We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We loved everything about this hotel! Rooms, location, views, pool, jacuzzi, amenities and staff everything is great! Parking is right below. Everything is convenient and staff is very helpful and happy! Far exceeded our expectations on every level!

Room Tip: Definately get a pool, ocean view room! The pool is so gorgeous at night with its fireplaces, as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Debra N,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind words regarding our helpful and happy staff. We are glad to know our team of passionate employees surpassed your expectations on every level as we do try to provide a unique experience which is second to none in our industry. Thank you for staying here at Shore Hotel, we look forward to your return shortly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,752
    705
    247
    87
    65
See reviews for
1,047
805
121
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Fantastic modern hotel in prime position, we were very happy with our room. It had everything you need, flat screen tv, free wi fi, large bed, great bathroom with double shower and beautiful view out to Santa Monica pier over the pool. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived (early) so we went for a walk to the pier with the promise of a phone call when the room was ready. We went back to the hotel much later and when we mentioned that we hadn't received a phone call, the reception said the parking fee would be taken care of which was very nice and unexpected. When we checked out both days parking had been comped so that was a very nice touch. We would also like to mention James (concierge) and Brandi (reception) who both were very nice and helpful especially James who made a reservation at a restaurant for us. Some other reception staff weren't anywhere near as friendly and didn't even acknowledge us when we walked past. All in all a great experience and we would happily stay at the Shore Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizzynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Wizzynew,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our passionate team here at Shore Hotel is glad to hear how fabulous your stay was during your time in Santa Monica. Even though check in is not until 4 pm our guest service staff will make every effort to honor all early arrival requests. We will attempt to make each interaction with our guests a positive one and will also take full accountability if any expectations are not met. We will pass along your pleasing remarks to James and Brandi, they will be happy to hear how they impacted your stay. Please feel free to join us again soon as we would like for you to meet more of our staff and get to know the agents first hand. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel located on ocean av. in santa monica where you will have a great view either of the famous pier or the ocean. it is close to the third street promenade where you will find shops and restaurants. The hotel is new and rooms are furnished with cozy beds coffee machine and 37 flat tv. You will be surprised by the barhroom: there isn't a wall which divides it from beds but a big window. for your privacy there is an electric curtain. Hotel is also furnished with Artemide lamps and it looks very cool. On the other hand I wasn't satisfied by the receptionist at the check in: he forgot to tell me informations about the parking and the use of elevator but in the next days I found other receptionists who were very kind and helpful. despite there is a complimentry internet wireless I had problems with my device and none was able to solve it even if they put a lot of efforts to try to help me, so I had to go out and log in with the complimentay wireless of santa monica.
last but not least the parking rate are $30 per night for hotel guests and only $15 for non guests.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz0778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Franz0778,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As stated in your review, we definitely do have a great location to the third street promenade and beautiful views of the pier & beach. Being a newer hotel it allows us the opportunity to provide guests with state of the art amenities that help contribute to a wonderful stay and we are glad you enjoyed all aspects. However, we are saddened to hear your check in experience was less then exceptional as we do try to inform each guest about every detail regarding the property and the features. In regards to the $15 non guest parking, this does not include overnight as this is a daily rate only and we apologize if you were misled. Our staff here at Shore Hotel appreciates your feedback and thank you for staying with us during your time here in Santa Monica. We hope to see you soon and promise your next check in with be on point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this hotel, so this not only met our expectations but exceeded them! What a jewel! The location could not be more ideal for our morning walks/jogs along the ocean. The Promenade is conveniently close by, as well as other great shopping and dining on side streets. As for the hotel itself, the lobby is amazing! So open- all glass- that we felt like we were outside! At night, the lighting was so soft and comforting, yet dramatic. When the sun went down, and it got cool outside, we walked inside and felt like a warm blanket was being put over our shoulders, welcoming us home. The rooms are beautiful, quiet and comfortable, with lovely balconies. Of course, we loved how green it was. Luxurious AND green- a rarity! Lastly, the prices were were "friendlier" than the other luxury hotels close by. You will NOT be disappointed! Great job, Shore Hotel!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanieBDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
JoanieBDallas,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel after reading reviews from our past guests on our Trip Advisor page. We are very appreciative to have over 400 detailed and frequent reviews in our first year of operation. I am delighted to read the guest experience you had with us exceeded your expectations. We have an amazing team of passionate hoteliers here that take great pride in our new property/brand and aim to ensure every interaction we have provides a refreshingly memorable escape. We also take great pride in our LEED Gold certification as well as ensuring our guests can enjoy our Four Diamond property at an affordable rate as you allude to. We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you visit Santa Monica from Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botkins, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Could not have asked for anything more in a hotel. We walked in very early (10 am) due to an early flight on a Tuesday expecting to have to come back to check in. The young lady behind the desk (Cas? sorry very bad with names) said no problem to checking in and after some small talk upgraded our room to an ocean view! We we walked into the room, our breaths were taken away by the view through the sliding glass door!

Everytime we walked through the lobby we were greeted with a smile and every question was answered quickly and enthusastically. So refreshing in this day and age!

Close to everything in Santa Monica.

Our driver wasn't arriving until 12 45 so we asked and received an late checkout with no problem - with the before mentioned smile.

Overall a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besser1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
besser1961,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to hear we were able to check you in early and that we were able to honor a later check out for you as well. I will be sure to pass along your compliments regarding the personable service you received to Cash. Our goal here since our pre-opening was to assemble a team that would take immense pride in creating a refreshing escape from the mundane interactions many have come to accept while traveling. I am delighted we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. Please visit us again in the near future and thank you once again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Loved being so close to the pier at night and enjoyed eating at Bubba Gump's a novelty for us. Great overnight break before travelling further in US. Good area for walking around and absorbing the holiday atmosphere. Great service by staff and liked the iced water available at the desk.

Room Tip: Garden room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Aussie_100,
We are thrilled we were able to host you for an ‘overnight break’ during your holiday travels. Santa Monica truly is an amazing city and our hotel definitely is in a prime location to enjoy it! As you noticed everything is in walking distance. Being just steps from the Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade, it truly can’t be beat. Also, we are thrilled you were able to relax in one of our peaceful Garden View rooms. Our garden definitely does create a peaceful sanctuary. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

At check-in, (maybe) felt like we were banished out to the back of the property because we had kids (views overlooking the next door restaurant and it's car park, but we did have partial ocean view which did include good view of the SantaMonica Pier). Room was very small, but it was clean, and modern. Shame the restaurant wasn't opened when we were there 2 weeks ago. The lack of dining options was disappointing for us at the time (but I guess would no longer be the case). Truly surprised there wasn't a thriving cafe/restaurant strip on Ocean Avenue pivoting the Santa Monica Pier.

Room Tip: Adjacent the pool area is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellasHellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
HellasHellas,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Sydney, we appreciate your compliments regarding our property! We love hosting the many families who have enjoyed Shore Hotel in our first year and aim to provide a uniquely personable guest experience for every traveler whether it be a solo guest or a large family that we have the honor of hosting in our new hotel. Subsequently we politely disagree with the assertion that we would ever give a lesser room type or location to our travelers with children as we block our rooms solely based on the specific room type that our valued guest’s book. We have various room types to choose from in both of our buildings to cater to the exact preference of our guests.

Given our beautiful property and talented team of passionate hoteliers we will never be satisfied with anything short of an excellent guest experience here at the Shore Hotel. I regret our amazing restaurant, Blue Plate Taco, was not open during your stay and would love to have you back with us the next time you are in Santa Monica. I am confident your next experience will bring only the utmost levels of service excellence, which is the core of our new property and brand.

I have contacted your account and look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,547 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing