We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“SPECTACULAR!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I visited Santa Monica and stayed at your hotel. The experience was fabulous. The room was emaculate and the entire staff was just superb. We valeted our car and we were not too happy with the $35 fee per day. All of the valet were timely and respectful of our needs and concerns. Stephen G specifically suggested wonderful restaurants and entertainment for us while we were visiting. He also warned us about the traffic which my husband really appreciated. Overall it was a great experience and we would love to come back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Lisa B,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Shore Hotel and that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. We will also send Stephen praise on the wonderful service he provided and share your feedback with the team. Please let us know when you will be in town again as we would like to welcome you back! Thank you again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,752
    705
    247
    87
    65
See reviews for
1,047
805
121
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The two stars I'm giving the hotel is for the very nice facility, the lack of the other three is because the customer service is terrible, somehow you have to beg the staff for everything and they still don't do or delivered what you asked. They were very insensitive to us, my mom is wheelchair bound and they wouldn't want to accommodate to best fit her needs. In short very snobbish and rude staff at the front desk including the manager, excluding bellboys

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChocolateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
TheChocolateTraveler,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take feedback very seriously at Shore Hotel and use your comments to make changes and improvements . I can't express enough how sorry I am that we did not exceed your expectations and you did not feel welcomed when you came to visit. We will use what happened as a training opportunity so that you or any of our guest will not experience this again. We would like you to come back and visit us in hopes that we can earn your trust. Please feel free to reach out to me at any time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is in a great spot but nothing special aside from that. My husband booked in advance a king bed room only to be told when we checked in that a room with 2 double beds was all that was available. No movie options available - just straight cable. The structure must be thinly insulated because we could clearly hear movement and voices outside our room. Parking garage attendants were kind and efficient and deserve mention. Our room was not comfortable and the hard pillows were the worst! Surprisingly and disappointingly, morning coffee in the lobby is not complimentary (as in most hotels of this caliber) but $2 a cup. But for the location and very nice staff at the taco restaurant next door, would not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hina S,

Thank you for your feedback. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for the experience you had during your stay. I'm sorry that you did not receive the room type that you booked and that you were disappointed with the lack of on demand channels we had to provide. I also wanted to mention that we are working on a few additions and that we take your feedback very seriously. Shore Hotel is has always exceeded the expectations of our guests and I am hopeful that we can earn your trust again and that you will be back to visit. Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I would recommend this hotel to other people! The location is ideal for Santa Monica and the rooms are clean, modern and bright. I loved the glass shower (although it took us a minute to figure out how to shut the curtain), it used the space in a unique, fun way.

We paid the extra to have an ocean-front balcony room and I was actually expecting the view to be a little bit more... "epic" I guess? There were a lot of obstructions between us and the pretty Pacific but nothing that was at the fault of the hotel (e.g., palm trees, etc). The Cirque tent next to the pier was quite hideous. Haha. My boo and I spent a majority of our night sharing champagne on the balcony with one of the extra fuzzy blankets around us. Great memory.

The lounge area and pool is modern and pretty, I enjoyed it's glass decor since the real beauty is just a few feet west. The new(er) addition of the taco restaurant was great -- we walked by but didn't stop in, but the ambiance was really cool and it looked yummy based on observations. Easy, FREE and fast internet (how many times have I been in a hotel that has crappy internet? Ugh, the worst) was great to have.

A bike rental place is directly behind the hotel to the east - check it out if you're interested in biking.

Also upon check in, the receptionist was genuinely thoughtful and helpful (a sweet girl from France), AND offered us complimentary champagne. That, alone, wins us over every time :)

So in summary: clean, modern, great service and wonderful location. Lovely stay!

Room Tip: I enjoyed our west facing balcony (ocean)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daysiees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Daysiees,

Thank you for sharing you experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the lounge area and pool! I will also share the great feedback about the French receptionist that you spoke about and praise her for her exceptional service! Please let us know when you will be in town again as we would like to welcome you back! Thank you again for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherne Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked into this hotel for 5 nights directly with the hotel thinking it would be nice to end our very busy holiday with a nice 4.5 star hotel, big mistake!

The reception was icy cold we did not feel welcome at all, in fact we felt they did not want us there. An hour into our 5 night stay I phoned the front desk to advise we would be checking out in the morning, they couldn't be bothered to ask why.

While waiting at the lift to go up a staff member pushed past us with out a word and pushed the down button to leave us waiting for the next lift!

We past several staff members who never acknowledged us bar the odd unwelcome look.

Yes the hotel is very clean and a great location but the care factor is zero! If you don't care how your treated and you don't need to feel welcome than this might be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We exchanged emails requesting a ocean facing room, another fail
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dean B,

I am sorry to hear about the experience that you had at our property. At Shore Hotel, we do our best to ensure that our guest are receiving only exceptional service. Regrettably, we did not live up to our standards and failed to make you feel welcome. We are taking what happened very seriously and have addressed this to our team. Please except my apology and I am hopeful that we can earn your trust and that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A unique room set up. Two balconies, two TVs king bed, pullout with room for a rollaway. Great views. Comfortable for four adults. Washroom was very small though
Never had to wait for the elevator!!!
Friendly staff. Walking distance to Third St promenade,Venice beach. Great location

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
joanne m,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Little touches at the hotel such as not waiting for the elevator or the extra balcony definitely help enhance your stay. Please let us know when you are in the area again as we would like to welcome you back to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Super clean and modern with very helpful and accommodating staff. Rooms are very comfortable and in great shape. Active hotel but not too loud. Easy to get a good nights sleep. Great location with so much to walk to. Would definitely recommend for anyone staying in LA area. Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
buckross,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am happy to hear that our staff was very accommodating, as we train our team to only provide exceptional service. I am also glad that you enjoyed the design of the room and the location of the property! Thank you again for being our and we look forward to your next arrival!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,546 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing