We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great drinks!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Really nice hotel right on the beach, and make sure you ask Raoul at the pool bar for one of his raspberry/strawberry mojitos!... really tasty! Only downside was the housekeeping was a bit weak. Didn't always completely clean the room and consistently failed to fill coffee. Strange in a room this pricey. Still would recommend though, fantastic location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear graham m,

Thank you for your very kind review. I am happy you enjoyed the property & our hotel staff. We are very proud of our team and strive very hard to provide exemplary service. We know you have a choice when you pick where to stay and very much appreciate your business. I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,500 - 1,506 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our first trip to Santa Monica, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. The Shore Hotel is modern, funky, with a great vibe but still felt family friendly (our daughters are 13 and 5).The staff were excellent, with a special mention to Danielle Nathan - who was exceptional. She organised a driver for us around LA for a private tour and various drop offs (most definitely family affordable), as well as taking care of us throughout our stay. Our room - with a great oversized shower - was overlooking the Ocean (perfect!), and right in the heart of restaurants, the buzz and Third Street shopping area just around the corner. In a nutshell, we would definitely stay again and would recommend to others - whether it be love birds, families with older children or those with young (the pool wasn't huge but did the job). Yes, it can be pricey, when you add on the taxes - but, hey, this is Santa Monica! And you get what you pay for. Small recommendation for improvement - room service is from an affiliated restaurant called Seasons 52. We actually ate in the restaurant and found it neither well priced nor child friendly. So i'd prefer to have an increased room service menu, maybe from some other affiliated restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 202 - overlooking the pool and the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank holslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear holslove,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from your time spent with us. I am so very happy to learn that you had a wonderful visit and found our staff helpful. We are very proud of our property and team, and do recognize that you have a choice when selecting hotels. We sincerely appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Shore Hotel for just one night before heading home to Australia and would highly recommend this hotel. Gorgeous rooms. Loved the complimentary glass of champagne on arrival! Enjoyed the pool area in the morning and had a great breakfast around the pool. Really practical location close to 3rd where all the action is. Bus stops right out front to Venice Beach. Our international flight left at 9pm so we had our bags held then were able to shower and change in the fitness centre which was very convenient. Will happily return here on our next visit to LA.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Barbara T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear that we were able to make the last leg of your trip comfortable and easy. It was truly a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It was just a one stay for work.. Nice on the outside.. Staff was friendly . However , the room was not ready upon check in. It was around 5:15 when the room was ready! When your paying $400 a night , you shouldn't wAit yo check in!! It was also trash / recycle day. So much noise @ 7:00 am. The front desk had nothing to say & no wArning! I don't recommend stay here for the price. 2-3 star if that...:(

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liiissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Liiissa,

I appreciate the time that you've taken to share your experience with us. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was a disappointment. Our top priority is to ensure that we are exceeding your expectations during your stay and we failed to do that. I will share your feedback with my team and use your experience as a training opportunity. If you can also email me when you find yourself in the Santa Monica area again, I would love to offer you a discounted rate and an upgrade. I understand that you have a choice when traveling and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future. Thank you again for being our guest.

My email is christinamaranon@shorehotel.com

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here with my family during July 2014. Such a clean/modern hotel, the staff are friendly and the rooms are spacious. I loved the bathroom is was big, clean and had all the modern features. It was the best hotel I stayed in during my trip to the USA. The pool was heated which meant it was comfortable to go in no matter what the water was like and the spa was the perfect way to relax. I would recommend spending extra to stay at this hotel due to the perfect view of Santa Monica Beach.

Room Tip: Beach Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelbuddd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Travelbuddd123,

I am happy to hear that we held the title for "best hotel" you stayed at, while visiting the USA. We are honored to receive such great feedback from a Senior Reviewer as yourself. Guest service is our top priority at Shore Hotel and we take pride in ensuring that we get the job done! I understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you again for being our guest! We look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great location, great room facing the ocean Great service. The pool was small but very cozy. Raul the bartender at pool made us an awesome coffee Petrone martini! Best place to stay in Santa Monica!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina M, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear MikeCah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property and one of Raul's specialty drinks! Please let us know when you will be in the Santa Monica area again as we would love to have you back as our guests!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Shore Hotel was our last night’s stay of our two week honeymoon across California and Nevada and sadly was the only hotel that was a disappointment. The hotel is quite pretty from the outside and the location is great, just across the street from the beach and pier however the location is the only thing that would take us back to this hotel.

At check in we were welcomed with a drink, a nice touch, but were disappointed that the bellboys didn’t hide their annoyance at us carrying our own bags – they are on wheels after all, not exactly taxing. The receptionist checked us in and said she was upgrading us to a “King room with Ocean View” which sounded like a lovely gesture (but familiar), I checked our paperwork when we got to our room and this was the grade of room we had booked anyway – hardly an upgrade.

The room was the smallest we stayed in while in America, the design is very stylish but as other reviewers have said, you better be comfortable with your room-mate as the bathroom (even with the blind down) only offers a certain level of privacy. The balcony that we had did indeed have an ocean view, but was barely large enough for the two chairs (one broken) and table that it held.

There are no real food/drink facilities on offer in the hotel at all, the mini-bar/snacks in the room are a good selection but (as always with these things) very expensive. There are a number of cafes/restaurants within a 5 minute walk though; you can order a bagel/muffin by the pool for breakfast but the price is outrageously high and the service left a lot to be desired.
Checkout was quick and efficient but collecting our car from the valet was a little chaotic – think that may have been more down to the other guests than the hotel but it really needed to be managed better when you have no choice but to pay $35 to park for the night (despite the check in screens saying it would be $20).

Overall for the price we paid for a “treat” for our last night of honeymoon we were both felt like more attention had been paid to the design of the hotel than to the service or facilities – sad to have been disappointed by this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,743 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,663 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
426 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £257 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing