We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Florida, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room, great staff”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I enjoyed a short but beautiful stay at the Lowes a few days before Christmas. The staff were friendly, helpful, and exceeded expectations. Stayed in room with a full patio and full ocean view and it was lovely. I could not be happier with my stay except the price tag. Perfect location for exploring Santa Monica by foot.

  • Liked — Location, Location!! Beach view
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tawnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    753
    366
    184
    137
See reviews for
941
652
99
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huggie103
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

The view from the hotel in my opinion would make up for everything else. the first room we were giving had a leak from the ceiling. we complained and were moved fairly quickly. the breakfast wasn't brilliant, good selection but not that hot. the biggest disappointment was the room, especially the bathroom. the rest of the hotel was brilliant, staff were lovely too.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggie103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

3 nights for business at a group rate. If I'd paid regular price I would not have rated as highly!
My observations:
-The hotel is built on a sloped block. The lobby is on 4 with 4 or 5 stories up and 3 down. The long rectangular pool sits in the U shaped courtyard surrounded by the above grade building and is oriented somewhat south west which means (at least this time of year) all the chaises are in the shade and then around noon some direct sun starts to hit them. Just look at Google Earth !Who designed this???
-The standard rooms are large and very comfortable and while I didn't care for the rear pool view there are plenty of rooms with views of the streets and traffic that are likely noisy. Turn down service was almost full service, redoing bathroom, turning down bed, drawing curtains, leaving TV on and a couple of bottles of Fiji water behind. Nice.
-No matter what I did I could not stop water from getting out of shower and onto floor.
-No pen/ pad in the room!?!?!
-They permit pets. The barking I heard one night was from a "guest" placed outside in the patio(s) that surround the north side of the pool. There are similar patios facing Appian Way (which parallels Ocean Ave.)
-Great fitness facilities
-The facility did a great job for the meeting and providing lunch twice.
-Clarification: there is NO direct beach access. You take the elevator to the first floor, cross Appian Way and then go down the street or through parking lots to get to the sand.
-Sadly, there are lots of homeless in Santa Monica.

  • Liked — size/ comfort of room
  • Disliked — Too much shade in pool area
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

This is still my favorite place of all time and not Hilton Hawaiian Village. Despite some minor problems at check-in and a pricey breakfast buffet, the location is everything (right on the beach) and the staff really work hard at making your stay count among your best. We spent the week after Christmas and up until Jan 2, (five nights) so we could enjoy the area with our children and extended family who we were visiting for the holidays. While there, we hit Knotts Berry Farm, Leggoland, Disney (long waits), Tournament of Roses Parade, Santa Monica Pier, Century City etc. We and my kids kept repeating...we can't get enough of this hotel...we're not getting enough leisure time on the beach and around the pool and just hanging out in the rooms enjoying the white comforters and thread count! The pool and esp the hot tub is really the best. The towel supply (large blue and yellow striped bath towels) never ran dry...we sat on the lower pool balcony in the evenings in front of the small fireplaces relaxing and being lulled to sleep at night by the music from the waves of the Pacific crashing on shore. The room is nicely decorated with seaside motif, with comfy chairs. The shower was terrific, TV in the BR. Service was really good. The only down point was on check-in, they upgraded our room which was already luxury to a suite and wanted us to have two roll away beds. We didn't want that and it took longer than we wanted just to get what we had reservations for, a luxury room overlooking the water. But all in all, the hotel was very accomodating. When we would come back after a long, hard day of amusement park hopping, they would open the door for us and with a smile offer "Welcome Back," we felt like they were saying "Welcome Home." We truly felt like it was our home away from home and they were taking good care of us. We can't wait to go back. Next time, we will spend more time poolside and lounging in our room to assuage that jet lag!

  • Liked — the comforters and room motif, also the ocean view and healthy sea breezes
  • Disliked — lag time checking in; we were coming from the East Coast so we were exhausted and did not like waiting, it was already after 3p
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NangirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Had a great stay at the Loews, it's a very nice hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms. There were a few small decoration issues (bath skin was starting to peel off) but nothing that would stop you from enjoying the facilities. We had a great view of the pier, the ocean and across Santa Monica.

The staff are excellent, very helpful, friendly and courteous. They have a great bar where you can sit and enjoy a drink looking over the ocean, either inside or outside and have heaters if you sit outside which can be useful as it does get a little chilly in the winter.

There's a nice pool and spa facilities and it feels like a luxury hotel. Would be happy to recommend and to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ASWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Great location, our rooms had a big balcony overlooking the Pacific ocean and the beach. The overall quality of the rooms were good, but the balcony furnitures need to be replaced, the tables were wobbly and the chairs have seen better days. The heated pool was not heated when we were there, the heat pump broke...very disappointing given how much we paid for the rooms. There were pool towels left over from previous guest on the balcony. I know, little stuff but it would have been fine if it was something a lot cheaper.

Valet car service was very good, get our car quickly and the front desk was able to get us a reservation at a restaurant that was fully booked.

I would recommend it for the location.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Facilites needed some work and the heated pool wasn't working
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVagusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I checked in this evening (11-24-08) only to discover that they have construction going on in the hotel. When I called the manager she told me that the construction (and noise) would continue until 11 pm and that there was nothing that I or she could do about it. This is completely unacceptable. I feel like I'm in one of those bad Travelocity commercials. It is even against the law for construction to continue on residential streets after 7 pm. I can not believe that a hotel of this caliber would have so little consideration for their guests.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise, construction
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank opus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,815 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,554 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
920 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing