We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Love the location and the room was very nice. Shower was very good. They upgraded us from garden to partial ocean view which was much appreciated. The Mexican restaurant attached to hotel is very good. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyQZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Suzyqza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade from the garden view and the amenities on the room. I am hopeful that we will be your destination of choice when visiting Santa Monica! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 3,001 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Shore Hotel is in the perfect location to stay in Santa Monica! It is very close to the beach, pier, and main shopping areas. The room had modern/contemporary decor and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi was included in the rate, but valet parking was an extra $35 per day. Overall, the hotel rate was rather expensive, but well worth it for the fantastic location! We would definitely stay at the Shore Hotel again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

emilybalkam,

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our prime location and friendly staff. I am also pleased to know you found our décor to be clean and comfortable as I understand how important comfort can be when traveling. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My experience at this property was excellent. The staff were extremely personable, engaging and genuinely interested in my stay and experience. The room itself overlooked the pool and had an ocean view with a small balcony including furniture to enjoy it from. The room included a King bed which was comfortable and had king pillows, there was an armchair and plenty of space in the room, a large minibar selection & a good size TV. The bathroom was excellent, it had a great modern design (which was also functional!) and the bathroom amenities were good quality Aveda products. The complimentary WiFi was nice and fast, plus easy to connect to. The Shore also had a good size outdoor pool (whilst i didn't swim in it there were a number of people enjoying it & if the weather was warmer would have jumped in) & a gym which i did use and for a hotel gym was well equipped. I ate at Blue Taco whilst there and loved it, really good food and again genuine in their service. I have already suggested the Shore Hotel to people i know and who are travelling to LA in the future. When I return I won't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the pool & the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobASmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

JacobASmith,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team takes pride in ensuring that our guest's experience is nothing below exceptional! I am happy to hear that everything with your stay went well and that you have even shared your experience with others. Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again, as I am hopeful that you will make us your destination of choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights at The Shore hotel with four children. The rooms are very modern, chic and comfortable with a huge balcony which extends the living area and provides a great opportunity to watch the world go by with either a wine or coffee in hand.
The service was fantastic with nothing being too much trouble including our early check which was much appreciated after the long trip from Australia.
The location is perfect with the hotel within walking distance to 3rd street promenade for shopping and lots of restaurants.
If you're looking for a warm friendly inviting place to stay while in Santa Monica look no further than The Shore hotel...we'll be back

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agiacoumis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

agiacoumis,

Thank you for providing a review about your stay at Shore Hotel. On behalf of our team, we appreciate the gracious mentions regarding our fantastic location, well appointed rooms and exceptional staff. We agree that the location can not be beat, providing all of Santa Monica offerings within a minutes walk. Our team looks forward to your return soon, see you then.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our experience was a short one but we loved it. The location is great the staff very helpful and the bed very comfy. Cant wait to go back again, have had very negative views of LA but much to my surprise Santa Monica is amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dora K,

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was very accommodating. We strive to only do best here at Shore Hotel to ensure that we exceed your expectations and that you are comfortable. I am very hopeful that you will make us your destination of choice when visiting Santa Monica. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at Shore because of the reviews and location and it lived up to all our expectations and more! The front desk staff were beyond the call helpful and the room was immaculate and modern, We overlooked the pool facing the beach so the view was paradise. Has to be seen to be believed!

Room Tip: Try and get the sea view, it will blow you away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahL0u1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

SarahL0u1,

Thank you for the kind review. We are pleased to know you found our Front Desk staff to be above the call and helpful by exceeding your expectations. When building the property is important for us to ensure we created breathtaking views that can contribute to Santa Monica’s great environment. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.


Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

thanks to danielle for making our check in process, (which was fairly complicated because we were traveling with a senior and had some special needs) a breeze. this is my first stay at the shore, but so far I love it. The rooms are well designed and very comfortable to be in. Wifi is free, a plus at any hotel these days. the location is spectacular and can't be beat. a perfect spot to explore santa monica and venice from!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycscott306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

nycscott306,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As the Guest Service Manager I am thrilled to hear how friendly and accommodating you found our staff to be. I will pass along your praise to Danielle as she will be happy to hear how her interactions left a standing impression. Please join us again soon!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,714 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
647 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,179 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £248 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing