We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast / pastries”

Huckleberry Cafe & Bakery
Ranked #43 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Great breakfast / pastries”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Long lines, crowded, small venue, but the food is great. If you have no where to be, take the time to hang with friends and peruse the menu. Order some pastries to eat later.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bibliophile56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    85
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went every day!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited for breakfast every day of our four day vacation in Santa Monica. WOW, this is the best, freshest and most deliciously prepared food anywhere. Try the lentil ragu for brunch and any of the breads and desserts. Oh, coconut macaroon, I dream about you! And the staff couldn't be nicer.

Helpful?
Thank Cherrytree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Green eggs and ham”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived early on a Wednesday morning and by the time it opened the doors that was already a big line of people coming in. It totally deserves the hype as both the food - green pesto eggs on a toasted bread with Parma ham and rocket salad - and coffees were great. Ah, the orange juice is superb too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Vargian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
182 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You're in Hollywood baby, everything's fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This non-descript, no special ambiance breakfast hangout is superb! You won't believe how loud it gets, but that's most likely due to all the writers and agents talking about their latest projects for network and cable TV! The food is excellent, the prices are not cheap, and the cornbread blueberry cake is one of the most delicious coffee cakes I've ever tasted. Easy to get a seat before 8am (writers sleep a little later than the rest of us).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jakeDVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Whenever we go to visit Cali my girlfriend and I always make a trip to Huckleberry Cafe. This is a great place for breakfast(at least for us), the line can be intimating but the selection of patisseries is superb! The ambiance is cozy and romantic for brunch time. The location is great to, walking distance to the beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huckleberry Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Huckleberry Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing