We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ambrose
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
American Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Palm Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rest Haven Motel(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palihouse Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cal Mar Hotel Suites(Santa Monica)
View Hotel
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveller rating
631
439
132
56
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
439
132
56
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastfree parkingwhole foodsquiet neighborhoodwithin a mile radiuswilshire blvdcar servicebusiness triphome away from homelos angelesla areastay in santa monicawalgreensshuttlecraftsmenmontana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,007 - 1,012 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Rarely does a hotel look even better in person than it does on the website. The Ambrose does. The location is fabulous - quiet, but close to the excitement if that's what you're looking for. FREE parking! FREE & adorable biofuel London cab anywhere you want to go in Santa Monica. LOVELY complimentary breakfast. Splendid decor. BEST staff EVER!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nicegetup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ambrose with my 6 year old son.
The pros: 1. The price for this often overpriced area. 2. Free, safe parking. 3. The yummy breakfast. 4. The "green" practices (recycling in the rooms) 5. Easy place to launch a trip to Getty or beaches and avoid the freeway snarl. (But not near enough to the beach to stroll to) 6. Nice, calming feel to the rooms and the grounds.

The cons:
1. I felt as my kid was the only one there, (maybe he was!). Not really a family hotel. But my kid was solo and pretty well behaved.
2. The sheets are lovely and organic, but so crisp everytime my son moved around it woke me up. Maybe I'm just a light sleeper.
3. The free wireless was kind of slow. 4. There was not a lot of choices for the in-room dining. 5. Some of the carpeting and furniture is starting to show some wear. 6. Plumbing is noisy! (Or the people around me flushed toilets excessively)

In all, I would stay again at the Ambrose.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaroSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

If you are looking for the Santa Monica experience, this probably isn't for you. The Ambrose is 20 blocks from the ocean.
So, if you are a first time visitor you may want to choose the Georgian, Shutters, Casa del Mar or Viceroy. These locations will give you immediate ocean views and proximity to the board walk. ON THE OTHER HAND, the Ambrose is a great choice if you have already done the beach scene and want to save $100+/night. The Ambrose is a cross between Tokyo and Frank Lloyd Wright. The front desk people remind me of the SNL's Sprocket reviewers. They are in brown long sleeve t-shirts and have all the charm of a wet noodle. We never received a welcome or glad to see you return. The boys and girls behind the desk are stepford clones.
The rooms are fine but try for a balcony, it enlarges a smallish room. Our bathroom was spacious but entry into the bath was almost dangerous. One had to circumvent the sink and step gingerly into the tub. Once in it was clear that the caulking was cracking and moldy. Not acceptable. The breakfast provided was truly great. Juice, fresh fruit, great coffee, jams, baked goods, etc. Parking is on the house and good. Location is OK; Walgreens on the corner, Whole Foods two blocks, OK Thai restaurant one block away GAP across the street. The bed is wonderful; great pillows and everything is clean. No restaurant or bar in house. It seems to have a loyal customer. So, if you enjoy a local, small hotel this is for you. But don't expect an ocean view.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Everything was good about this hotel. The hotel itself is a visual delight. It has a very nice feel to the common rooms where a very nice breakfast is served in the morning. The room was good although it overlooked what appeared to be a hospital. Staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Aveda bath supplies are a plus. While very near a Whole Foods market and a Walgreen's, the hotel is over a mile from the main Santa Monica drag. If you don't mind walking, and it is a nice walk in pleasant weather, take Wilshire. There is also public transportation readily available. I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

I had initially made a reservation online for Friday night which I had to cancel because I was ill. I called the hotel on Saturday morning and booked Saturday night. I arrived about an hour before the 3pm check-in time but there was no problem getting a room. Arts and Crafts style is very well done here, love the Asian influences, the designers did a terrific job everywhere. The linens were sumptuous, the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet very nice, lots of fresh berries. My only criticism of it is that if they're going to the trouble to offer high quality items from the Urth Cafe, they should have Urth Cafe coffee as well, not Starbucks. I would definitely stay there again. Loved that every room has recycling containers, I've always wished other hotels offered that.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sdrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews