We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location allowing you to walk to shops and restaurants. I chose this hotel because it was relatively new. The front desk staff were all very accommodating and helpful. I stayed in the king suite, which had a separate living area with its own television. The room had two small balconies with two chairs and a small coffee table. This room had a regular shower and not the see through glass kind that some of the other rooms have. The housekeeping staff had the room cleaned early each morning and you do have to activate the 'please make room' button from inside the suite. The swimming pool is small and was often crowded so if you are looking to lounge around the pool this may not be the place for you.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but they do serve coffee and muffins in the lobby each morning and drinks poolside in the afternoon. The Blue Taco restaurant downstairs was great. If you are dining in ask for a table outside. I did a take out and had to wait as they were packed and turning people away telling them it would be an hour wait for them to be seated. The chicken quesadilla is delicious and served with a huge portion of tortilla chips, salsa and guacamole.

Room Tip: Stay in the front portion of the hotel directly across from the Pier. The other building is across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGourmet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
GlobalGourmet101,

Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to hear how excellent you stay was. It is important for our team to provide exceptional service and to know we did just that is truly rewarding. I am glad you also enjoyed Blue Plate Taco, their food is definitely tasty! Please join us again soon as we look forward to accommodating your next visit to Santa Monica.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    678
    236
    82
    58
See reviews for
983
786
116
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not oceanfront like some of the others, but great location right across the street from the Pier. Perfectly situated among great restaurants and stores. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Little overpriced for the size of the rooms, but that's to be expected in Santa Monica. Very clean and new. Great champagne given upon check in. Sleek and modern. I would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
MeganMFT,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate the kind mentions of our friendly staff and great location. We are pleased to know you would return to our property again and look forward to hosting you soon.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We had originally booked an apartment to stay in which fell through when we arrived. So we stumbled across the shore and fell in love! From the moment we walked in we just loved it. We even booked an extra week! The location is sensational. Close to the pier, restaurants and 3rd street promenade. The rooms are lovely, the pool was great and all the staff from the reception staff to the valets were all amazing, especially TC who always had a smile on his face and was extremely helpful and polite. We will definitely be back : )

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3amigoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
3amigoes,

Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to know after you stumbled across our Hotel that your stay went exceptional. I will pass along your praise to TC knowing he will be thrilled that his smile and helpfulness contributed to outstanding stay. We look forward to your return soon.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay,England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at The Shore Hotel for the last two nights of our trip. Check in was good .... room clean and still very new but small . We liked it here for the location, staff were friendly and helpful, pool was nice but do think it was a little overpriced plus the $35 a night for parking a bit pricey... We parked in the parking lot over the road for $14 which was fine!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigboybrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Bigboybrims,

We appreciate your review and are glad you found our property to be of perfect location. Shore Hotel definitely has all of Santa Monica’s favorites at the foot of our door step. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel and please join us again soon.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great experience everytime I go to the Shore Hotel! The staff and property are first class! The location of the hotel is perfect for couples and family. The pool location is perfect for enjoying the warm weather while at the same time providing the views of the surrounding area. The room had a great modern and romantic feel which I would not change a thing about. All around a great stay and I will recommend this location for anyone staying in this area!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0hnc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
J0hnc2,

Thank you for such a favorable review. We are thrilled to know how great your experience is every time you stay with us. Knowing your stays are provided with great service and pleasing amenities is truly rewarding. Thank you for recommending our property to others as well. See you again next time.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Got off to a bad start but in any case I would probably describe the hotel as 'style over substance'.

Bad Points
- check in - we arrived at about 1pm and were told that the check in was not till 4pm (fair enough - I hadn't read the small print), but they would have a room ready in about 45mins (good). Went for lunch, game back an hour and half later only to be told the room wouldn't be ready till 4pm - meanwhile people in front of me seemed to be checking in and going to their rooms. After much complaining I was told they would have a room ready in 30mins but was on a lower floor (fine - eventually)
- room - designed as a 'faraday cage' - ie cell phones don't work, at 0550 each morning the water system kicked in - clunk gurgle. View - okay but book a room on the RH side of the hotel (looking out to sea) otherwise you won't get any sun till afternoon. Rooms small by US standards. Reminds me very much of hotels in the Mercure group in France.

Good Points
Room - Airy and bright
Location - close to sea front and shops
Gym - small but well equipped
Pool - Small but fine

The reason for my average rating is that becuase of the minimalist nature of the hotel (no restaurant, basic bar) there was hardly any opportunity for anything to be done badly other than provide clean rooms (achieved) and fast check in (failed).

Would I stay again - yes - but only because of location

Room Tip: Avoid room 201. Rooms on the left hand side (as you look out to sea) tend to get less sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
David J,

Thank you for providing your feedback. Our team works hard to try and accommodate early arrivals for all our guests and apologize we were unable to honor your request. It is very important to meet all guest expectations and unfortunately we missed our mark during your arrival process. I will use your experience as a learning experience for my staff and appreciate your review. I am glad to see you did enjoy the room, location, pool and the gym. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent two nights at the Shore Hotel. Our review is for the excellent staff and service they provided during our stay. From the wonderful hospitality at check in to the courtesy of the valet attendents. We received a first class response to a request regarding our room from the front desk/manager. We vacation often and stay at very nice hotels around the world. We highly recommend staying here with family or a romantic get away. The Shore Hotel is ranked #1 for vacationing on the west coast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Trish W.,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am happy to hear your kind comments about the courteousy of our staff. We strive to only exceed guest expectations. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing