remind people who plan to leave for hours at a time. The food at the pool was good and the lounger tables each have small fire pits that so you can hang out after dark and enjoy a few drinks. The real gem though is the proximity to a beach that is so vast it puts you in a zen state as soon as you step onto it. One of my favourite things was grabbing a starbucks coffee from the lobby cafe and spending early morning lounging on the sand, watching the waves roll in.
Our stay in Santa Monica had started out really rough but as soon as we checked into Loews it completely turned around. This is, no doubt, because of the excellent service of the staff at the hotel and their commitment to a culture of service excellence. A HUGE thank you to Dustin and the rest of the team - because of you Santa Monica has now become one of our favourite destinations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bindi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Bindi T,

Happy anniversary – congrats on 10 years, and thank you for choosing to celebrate your special milestone at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. Very happy to hear that we were able to take your negative experience at the neighboring hotel and turn it around into a wonderful stay at Loews. In addition to our commitment to a culture of service excellence like you mentioned, it is our goal to make every guest feel like a VIP, and we are glad we succeeded. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff, especially Dustin, Michelle and Nayeli. Delighted that you have discovered Santa Monica as one of your favorite destinations and hope to have you back to the beach soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel towards the end of our holiday in California. Other reviewers have indicated that this hotel is expensive but you have to understand that the location of the hotel on the beach means that prices are inevitably going to be high. the view from the hotel at Santa Monica is stunning. As regards to the hotel the beds are really comfortable and the amenities in the rooms good. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have pool side snack meals which were very good. The service by the pool was particularly note worthy. Also worth a mention was the receptionist who checked us in and who was very good with his advice on driving around Los Angeles.

Room Tip: obviously pay the extra to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worthmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Worthmoretravel,

Thank you for your complimentary comments. We are delighted to hear that we provided you a comfortable and enjoyable stay while in Santa Monica. We will be sure to pass on your praise to our staff, especially the pool servers and front desk agents. Please join us at the beach again soon.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Be careful these bets really need a grading I slept in the hole after three days my husband and I couldn't move the pillows are awful and it doesn't matter how many time you confirm a reservation there going to get it wrong the valet staff was impeccable full of information made us feel at home but once we walked in the hotel it went all downhill deathly not worth the price

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mariaruttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear mariaruttle,

Thank you for your comments about our guestrooms. We apologize that the pillows were not to your liking but will see to it that this is looked into and addressed.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Location of the Hotel remains only true advantage, together with nice pool area. The rooms are outdated, old carpet, bathtubs and IKEA style furnishings. Pricing is far above quality. Same as Best Western at 2x price. Not for luxury traveler.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear David D,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our beachside location and beautiful pool area and value your feedback.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although we decided late in the game to visit California, we were not prepared for the mediocrity that greeted us at the Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel. The room was not ready until 5:00 pm., the air conditioner was not working in the room, and the pool was cloudy and very small for the size of this hotel, which was priced like a resort ($700+ for a standard room with a view). The halls were noisy all night long, and the cleaning staff began knocking on doors at 8:00 with loud rapping to be heard many rooms away.
We would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieLansaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear JulieLansaw,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for your delayed check in and your engineering and noise issues. Please rest assured that we will investigate this immediately, and we apologize that your impression was not a better reflection of our commitment to excellence.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Most amazing place to stay with the best of film set style views and the staff are awesome
I was there for a Whisky extravaganza with the malt Whisky society who put on amazing night with great tastings .
The food put on from Loews was fantastic too

Room Tip: Just ask the staff there great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantisgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Grantisgee,

Thanks for coming to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel for the Whisky extravaganza. Really appreciate your kind words about our food, staff and hotel in general and hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing visit.

Sincerely,
Sean Steenson

Hotel Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing