We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for family trip to LA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great spot for family trip to LA”
Reviewed 14 February 2009

This was our final stop on a three city, 12 day family trip to CA. Our family of six (kids' age range 11-16) had been to San Francisco and Yosemite earlier so we wanted to be on the beach but with good access to the wide variety of things we wanted to do in greater LA. We stayed for five nights. Reserved a 1 BR suite with full ocean view (facing west/the beach) plus another room with 2 Kings that had a pool view; both on upper floor. Suite had a king bedroom plus parlor with pullout couch and we brought in a cot. The suite was generous for two people but manageable for 4 because we spent little time in it during the day. Great location on the beach at Santa Monica. View of the pier/ferris wheel and went there at night to take in all the rides. Comfortable rooms. Plenty of activity in the lobby and the dining/lounge areas to make it an interesting place to stay. We used the dining quite a bit. Particularly enjoyed sitting in the outdoor lounge as a family around the firepits. Very good menu options in Ocean & Vine at the hotel for breakfast and dinner. We liked being across the street from the beach and pier in a contemporary setting. Also enjoyed the scene at Venice Beach. We rented roller blades from a place just out front from the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel and return.

  • Liked — It was a modern, very comfortable hotel with great dining options across the street from the beach.
  • Disliked — Tiny red ants appeared when the nightly chocolates were delivered.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    768
    372
    187
    138
See reviews for
981
660
101
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

It's been a few years since I stayed at the Loews Santa Monica Hotel, but it was a trip I'll never forget. I had an ocean front room with a balcony and it was beautiful. At first, it's a bit overwhelming because the view is not just of the ocean, it's of Santa Monica Pier, and everything that goes with it. The food was great in the hotel and the service was above par.

My favorite part of this hotel is the location. It is just across a tiny street from the beach, pier and bike/blade/walking trail. I would blade to Venice Beach every morning, and then up toward Malibu on the weekend. 3rd Street Promenade is a few blocks away, and I walked there for dinner and to shop.

The best part of this hotel were the celebs I saw while I was there. I saw Tom Hanks from a distance, Schwartznegger, and Sean Penn. It was definitely an experience.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank aysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We were a group of nine (ages 18-50) traveling with the Penn State Alumni Association for a Rose Bowl trip. We had a wonderful experience! We had three rooms for four nights.The hotel was lovely with clean and comfortable rooms and very conveniently located. We could walk in several directions and did lots of exploring. We scoped out some of the other hotels in the area and were so glad that we were at Loews. The views were amazing and the walk to the beach was just across a quiet little side street. It's as close to being right on the beach as possible. The staff was very polite and attentive. We had breakfast every morning and several other meals as part of our package and everything was delicious. Be sure to rent a bike and ride along the beach. Except for the outcome of the game, it was just a really great experience!!! We would definately stay here again and recommend to others. Hopefully we'll be back!

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharlbeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I enjoyed a short but beautiful stay at the Lowes a few days before Christmas. The staff were friendly, helpful, and exceeded expectations. Stayed in room with a full patio and full ocean view and it was lovely. I could not be happier with my stay except the price tag. Perfect location for exploring Santa Monica by foot.

  • Liked — Location, Location!! Beach view
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tawnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huggie103
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

The view from the hotel in my opinion would make up for everything else. the first room we were giving had a leak from the ceiling. we complained and were moved fairly quickly. the breakfast wasn't brilliant, good selection but not that hot. the biggest disappointment was the room, especially the bathroom. the rest of the hotel was brilliant, staff were lovely too.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggie103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

3 nights for business at a group rate. If I'd paid regular price I would not have rated as highly!
My observations:
-The hotel is built on a sloped block. The lobby is on 4 with 4 or 5 stories up and 3 down. The long rectangular pool sits in the U shaped courtyard surrounded by the above grade building and is oriented somewhat south west which means (at least this time of year) all the chaises are in the shade and then around noon some direct sun starts to hit them. Just look at Google Earth !Who designed this???
-The standard rooms are large and very comfortable and while I didn't care for the rear pool view there are plenty of rooms with views of the streets and traffic that are likely noisy. Turn down service was almost full service, redoing bathroom, turning down bed, drawing curtains, leaving TV on and a couple of bottles of Fiji water behind. Nice.
-No matter what I did I could not stop water from getting out of shower and onto floor.
-No pen/ pad in the room!?!?!
-They permit pets. The barking I heard one night was from a "guest" placed outside in the patio(s) that surround the north side of the pool. There are similar patios facing Appian Way (which parallels Ocean Ave.)
-Great fitness facilities
-The facility did a great job for the meeting and providing lunch twice.
-Clarification: there is NO direct beach access. You take the elevator to the first floor, cross Appian Way and then go down the street or through parking lots to get to the sand.
-Sadly, there are lots of homeless in Santa Monica.

  • Liked — size/ comfort of room
  • Disliked — Too much shade in pool area
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jwsmd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

This is still my favorite place of all time and not Hilton Hawaiian Village. Despite some minor problems at check-in and a pricey breakfast buffet, the location is everything (right on the beach) and the staff really work hard at making your stay count among your best. We spent the week after Christmas and up until Jan 2, (five nights) so we could enjoy the area with our children and extended family who we were visiting for the holidays. While there, we hit Knotts Berry Farm, Leggoland, Disney (long waits), Tournament of Roses Parade, Santa Monica Pier, Century City etc. We and my kids kept repeating...we can't get enough of this hotel...we're not getting enough leisure time on the beach and around the pool and just hanging out in the rooms enjoying the white comforters and thread count! The pool and esp the hot tub is really the best. The towel supply (large blue and yellow striped bath towels) never ran dry...we sat on the lower pool balcony in the evenings in front of the small fireplaces relaxing and being lulled to sleep at night by the music from the waves of the Pacific crashing on shore. The room is nicely decorated with seaside motif, with comfy chairs. The shower was terrific, TV in the BR. Service was really good. The only down point was on check-in, they upgraded our room which was already luxury to a suite and wanted us to have two roll away beds. We didn't want that and it took longer than we wanted just to get what we had reservations for, a luxury room overlooking the water. But all in all, the hotel was very accomodating. When we would come back after a long, hard day of amusement park hopping, they would open the door for us and with a smile offer "Welcome Back," we felt like they were saying "Welcome Home." We truly felt like it was our home away from home and they were taking good care of us. We can't wait to go back. Next time, we will spend more time poolside and lounging in our room to assuage that jet lag!

  • Liked — the comforters and room motif, also the ocean view and healthy sea breezes
  • Disliked — lag time checking in; we were coming from the East Coast so we were exhausted and did not like waiting, it was already after 3p
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NangirlBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,860 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,599 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing