We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class, first rate hotel”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class, first rate hotel”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent two nights at the Shore Hotel. Our review is for the excellent staff and service they provided during our stay. From the wonderful hospitality at check in to the courtesy of the valet attendents. We received a first class response to a request regarding our room from the front desk/manager. We vacation often and stay at very nice hotels around the world. We highly recommend staying here with family or a romantic get away. The Shore Hotel is ranked #1 for vacationing on the west coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Trish W.,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am happy to hear your kind comments about the courteousy of our staff. We strive to only exceed guest expectations. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    686
    240
    85
    61
See reviews for
999
794
118
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I frequently travel for business in Santa Monica and usually stay at The Lowes or The Fairmont. I have seen the reviews for the Shore Hotel and decided to try it out. From the moment I pulled up I was greeted by Wayne in valet parking and then introduced to Randall, a bellman who escorted me to the front desk. The customer service agents at the reception desk were very accomodating not to mention my check in was seamless. I was extremly impressed this was a ego friendly hotel with so many great ammenities, this hotel is beautiful! My room was extremley clean and room service is top notch!! If you want a great 5 star experience I highly recommend the Shore Hotel, this is my new home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Jennifer K.,

Thank you for your kind review of our property. I am happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded when you stayed with us. Out entire team takes pride in doing the job right; here at Shore Hotel and we only strive to make things better! I will also share your great comments with Randall and Wayne! I'm hopeful that we will not just be your destination of choice for business but for pleasure as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladera Ranch, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. My husband and I wanted a nice romantic weekend getaway and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The decor is modern and sleek but it still has an inviting feel. We thought the staff was top notch as we'll. We enjoyed a ocean view room which was comfortable and very clean.
The location is great for enjoying Santa Monica. We easily walked to the Pier/Third St. Promenade and had tons of great dining options close by.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view if you can :). The view is worth hearing some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Cristin D.,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am happy to hear that our team was able to make your stay here with us, memorable. Our staff takes pride in the work that they do to ensure that your stay with us is above and beyond. Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great location, beautiful modern building, very comfortable rooms. Love the rain showers with the glass screens also great balconies with ocean views. The service is absolutely excellent with not a single bit of typical Santa Monica attitude from any of the employees. Spent a wonderful weekend away and enjoyed the great restaurants, shopping, and beach amenities all within footsteps of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean view. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeromy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Jeromy R.,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback means a lot to myself and my team.I am happy to hear that our team made your stay with us memorable and that you enjoyed the amenities in the room. Please let us know when you will be back in Santa Monica, as we would like to invite you to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Paula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I where able to splurge at this hotel stay. You couldn't ask for a more perfect location than the Shore Hotel. We liked the trendy clean vibe of this hotel. The parking was plentiful and secure despite surprising fee additionally to park. Seems like a common thing in Santa Monica and San Fransisco. Good looking staff and helpful and respectful support staff. I also noticed that we felt very safe during our stay. Security was only noticeable when they where needed. Not to mention the food was great. Highly recommend spending a little more for the stay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about location of your room. Steps from the lobby are the best Southern California v...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was impressed with the lighting choice and green conscientious construction. It was apparent in our room with the occupancy lighting and materials chosen in decor.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
mmfire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed yourselves here at Shore Hotel! Our team takes pride in only providing the best service, security and amenities available. Please let us know when you will be in Santa Monica again as we would love to be your destination of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We normally stay with a friend of ours in Huntington Beach, but chose the Shore so we could experience Santa Monica more intimately for a few days. It proved to be an EXCELLENT idea! The Shore is a sleek, modern and service-oriented hotel that prides itself on quality and environmental practices. It delivers on all fronts. Directly across from the Santa Monica Pier, and right around the corner from SoCal's best shopping street, the location is perfect. The staff were all friendly, attentive and professional. The rooms were modern and well maintained. Despite all of the activity in the neighborhood, our room was quiet and our sleeps were superb. Our daughter loved the pool and Jacuzzi and my wife and I enjoyed the deck bar. The Wi-Fi reception was excellent, and our car loved the secure underground parking. With all the bike rental places within a block or two, we rode everywhere. It was a GREAT three days. We will definitely be back. The Shore provided a First Rate Santa Monica experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom suite, but ALL of the rooms have a decent view and great amenities. The A...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Shore proves, that being environmentally-friendly in no way impacts the quality of your stay.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
TyWaite,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience from the moment you walked in until the moment you walked out. Our team strives to ensure that we provide the best amenities to our guests. We are also in the process of building a new restaurant on site. I would love to invite you to come back when the restaurant is complete so that you can experience another great addition to our property! Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Location is great in Santa Monica, close to the shopping areas and right in front of the beach, facilities are more than adequate, just looking forward for breakfast and bar in the premises.
Gim area is rather small and can get very busy, spa i did not check and do not know if there is one...

Green Features: I felt very green and at the same time comfortable...
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jserrenho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Jserrenho,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. I am also happy to announce that we will be adding a new restuarant to our property in the next few months. When it is completed we would love to invite you and your family back to experience this great addition to our property. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
959 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,451 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing