We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay -- Green consciousness and close to Whole Foods”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our stay at the Ambrose was quiet and restful. My only suggestion for improvement would be to have some more protein items at the complimentary continental breakfast such as hard boiled eggs. They had a great selection of carb based foods -- muffins, croissants, etc. I'm on a low carb, high protein, high fat (New Atikins or Paleo diet).

One nice feature is that Whole Foods is only a couple of blocks away. The Hotel has a complimentary shuttle within 3 miles. It's a short $45 taxi ride from LAX so no need to rent a car if staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danalt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you danalt7 of Kula, Maui so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I love everything about the Ambrose and would stay there again in a minute. Beautiful comfortable clean rooms, very quiet, great breakfast, friendly staff. Parking was easy and the optional car service was great with a super friendly driver. Front desk was extremely helpful. Housekeeping (ours was Isabel) was so friendly and professional. Stayed 4 nights and never had a problem.

I hope to come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniesknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you Bonniesknitting of Ashland, Oregon so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

All the staff were friendly, the beds were comfy, breakfasts were tasty, cleaning staff were discrete and thorough, rooms were large, decor was tasteful. Can only say good things about this hotel. Lots of ease and no worries.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank chriskg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We couldn't have said it better !!

Thank you chriskg01 of Cambridge, Massachusetts for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was only here for one night and so didn't have a chance to experience much of the hotel. The front desk person was very friendly and helped me arrange a cab for an early morning departure. The rooms were very large and very nice amenities in the room (toiletries very nice and nice assortment of tea and coffee). My only complaint would be the TV -- time to upgrade to newer technology. The TV was antique. Would love to go back on a future visit and stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you SLKspingirl of Texas for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great location, close to transport. Staff were very friendly and helpful (in particular Linda and Thomas).
Linda was great with local knowledge and helped plan my days with sights to see. Would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnieH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you Annie H 55 from Sydney Australia for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We couldn't have said it better !! And our staff are extremely warmed to hear that they were able to accommodate your stay that meet's or exceeds your expectations. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Lovely convenient place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Really nice little continental breakfast is included. The rooms are comfortable enough, clean and a great size. Decor is really nice. Just a good homey place to stay when you're in the LA area.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow if you like a soft down feeling one. Their's are hard and feel cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank naomi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Nice boutique hotel. Very nice breakfast including plain yogurt which is not easy to find. Great pillows for sleeping. Would have stayed longer but location at 20th not close enough to downtown (3rd St. Promenade area) for easy walking. I wanted to be able to walk into town, to beach often.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you Lane B from Detroit Michigan !

We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,027 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,420 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
426 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £218 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing