We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before returning home to New Zealand. It is in a perfect location - close to the beaches, restaurants and shops. Driving in was a bit of a hassle as there is not much room to park and unload, it was actually a bit confusing. On checking in we were offered a glass of champagne - a very nice touch, but later we found out that we hadn't been told about the full facilities and options of the hotel, which was a bit disappointing.
Our room was lovely overlooking the garden, which was very special but getting to our room was a bit strange as we had to go up and over and then back down. But there was an excellent side entrance that we took for the rest of our stay. Checking out was a breeze, very helpful front desk staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
karenko111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. With your feedback, our team strives to make improvements. I also wanted to apologize that our team did not explain the amenities on site upon arrival. I will use your experience as a training opportunity to prevent this from happening in the future. But I am glad that the rest of your stay went well! I understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you for being our guests! We look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,753
    705
    247
    87
    65
See reviews for
1,048
805
121
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend at the Shore Hotel last month celebrating her Birthday. The hotel and staff was way beyond our expectations. The staff was excellent and the room was fantastic! We well absolutely be going back the the Shore Hotel again soon. Thank you to the front desk staff the Hotel Chief Operations Manager Steve Frazam.

Green Features: The Hotel does a great job being environmental friendly!
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Kirk M,

I am glad to hear that you and your wife were able to celebrate such a joyous occasion with us! It means a lot to also hear that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. Customer service is our top priority at Shore Hotel and we take pride in what we do. We understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you again for being our guest!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, ga
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Shore Hotel did not disappoint! The staff was welcoming and accommodating, and the pool was a great atmosphere to relax. Location is right across from the pier and although we didn't have an ocean view room, we still had a partial view of the ocean and pier from our 4th floor room. This hotel is great for families traveling with children to couples looking for a romantic getaway. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: 4th floor "garden view" rooms still have a partial view of the ocean and/or pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels_with_Kids_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Travels_with_Kids_12 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel during your recent trip. I am glad you had a great visit and enjoyed your time. We are very proud of our staff and hotel amenities, and again glad it reflected upon your stay! Further, your business is truly appreciated, and I hope that we may offer to welcome you and your family back soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

So many conscientious and helpful people! Tony, Alex and Christine did their utmost as we needed extra help, and they made our stay at this very nice and well-located hotel an absolute pleasure. Ocean view, swimming pool/patio, bar and food.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmccoy2672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear gmccoy2672,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel during your recent trip. I am so proud to hear that our staff served you well and provided good service. It was truly a pleasure to welcome you, and I certainly pray we may have you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kountze, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our time at Shore Hotel was amazing! The staff exceeded expectations. They were friendly, professional and beyond accommodating . The hotel itself is beautiful, with a very modern decor. It's also across the street from the beach, Santa Monica Pier, and blocks from Third Street Promenade. This was probably my best hotel experience and I travel often. Without a doubt we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Kimmie7100,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent visit to the Shore Hotel. I am absolutely ecstatic to hear you had a great time and enjoyed the staff and city. Your business is very much appreciated, and I hope we can welcome you back again very soon!

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location. Straight across from the beach, Pier, close to restaurants and 3rd Promenade.
Lovely, Modern room and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.
Front office staff/ Concierge organised a private tour of LA for us which was great.
We used the gym facilities (shower) to freshen up before our 10.30pm flight home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good Afternoon WellingtonChris,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel during your recent trip. I am happy to hear you had a great stay, and were taken well care of by our staff. We talk and train a great deal about providing service, and I am happy it shone through during your time here. Your business is truly appreciated, and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I enjoyed this hotel very much but you know for the price it better be good! service was good they were very friendly and the view was great. id stay again if I had the chance so long as I could afford it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanklane98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
hanklane98,

Thank you for the kind review regarding your previous stay with us. This means a lot coming from a Senior Contributor of Trip Advisor. I am also happy to hear that your stay with us was memorable and the staff was very friendly. Please let us know when you will be in the area again as we would like to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,548 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing