We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shore Hotel concierge Mary Strong”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have friends staying at the Shore Hotel for their first visit ever to Los Angeles. Being a proud native Southern Californian (sadly living now in the midwest), I wanted to have a something special waiting for them when they arrived in my old stomping grounds. I emailed the concierge, Mary Strong at Shore Hotel regarding my request and within an hour my friends had a fabulous bottle of wine and hand written note delivered to their room. Thank you Mary for such prompt and personal service!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Caroline B,
I'm happy to hear that Mary was able to exceed the expectations of your friends when visiting Santa Monica! We do our very best to impress and delight our guests by providing them with 5 diamond customer service. I would also like to extend out an invitation for you to come stay with us, as we would like for your to experience a night at Shore. We look forward to meeting you soon.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,424 - 1,430 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had to put in a good word about Raul Saldana. Our family stayed at the Shore Hotel in Santa Monica for over a week. Raul was the bartender poolside and honestly, he made their stay perfect. He was incredibly attentive, remembered their likes and dislikes and just an all around great guy. If you go to the Shore Hotel say hello to Raul!!

Room Tip: The rooms are very small!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Liza C,

Congratulations on your first review! I am pleased to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time at our property and that Raul was able to make your experience memorable. Please let us know when you will be in the area again as we would like to welcome you back as our guest!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a family friendly hotel with good facilities and right at the beach, you will find it at the Shore. We arrived to a great service and experienced exactly that for our 4 nights. The pool is a bit noisy if you're in one of the inner rooms but nothing after 9pm and if you fit on the balcony (they are small) you can enjoy a great view and great start to your day. Value for money was ok, if you use Trivago or similar for the deal. Parking was costly but valet team was superb. We will be back as this location is perfect!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank NicSou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

NicSou,

Thank you so much for the kind review regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities on site and the location of our property! Guest service is our main priority and our team works hard to ensure that your stay with us is exceptional! Please let us know when you will be in the area again as we look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great hotel and great beach front location, perfect for exploring Santa Monica and also handy for down town LA (20 minute drive, dead easy). We got a glass of free Champagne each on arrival. The rooms are very modern but I'm not sure about the roll up bathroom blind, people 'could' see you take a shower!

The parking is also expensive but on the whole its a fantastic hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerospace100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

aerospace100,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the glass of champagne upon arrival and the modern design of the hotel! Customer service is our main priority at Shore Hotel and we take pride in ensuring that we are exceeding your expectations. Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again as we would love to have you again as our guest!

Best,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel and cannot say I was satisfied with the service and overall value for money paid. My plane was badly delayed so I arrived to the hotel around 1AM. The staff at the reception showed me a face saying - why do you disturb me? When I decided to park my car at the public parking next door, his face was talking to me again - why are you so cheap and dont want to spend USD40 for valet parking (the public parking cost USD14). His behavior was quite rude. I wanted to eat something but there was no room service available, I was given two menus from restaurants around that operated till 3AM. No help offered to make a phone call there.

The room was quite nice but I was surely expecting something larger - I booked a Junior Suite. In the bathroom I found many cards, one on slippers - you can use it and USD5 will be added to your bill. Another on beach towel - you can use it and USD30 will be added to your bill. I dont think I ever paid for using slippers (totally normal ordinary hotel slippers, nothing fancy!).

Although the hotel decoration is quite nice, I will not recommend this place to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with partial view means a tiny window and nearly no sun coming in. Do not take this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jiri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Jiri H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you encountered upon arriving to the hotel. As a four diamond hotel this is certainly unacceptable as our main priority is customer service. I will use your feedback provided as a training opportunity for our team, as we strive to make improvements. Please feel free to reach out to me at christinamaranon@shorehotel.com if you find yourself in the Santa Monica area. I would like to offer a discounted rate in hopes that you will gain our trust and stay with us again. I understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you again for being our guest.

Best,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We travelled with friends who stayed at a different hotel and they ended up changing to The Shore after a couple of nights due to the fabulous location. We stayed in an oceanfront room with 2 queen beds with our 2 kids (5 & 7) and while the rooms weren't large they were comfortable and provided enough space to move around. The balcony while not private had a lovely view out over the ocean and over the pool. The privacy screen in the bathroom did not bother us and we felt when up made the room feel extra large and added lots of light.
The pool was adequate in size and we never had a problem finding chairs or getting a drink, note that the pool is not private and you can been seen from the main street and reception around the pool (it didn't bother us but I know some people may not like the exposed feeling!).
I did not like the fact that you have to pay to use the slippers and this put a bad taste in my mouth as I think a hotel of this standard should offer these complimentary or take them away as I didn't like the feeling of being "nicked and dimed". Whilst our stay was not perfect, management were willing to listen and rectify our concerns and we would stay at The Shore Hotel if we return to Santa Monica again due to the fabulous location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayze01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Hayze01,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guest. I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed your stay at Shore Hotel and that our accommodations are comfortable. We understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you again for being our guest.

We look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was our first time visiting LA and we couldn't have been more happier and pleased with our stay. The location was superb with everything in walking distance and the staff was more than helpful in accommodating our needs. A few staff members in particular provided exceptional customer service. Jen and Roxanne from the Front Desk were more than happy to assist us with our car rental. Tony (bellman) was also TOP NOTCH when it came to making the guests feel welcomed. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mimi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Mimi R,

Thank you ever so kindly for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy that our friendly staff shone through with their attention & service. This is an area we very much strive to shine in. I wanted to say how much we truly appreciate your business, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £285 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing