We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$427
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$689
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$548
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$594
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$516
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$820
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$546
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$635
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$435
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,091)
Filter reviews
3,091 results
Traveller rating
1,902
761
263
91
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,902
761
263
91
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivacy screenglass wallblue tacothe santa monica piergreat locationgarden viewmodern hotelpartial ocean viewstreet promenadepool and hot tubglass of champagneocean aveocean frontupon checkpeople watchingvalet parkingrandall
Filter
Updating list...
1,821 - 1,826 of 3,091 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel couldn't be in a better spot. The hotel is beautiful. You can see the sunset from the pool. There is a million great places to eat and shop right around the corner. The room was updated, clean and very comfortable. The biggest perk was the staff. They were all kind and helpful no matter what time I needed anything. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Kelly M,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your kind feedback and the great mentions about our staff, the location and the cleanliness of the rooms. Please join us again soon to experience more of the Shore culture.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We live an hour away and were looking for a great day escape... Location is PERFECT and the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the room / hotel sealed the deal in our overall stay. We have a young child and were able to take a stroll down the boardwalk all the way to Venice Beach. After a day of sightseeing, a bit of exercise, and dinner on the SM Pier, we returned to our comfy room / balcony with view of the SM Pier. What a delightful escape for our family!

Room Tip: Pier view / ocean views are worth the additional cost if you would like to spend some time on the balcony after a day out.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambrose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Ambrose13,

How cool that you were able to escape from the daily routine and bring your family to Santa Monica for the night. We are glad that we could host your getaway and are pleased to know you to full advantage of both the hotel and the area. Next time your family is in town please join us again.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel has the best location to all things fun- the Pier and beach, Third Street Promenade, and great restaurants. For all the hype I expected more with the hotel though. Our family of three felt crowded in the 2 bed ocean view room. This felt more like it should be classified as a partial ocean view room as it is angled to see just a part of the ocean. The see-through glass wall into the toilet and shower although novel, was not appealing, Upon entering the room, we shut the shade and kept it down. There was a gap in the sliding bathroom door which our teenage daughter was quick to point out. I think this bathroom design has more to do with maximizing room space than anything else. Had they put a actual wall in, the rooms would have had to been even smaller. Also, with no drywall/plaster wall there, the sounds of the bathroom travel to the rest of the room. The pool was small and felt plenty crowded with four people in it. The hot spa was good size though. Although no restaurant is onsite, they do offer delivery service by a couple local restaurants for all meals. Their breakfast delivery choice was Jinky's around the corner, and the front desk gave us discount cards. Instead of delivery service, we decided to walk over each morning, and it was delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Bend OR,

Your feedback is much appreciated and honest. I am glad to know you enjoyed the area, our dining recommendations and in room dining option. However I am disappointed to see that your room did not meet expectations. We do have Ocean Suites which are larger in size and do not have the all glass shower feature which can allow more privacy especially when traveling with family. Next time your family travels to the area please contact me directly so I can help accommodate a room that will be suitable for you. Thank again.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just checked out of the Shore Hotel after 4 nights. Fantastic location opposite the beach and a few steps tote Santa Monica Pier. Very close to shopping areas and a mall directly behind the hotel. Rooms are average size with nice toiletries and plush towels. However, the service and reception leave a lot to be desired. We arrived at 11 am and were informed that check in is at 4. They took our number and said they would call when the room was ready but they didn't. On day three I came back to the room at 3 and it had not been made up. Went out, came back at 4 and rubbish was still in bins, dirty towels on bed and no toilet paper. Staff at front desk sent for housekeeping and it took three trips until they got it sorted out. A bit of a couldn't care less attitude. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our room was large, with a partial wall that separated the sleeping area from a sitting area, each with its own TV set. The room was well appointed and had a very modern bathroom. The hotel is almost directly across from the pier, and we had a partial view of the ocean from both of two small balconies, each with atable and two chairs. Ocean avenue is replete with hotels and restaurants, and this is probably one of the best hotels there. The room was reserved through Expedia and cost $358 (including tax), quite a bit more than I'm used to paying, but this was a special occasion. The hotel has some rooms with a full ocean view, as well as others with no ocean view.

It has been many many years since the last time I was in Santa Monica, when it was a funky beach town. Frankly, I enjoyed it more back then.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivetcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews