We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ambrose
Nearby Hotels
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$552
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$518
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$449
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
632
440
134
56
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
632
440
134
56
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastfree parkingwhole foodsquiet neighborhoodwithin a mile radiuswilshire blvdcar servicebusiness triphome away from homelos angelesla areastay in santa monicawalgreensshuttlecraftsmenmontana
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are enjoying our stay at The Ambrose. It is clean and offers a nice continental breakfast plus free wireless. Last night we discovered the hotel shuttle, which made our dinner outing really easy. The driver Chad Van had great tips about local restaurants and was up-beat. He drove us safely to the restaurant and picked us up quickly when we were ready to return. For five stars, I would recommend (1) cushions for the deck furniture on the veranda, (2) more seating and tables for guests at breakfast; and (3) new toilet seats.

Room Tip: I recommend reserving a room with a veranda. The evenings are warm and it is nice to sit outside at the end of the day.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rockymkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on the Ambrose Hotel.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and instantly catch our Santa Monica "vibe". They get to know our entire hotel, staff and accommodations like their own.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was my second time to stay at the Ambrose. Both times have been very good experiences. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Ambrose is in a nice location with many good places to eat in walking distance. The only complaint that I have is that they were fully booked for some of the times I have wanted to stay there. The other places I stayed in the area were disappointing after the Ambrose.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stays at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not only is this gorgeous little boutique hotel all green and sustainable, but the staff has always treated me and others like family. They care about details and always have my room ready exactly the way they know I love it, which is rarely the case when traveling and dealing with allergies so I really appreciate them.

Mornings are also wonderful with the great breakfast buffet in the cozy living area and outdoor space in the little Japanese garden, with a wide assortment of fresh pastries, great teas, coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice and fresh fruit salad. Definitely one of my favorites anywhere, and a true home away from home. Very few places I would highly recommend and this is one of them.

Room Tip: the first floor has great outdoor balconies and hardwood floors vs. carpet, but honestly all of the rooms are comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We couldn't have said it better...

Thank you for your positive review and comments about your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel - Santa Monica.

Our first time guest's frequently find our hotel and accommodations like their own home. That is the highest accomplishment that we can get !!

Our staff strives to provide service & accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your feedback makes it all worth the efforts !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very nice and clean kind of boutique hotel about 20 minutes walk from Santa Monica pier.also has a shuttle that you can call to bring you back. Breakfast and parking are included and bicycles are complementary

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gamar0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your positive comments on your most recent stay at the Ambrose Hotel-Santa Monica.

We strive to provide accommodations that exceed our guest expectations on every visit, every day for every guest.

Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Santa Monica has lots of very fancy hotels that cost a fortune. This is an economical alternative. Our room was a little "tired" with stains of the carpet and cracked sink. But it still seemed much better than an average chain hotel. I overheard a man who'd obviously paid a whole lot less for his room than mine so next time I'd check out the online deals before booking. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you Anne H from Berkeley so much for your positive feedback about the Ambrose Hotel.

We appreciate your research in finding us. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay.

Your feedback makes it all worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews