We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Santa Monica Option (for being off the beach)”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We started in a basic king room, but then upgraded to a larger room with a balcony. Well worth the extra $20/night. The balcony was HUGE- more of a patio with a fireplace. The room was comfortable, and we appreciated the eco-friendly standards. We did hear garbage trucks very early one morning... being from NYC we were used to this, but it was an unexpected wake up call at 4am.

The staff was very nice and professional, though they seemed stretched (I believe a number of them called out sick, etc.)

The continental breakfast was great. Coffee was always available in the lobby (which was more like a living room/lounge- warm and welcoming.)

Good value in comparison to beachfront luxury name hotels. There is a free shuttle that will take you anywhere in the area.

We would return here for sure.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you Emily G from NYC for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our
Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

My sister and I came down to LA from the Bay Area right after Christmas. We booked a room at the Ambrose last-minute and were surprised to find how convenient and comfortable it was. Though the television was "from last century," as my sister pointed out, they had HBO and every other channel in the world. The bevy of pastries and fruit in the morning, plus the intelligentsia coffee, were fabulous perks. Additionally, though we had a car, we used the car service a few times to go to the beach and spa and the whole staff was very friendly about it. So even though the direct surroundings are generally dominated by health centers and car dealerships, it's very easy to get around. We did come across some good restaurants nearby on Wilshire too. Overall, it was great, I'd do it again.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which was slightly noisy at night, but I also liked sitting on the porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kamala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you Kamela P from Oakland for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.
We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is about 20 blocks from the beach in a nice residential area. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The breakfast is amazing--the best continental breakfast spread ever. The staff is incredibly friendly. The hotel shuttle will drive you anywhere close by. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you lbsmith from Ann Arbor MI for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home. We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at the Ambrose and it was great. Easy to find, loading area for cars when you arrive. The rooms are nice and comfortable. They decor is rustic and looked inviting. Continental breakfast was included and you eat in a lovely room with a fireplace. We were there in winter but in summer you could sit outside. We had a car but utilised the free shuttle service to go to the Pier etc and saved on parking fees. We left some items behind in our safe by mistake and the staff were extremely professional about it, logging all items and the Scott, the manager was called to return the items to us. We were so grateful. We would recommend the hotel and would stay their again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you Adam S for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was great. It's a cute boutique hotel in Santa Monica about a mile walk from the beach but they offer shuttle service which was great. From the decor to the breakfast everything was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. A very zen and relaxing ambiance. Would definitely recommend this place and would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home.
Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Enjoyed an incredible stay at the Hotel Ambrose in Santa Monica. It is 20 blocks from the beach but the hotel offers free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius (a wonderful benefit).
This hotel is a green hotel and the ambience is very zen.
The décor I found to be somewhat Craftsman in style. Very warm and soothing.
They offer a complimentary continental breakfast but it is more than just fruits, juices and bread.
They also offer throughout the day in the lounge, complimentary drinks and cookies.
The hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful (especially Alex and Thomas).
The price is half what you would pay at one of the hotels on Ocean Avenue.
I highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a true gem and not one of those 200+ rooms size hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the backside of the building I found to be quieter. Rooms facing the two streets of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you Carey C of our own Los Angeles, CA for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Glad to see our Los Angeles first time guest's that find our hotel and instantly catch our relaxed culture " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations... that are like their own home.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel was pleasant enough, rooms a good size, bathrooms get wet and slippery if shower curtain not left in the bath.
Decor is quite dated.
Breakfast is basic no protein, but nice fresh fruit.
Would stay again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jazamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you Jazamo for your positive review and comments about the Ambrose hotel - Santa Monica.

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Please contact us directly for our Best Guest repeat discounts on future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,950 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,396 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £209 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing