We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1? Hmm...not sure about that.”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Shore back in February of this year for 6 nights. We went out on a limb choosing the #1 overall hotel (in Santa Monica) on TripAdvisor, but thought, "Hey, they must be right!" Unfortunately, we were a bit disappointed.

The location of this hotel is great - right in the mix of it all if you want to come to Santa Monica and not have to drive everywhere. In case you're from out of town and aren't familiar with the surroundings, though, let me paint a picture for you. This is not a hotel that is *on* the beach. It is more like half-a-block from the Santa Monica Pier (great!) that will take you down to the beach. All of the hotels along this stretch sit atop a cliff, of sorts, with the sand and ocean down below. Between the hotels and the cliff is a very, very busy street (day and night). Consider that before paying extra for the rooms that overlook the road. The hotel is generally a "U" shape, with the top of the "U" facing the road. Our room - a junior suite - was back in one of the corners, near the bottom-left of the "U". This provided for much less road noise, but also very little in the way of a natural view. You somewhat had to step out, lean over, and look to see anything of substance towards the ocean. Unfortunately, the space just past (below) our balcony was littered with cigarette butts and some miscellaneous trash - not what I would have expected for a #1 hotel anywhere.

Not all was bad here, however - the staff were ALL excellent. From the valets who greeted us upon arrival, to the bellmen who helped with our luggage, to the desk staff, everyone was absolutely tops in terms of customer service skills. *That* is what I would expect at a #1 hotel - yes sir.

The common areas of the hotel were clean, thankfully, but our room was smaller than other hotels I've stayed in of a similar class/caliber (you'll see that theme repeated in others' reviews, so if space is what you value, look elsewhere). Due to the inward-facing nature of all of the rooms, natural light isn't in abundance, so we used the in-room lighting night AND day.

There is no on-site restaurant, but there are many good options, from next-door to a short 3-5 minute walk away - don't let that last bit dissuade you. Although the weather was great for February (sunny & warm), it wasn't quite hot enough during the day to avail ourselves of the pool more than once...but I'm sure it's nice.

All in all, this is a very good hotel - just not perfect. Would I stay here again? Maybe...but probably not, with so many other choices close by. Variety is the spice of life, after all!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Aaron J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your visit from February. I was disappointed to hear about some of the short comings you experienced, but also pleased you encountered friendly staff. We have followed up with several department heads and are using the difficulties encountered as training topics to improve upon. Our Executive Committee has also spoken about and taken in to account your experience. I would truly like to win back your business and extend to you my name and that of our reservations manager Bobby Cooley. I know you have a choice where to stay when travelling, but I would sincerely like to offer to welcome you back and oversee your next visit. I'd further like to offer you a discounted rate, upgrade, VIP status and a special amenity. Again, we truly appreciate your business and I very much hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 3,023 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has a superb location as is right on the seafront in very easy walking distance from the Pier. The rooms are modern and we had a great balcony for sitting on in the evening and for drying towels and swim suits!

The swimming pool is tiny but my two boys still managed to have fun in it and the heaters by the pool are a real bonus for late night swims.

Great service from evryone we came across, particularly the valet parking team and the reception team.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank KatieSpruceTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear bunnyred,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent visit on our Trip Advisor. I am glad that you and your family had a good time and enjoyed the property & our staff. We very much aim to make great service a focal part of your visit, and I am happy to hear our staff were friendly. I do hope we may offer to welcome you all back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I would give this hotel 4.5 stars if I could. It's in a very good location and looks cool without being intimidating. Small but pleasant pool area and the rooms are better than the photos on the website. We asked for a bathroom with door and got one. The children had a room with a privacy blind in the bathroom which they said was fine but we were glad of a door! The only disappointment for us was the snack breakfast served by the pool. Overpriced and disappointing. Coffee should be free and the fruit served in plastic containers didn't fit with the stylish Eco-friendly image of the rest of the hotel. Cycle to Venice beach instead or try Cora's coffee Shoppe a five minute walk away. Other than that, everything else about the hotel was really good and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank SEPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear SEPLondon,

Thank you very kindly for sharing details about your recent visit. We so very much appreciate your business, and I am happy to learn the stay went well. I hope sincerely that we can offer to welcome you back in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of our tour of California. Check in was fine though we had to wait for our room to be ready, despite arriving well after check in time. In contrast to others' experiences we weren't offered any drinks while we waited.

We had paid extra for a pool view with balcony and weren't disappointed. The room was spacious enough for four and had a nice view of the pool and the ocean. The pool turned out to be tiny but it was nice to watch the world go by and to listen to the live music beside the pool from the balcony.

The bathroom drew gasps from our teenagers as one wall is glass. There is a privacy screen but it is on the outside (ie bedroom side) so anyone so inclined can peer in and see all. The fixtures are modern and new and the shower spacious, but lack of pressure from the Balinese-style shower was a problem and made rinsing long hair difficult.

The hotel has a small bar beside the pool but no other food or beverage except room service (they seemed to order things in from a local cafe for you but we didn't try this out). I asked for a coffee at the pool bar and was offered an instant coffee from the staff room. To get breakfast or a decent coffee you can order from room service or head out of the hotel. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants about but none within the hotel. The restaurant attached to the hotel is reached by leaving the hotel and it doesn't open until lunchtime. I hadn't realised the lack of restaurant facilities when I booked, which is my fault for assuming there would be some.

The big plus for this hotel is its fantastic position on the sea front. It is on a busy road but cross at the lights 150m away and you are on the pier or on the beach. Go in the opposite direction and you quickly reach the pedestrianised shopping area with lovely boutiques and upmarket department stores.

The position of the hotel and the lovely view made up for any niggles and we did enjoy our time here very much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowleopard112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Shore Hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff, little surprise for the kids at check-in. Room was not big, but had enough space for the five of us (two double beds, one sleeper sofa). Very nice pool area. Restaurants, Third Street Promenade, Pier and beach in walking distance. Valet parking service for the car. Would definitely stay again at the Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friedemann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Friedemann2014 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am happy to learn that you and your family had a pleasant trip. We very much strive to provide a superior product and exemplary service to our guests. I do hope you had a good trip onward, and that we may someday soon offer to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Really nice hotel right on the beach, and make sure you ask Raoul at the pool bar for one of his raspberry/strawberry mojitos!... really tasty! Only downside was the housekeeping was a bit weak. Didn't always completely clean the room and consistently failed to fill coffee. Strange in a room this pricey. Still would recommend though, fantastic location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear graham m,

Thank you for your very kind review. I am happy you enjoyed the property & our hotel staff. We are very proud of our team and strive very hard to provide exemplary service. We know you have a choice when you pick where to stay and very much appreciate your business. I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our first trip to Santa Monica, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. The Shore Hotel is modern, funky, with a great vibe but still felt family friendly (our daughters are 13 and 5).The staff were excellent, with a special mention to Danielle Nathan - who was exceptional. She organised a driver for us around LA for a private tour and various drop offs (most definitely family affordable), as well as taking care of us throughout our stay. Our room - with a great oversized shower - was overlooking the Ocean (perfect!), and right in the heart of restaurants, the buzz and Third Street shopping area just around the corner. In a nutshell, we would definitely stay again and would recommend to others - whether it be love birds, families with older children or those with young (the pool wasn't huge but did the job). Yes, it can be pricey, when you add on the taxes - but, hey, this is Santa Monica! And you get what you pay for. Small recommendation for improvement - room service is from an affiliated restaurant called Seasons 52. We actually ate in the restaurant and found it neither well priced nor child friendly. So i'd prefer to have an increased room service menu, maybe from some other affiliated restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 202 - overlooking the pool and the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank holslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear holslove,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from your time spent with us. I am so very happy to learn that you had a wonderful visit and found our staff helpful. We are very proud of our property and team, and do recognize that you have a choice when selecting hotels. We sincerely appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,738 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
652 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,660 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
425 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £260 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing