We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - staff tip top”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great stay with the family - a great thumbs up for the front of house staff in particular Alex who were fabulous . We left our child seat in the transfer shuttle - no problem for the team at the desk coordinating the return of the seat!!

Would be great if they sort their new planned kitchen for breakfast but the muffins and fruit at the pool are reasonable and great !

Better positioned than the Loews for shopping -

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ovonarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Ovonarx,

Our team appreciates the time you have taken to share your experience with us. From a Senior Contributor like yourself, this certainly means a lot. At Shore Hotel, our main priority is guest satisfaction. We train and motivate our team members do their very best and ensure that the job gets done. I wanted to also mention that we are in the process of adding a full service restaurant on site. This is scheduled to be completed in the next few months.

We would love to invite you back when you visit Santa Monica to enjoy another stay and this great addition to our property. I understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you again for being our guest!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,891)
There are newer reviews for Shore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The Shore Hotel is in a great location facing the sea and close to the Pier, the restaurants and the shops. Valet parking and reception was quick and efficient.
We booked a room with 2 double beds but found both the room and the beds pretty small. It had a small balcony overlooking the pool and a view of the sea. Very clean.
The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a glass wall and an electric blind which is all very trendy but you have to be a bit of a voyeur to leave it open.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Goode2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Goode2005,

We appreciate the time that you took to review our property. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority at Shore Hotel. Feedback from our guest is also extremely important to myself and the entire team; and we strive to improve each guest experience with the information provided. I am sorry to hear that the sizes of our beds did not meet your comfort level. We do have rooms with queens and king beds available on property for booking. Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again as I would love to invite you back to stay with us!

Thank you again for being our guest.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We only stayed one night but this was my impression: Clean, new and modern, but almost to a fault. In the elevator and corridors, it had a slight hospital feel to it. Rooms are clean with a great shower, but nothing special. A perfectly nice accommodation but not luxurious. You are definitely paying for the location. Right across from pier and walking distance to promenade. Service at the desk was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Good Afternoon devo13,

Thank you so kindly for your warm review. I am happy to learn you had an enjoyable visit and truly hope we can offer to welcome you back very soon. Your business is very appreciated.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for just one night. We arrived rafter a day of travelling and it was a lovely oasis of calm friendliness. We had a horrible grumpy yellow cab driver from the airport so were a bit frazzled when we arrived, but the checkin process was seamless and we were offered a glass of bubbles which was very much appreciated.
The location is excellent with the pier just over the road and shops behind. Everything we wanted to do was an easy walk.
Would highly recommend staying here it was a bit pricey but we felt it was worth it.
To get back to the airport The Shore Hotel organised us a transfer for the flat rate of $45.
This was an excellent service and a much better option than a cab in my opinion.
Overall it was an excellent stay.
Santa Monica is a very good option if you have a day to spend as it has a relaxed atmosphere with beach and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Erin W,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Your business is so sincerely appreciated, and I hope we can welcome to have you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at this great design and green savvy hotel. Location right on ocean is perfect with views on the beach. Staff was extremely helpful and forthcoming. Really a beautiful hotel with an amazing staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Thomvdw,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Shore Hotel. I understand you have many options to choose from, and your business is sincerely appreciated. I hope we can offer to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located in Santa Monica. Overlooks the beach, and in an area with many restaurants and shops.
Staff is friendly and quite helpful.
The facilities benefit from the hotel being very recent, rooms are comfortable. Room size could be somewhat bigger.
In terms of price, at 700$ per night in a double bed was pricey!

Thank Jopepi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Jopepi,

Thank you so kindly for sharing a warm review about your recent visit. It was truly a pleasure to welcome you. We try very hard to offer top level service and are very proud of the team we have. I do also understand the rates are high during our busy season. If you are planning to return anytime soon, please reach out to myself or our reservations manager whose name is Mr. Bobby Cooley, so we may offer you a bit of a discounted rate & take good care. Thank you sincerely for coming to visit.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Last of our hotels on CA1 road trip and the best. Located very close to the pier with plenty of restaurants nearby and 3rd street just around the corner.
Very swift valet and concierge service on arrival, smoothe check-in with complimentary champagne during the service.
Twin queen room very comfortable with plenty of room for the three of us. Very modern decor throughout the hotel, nice pool area with heated jacuzzi. Pool open until 11PM with patio heating as the temperature drops a little. Outside bar service early evening, same area used for continental breakfast in the mornings. All in all a fabulous experience and the hotel to use again next time we visit Santa Monica.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dyavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Dyavid,

Thank you for your warm review. I was very happy to read you enjoyed your visit and the amenities we offer. I sincerely thank you for your business & hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,068 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £280 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing