We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, my expectations were exceeded”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, my expectations were exceeded”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in the Ambrose hotel in May of 2014. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Alex. My room was spacious, very clean and had the “zen” feel. Complimentary breakfast had a large variety for items to choose from. I really loved the fact a free shuttle was available; we used it several times to get to beach (hotel also provided us with beach towels.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernadetaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    421
    126
    52
    45
See reviews for
309
296
87
299
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are in Santa Monica for an extended period and have a car then this boutique hotel would be a good choice. Although not on the waterfront it is less than a ten minute drive to the beach. It is an arts and crafts design and although a bit tired the rooms are adequate. The free continental breakfast is the same every day but that's not so bad. There is ample parking at $20/ day. The staff is first rate and very helpful. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside patio or deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe".

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well located, very practical shuttle to Santa Monoca Pier,nice breakfast, it is a very charming hotel.Staff is perfect, especially Thomas, efficient and with a smiling sense of communication!

maybe more space for the beakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAVROCHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were visiting family in Santa Monica and found this hotel. The King size bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. We were on the third floor facing onto the courtyard with our own little balcony. It was sufficiently roomy that I painted plein air two mornings in a row. The street noise was minimal, and very quiet from 11 pm to 6 am. The included breakfasts were fabulous: Fresh fruit salad, choice of yogurt, cereal, muslix, coffee, tea and herbal tea, croissants (chocolate, plain and almonds), sticky buns, muffins, toast, jam etc. We were two adults eating breakfast, but I saw a few families with young children, under 10 years old, who found plenty to eat. Fresh fruit such as apples and oranges were available during the day. We did not have our own car, so we did not have to pay for parking. Coming from a big city, $20 is not an outrageous amount to pay for parking in a city next to LA. I saw some complaints about the hotel being run down. I did not see any worn carpets, our TV was a flat screen, the bathroom was spacious. It is not the Fairmont Miramar, but neither is the price. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 7didi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly get to know our Southern California " vibe" throughout the entire hotel, staff and accommodations...

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

this hotel needs a major make over they
raise prices and do not up date the hotel They have tube tv worn carpet and a very run down feel they took out the one ice machine so you must ask for ice no more newspaper they just keep cutting

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rosey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We're very sorry to hear your unhappy feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.

We appreciate your honesty and research in finding us.
Our hotel is scheduled for renovations in 2014 that will address all your comments and suggestions.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in Santa Monica many times for business. This time I tried The Ambrose, a little off the beaten path and in a quiet neighborhood. First the good - pleasant, courteous and helpful staff, good array of toiletries provided, including shower gel which is always nice, free water bottles on arrival, lovely continental style breakfast that is included. The garden is lovely to enjoy breakfast, and the little balcony off the room is nice, albeit very small. There is coffee service in the room that is nice, mini bar but the hotel has no bar itself. Parking is secure and under the building. Overall environment peaceful and relaxed.

The bad - and my reasons for saying this is not a four star - very dated. Old TVs as opposed to what I consider industry standard flat screens, all furniture very worn, chipped and dated, as was the bedding, marble broken off of the baseboards in the bathroom, fixtures old and squeaky, curtains with black stains on them and smelling of dust when I opened them to go onto the balcony.

There is a very small workout room - some cardio equipment and free weights. Oddly the only water available in the fitness room was a fountain that was broken.

I really liked the location here, but this hotel is over 20 blocks to the beach, not too much going on right in the vicinity. I liked this as I appreciate the quiet but those looking for more action within decent walking distance should stay closer to Ocean drive. There is a shuttle to take you there and some bicycles that can be used if available.

I really think this place has potential and I will return and give it another try, but think overall the hotel is dated and in need of a serious refresh. High marks for amenities and service - but work is needed in comfort, cleanliness and surroundings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your positive & critical feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.

We appreciate your honesty and research in finding us.
Our hotel is scheduled for renovations in 2014 that will address all your comments and suggestions.

We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Ask for our BEST GUEST loyalty program for " repeat " visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our third stay at The Ambrose. Both beeing expats in Asia and used to 5 star hotels this is exactly the hotel you are always looking looking for - A hidden gem in Santa Monica! The contemporary Asian design, combined with authentic and highly personalized service.
It is in walking distance from the beaches and medical centre at Santa Monica Boulevard. The hotel offer a shuttle service but is is just as easy to get a taxi or hop on a bus taking you down to the beach in minutes. Simple and nice breakfast in the morning plus room service. Wholefood around the corner! Most of all you feel like a local instead of a turist!

Green Features: Read about The Ambrose Hotel's environmentally friendly Practices
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you Karina T so much for your positive feedback about your stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

We appreciate your loyal return in coming back to us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Property: The Ambrose
Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing