We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change-of-pace, great location”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Ramon
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice change-of-pace, great location”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We really liked our brief visit at The Shore Hotel. A contemporary 1970s feel with current and very interesting amenities. Very pretty, very clean. A boutique hotel that is worth the visit. And, just a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are not too different than partial-ocean views. The difference is that you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARainmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
CARainmaker,

Thank you for the review. Your mentions of how clean and pretty the hotel was is well received. Our housekeeping team works extremely hard to create a sanitary environment and we are glad to know you experienced just that. Please join us again next time you and your family decide to visit Santa Monica.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,731
    695
    242
    87
    64
See reviews for
1,019
802
121
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

First review i have ever written..and honestly, hopefully my last. This hotel deserves my two minutes. I travel a ton and think of myself as fairly easy to please.

I paid $400 a night for an "Ocean View" room...please. I had to hang over the deck to see the water.

I was placed next to a room that I later was told by the front desk was a birthday party. This party included a minimum of 20 people singing at the top of their lungs. After 3 calls to the front desk I finally gave up and made coffee at 4:30 in the morning. Again, the front desk was aware of the party...

The manager sent me an email..simply stating that he was aware of the party and hoped the remainder of my stay went well.

There are many great options in Santa Monica and surrounding areas..Mr. Manager from this million mile traveler you will never see myself or any of my colleagues again. Good luck and luxury means more than a cool lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jeff j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
jeff j,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Unfortunately it seems we did not meet your expectations during your stay and for that I apologize. Our hotel has a strict no partying policy which is set in place and at no time does our security team allow partying to take place on property. I was able to locate the email which was sent out to you after receiving the security report regarding the noise complaint. The email was intended to address your concerns and allow us to have an open line of communication to understand exactly what happen and rectify your position. However we did not get a response regarding your concerns. Please know we care for each one of our guests and are disappointed that your stay wasn’t to the quality we expect. I do invite you back to experience the true nature of our property as I am confident your next stay will exceed expectations.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A big thank you to Joseph Heywood and his wonderful team at The Shore Hotel in Santa Monica.
My artist Cody Karey and I stayed with you when shooting a video in LA. We have stayed at the hotel before and absolutely love the staff, the position and the fact that no request is too much to ask. We are pretty demanding as we are working with tight deadlines and could be seen as high maintenance. We will be in Santa Monica a lot over the next years and will be making a request to our record label Verve Music that they always put us at the Shore

Thank you again

PS. Special thanks go to Derek, Noha, Fernando, TC and Theresa - you rock.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool and jacuzzi ask for a room near to it.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very clean, love the fact that they have fresh water with lemon at the front desk.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sufromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Sufromlondon,

Glad to see you guys made it back safely. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your business travels to Santa Monica. We are pleased to know our property was able to exceed your expectations. I will pass along your praise to Derek, Noha, Fernando, TC and Theresa as they will be thrilled to hear from you. We can’t wait to see you next time your travels bring your to the area. Thanks again.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel is in an amazing location allowing you to walk to shops and restaurants. I chose this hotel because it was relatively new. The front desk staff were all very accommodating and helpful. I stayed in the king suite, which had a separate living area with its own television. The room had two small balconies with two chairs and a small coffee table. This room had a regular shower and not the see through glass kind that some of the other rooms have. The housekeeping staff had the room cleaned early each morning and you do have to activate the 'please make room' button from inside the suite. The swimming pool is small and was often crowded so if you are looking to lounge around the pool this may not be the place for you.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but they do serve coffee and muffins in the lobby each morning and drinks poolside in the afternoon. The Blue Taco restaurant downstairs was great. If you are dining in ask for a table outside. I did a take out and had to wait as they were packed and turning people away telling them it would be an hour wait for them to be seated. The chicken quesadilla is delicious and served with a huge portion of tortilla chips, salsa and guacamole.

Room Tip: Stay in the front portion of the hotel directly across from the Pier. The other building is across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGourmet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
GlobalGourmet101,

Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to hear how excellent you stay was. It is important for our team to provide exceptional service and to know we did just that is truly rewarding. I am glad you also enjoyed Blue Plate Taco, their food is definitely tasty! Please join us again soon as we look forward to accommodating your next visit to Santa Monica.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Not oceanfront like some of the others, but great location right across the street from the Pier. Perfectly situated among great restaurants and stores. Staff was so helpful and friendly. Little overpriced for the size of the rooms, but that's to be expected in Santa Monica. Very clean and new. Great champagne given upon check in. Sleek and modern. I would come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganMFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
MeganMFT,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate the kind mentions of our friendly staff and great location. We are pleased to know you would return to our property again and look forward to hosting you soon.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cronulla, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We had originally booked an apartment to stay in which fell through when we arrived. So we stumbled across the shore and fell in love! From the moment we walked in we just loved it. We even booked an extra week! The location is sensational. Close to the pier, restaurants and 3rd street promenade. The rooms are lovely, the pool was great and all the staff from the reception staff to the valets were all amazing, especially TC who always had a smile on his face and was extremely helpful and polite. We will definitely be back : )

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3amigoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
3amigoes,

Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to know after you stumbled across our Hotel that your stay went exceptional. I will pass along your praise to TC knowing he will be thrilled that his smile and helpfulness contributed to outstanding stay. We look forward to your return soon.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay,England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at The Shore Hotel for the last two nights of our trip. Check in was good .... room clean and still very new but small . We liked it here for the location, staff were friendly and helpful, pool was nice but do think it was a little overpriced plus the $35 a night for parking a bit pricey... We parked in the parking lot over the road for $14 which was fine!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigboybrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Bigboybrims,

We appreciate your review and are glad you found our property to be of perfect location. Shore Hotel definitely has all of Santa Monica’s favorites at the foot of our door step. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel and please join us again soon.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,557 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
991 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing