We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and Luxurious Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish and Luxurious Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

During our two night stay, we found everything about this hotel to be quite exceptional. From check-in to check-out, our experience was great. The location is good. It's only a short walk to the beach. All the staff were extremely professional, polite, attentive and immaculately presented. Overall, the hotel is beautifully styled, making the hotel feel quite luxurious, whether you're in your room or enjoying the courtyard setting. The hotel is also exceptionally clean and the fragrance used throughout smells divine. The only downside we found was that on the Saturday night a DJ was playing in the courtyard area until late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to avoid the noise from the DJ playing in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJA_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
DJA_SA,
We appreciate the opportunity to have welcomed you and thank you for sharing your feedback. The fact that you found everything to be exceptional is absolutely wonderful and nothing could please us more. Your recommendation of an ocean view room on nights the DJ spins is a great one and we thank you for sharing.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    396
    178
    71
    39
See reviews for
281
570
87
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The service here is impeccable. I've never been to a hotel where we've been treated more like royalty than regular guests. It's absolutely amazing. The decor is stunning, both inside and outside. The pools are small but very nice and heated. The food is really good at the Cast restaurant.
The rooms are spacious with luxurious bathrooms. Parking is valet only and at $35 per night a bit steep but it's great to have the car nearby. We received a room upgrade when I mentioned we were celebrating our 5 year anniversary with them and thus had partial ocean view. It's just a block from the beach and in walking distance of both the Pier and the Third Street Promenade (with great restaurants and great shopping).
I'd highly recommend this hotel if you want amazing service, beautiful decor and a bit of luxury!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouschkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Anouschkar,
Firstly allow us to congratulate you again on your 5 year anniversary. We are honored that you chose to spend it with us. We are so pleased to hear that this special occasion was a fabulous one. Thank you for allowing our team to take care of you and we look forward to having you back for your 6th anniversary next year. Until then.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel looked very plain from outside, hidden with large bushes and trees all the way around, but stepping closer to the entrance it was so much more.

The hotel was luxurious and the staff were very attentive, the restaurant food and bar was all very delicious but slightly pricey, but price was premium at that hotel, you paid for the quality you received, smack bang on the sea front of Santa Monica beach and pier with a great amusement park, close to 3rd street shopping promenade and restaurants and bars located all around, a great location and easy to get the city bus and tout busses from directly outside, you can book all tours across the road on the pier, there of course is valet to if you are driving.

Estrella Flores at the hotel was also magnificent getting us reservations and everything we needed sorting out for out stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZCRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
ZCRX,
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you didn't judge this book by its cover and discovered the inner beauty of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that once inside you had a wonderful experience and were well taken care of. We appreciate that Estella was able to get you sorted and made such an impact on your stay. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We rented a 2nd floor accessible room (outpatient surgery UCLA) for hopeful relaxing recovery. The room was nice, though not great. Room-service was nice, very pricey, though not great. The noise at night (presumably when the downstairs bar cranked-up) was downright awful. For the price, you expect, and deserve better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtimhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
jtimhall,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. Though you were not traveling on the ideal circumstances we appreciate you allowing us to take care of you during your recovery. We apologize that the experience you had was not as relaxing as you had hoped though we assure you our upper floor ocean view rooms provide an escape from the activity in our bar and pool area at night. We wish you a speedy recovery and hope the we may have the chance to have you back again in the future.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura County
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed one night with a company incentive group. Excellent arrival experience from the valet to the front desk agent offering a glass of champagne upon check-in, nice touch! We had an event poolside and ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and food was very good. Beautiful upscale finishes in the rooms with marble baths and amenities. My only complaint is that the color palette and furnishings are starting to look a little dated. But the room was super clean, quiet and comfortable. And again my compliments to the staff who really understand upscale service and delivered it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Big Traveler47,
Thank you for joining us for the night during your company event. We are pleased to hear that though your company chose the venue your experience did not disappoint. We are glad to hear the event was a success. We appreciate that you chose to remain in the hotel for breakfast and dinner to allow for a true Viceroy experience. That the staff and the service provided only enhanced this is icing on the cake. We hope to have you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As a surprise for my sister's turning 60, I thought the perfect place to stay for our Santa Monica get-away would be the Viceroy. The reviews on this site were mostly positive and the "professional" photos looked fab. However, I was utterly disgusted! I should have taken a known while seating next to another guest checking in w/ a 150 pound Mastiff dog, that something was not as advertised.

I paid $490.00 for a double, ocean view room, and for that premium I was not expecting to walk into clone of a Holiday Inn Room. The room smelled of a combination of dirty pet, smoke, old carpet and mold. The TV cabinet had some gross and white all over the front of it, the "balcony" was simply an fancy guard rail in front of the sliding glass doors.

I called down to the front desk and requested another room, in the mean time, the maid came and sprayed something (air freshener) under the beds. Unfortunately, the management could not come up w/ an acceptable replacement room (they did show me one other room w/ one bed on the back side of the hotel, which was just as dingy), and since this get-away was a gift to my sister, an expensive gift, so I chose to not stay and requested a refund.

Six years ago I stayed here and I loved it, but obviously the last years of party going, dog loving patrons has definitely taken it's toll.

One positive: Andrew the Bellman. He was fabulous...fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlssantabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
tlssantabarbara,
Thank you for coming back to see us and for choosing to celebrate and occasion as special as your sisters birthday with us. We are truly sorry for the fact that we did not exceed your expectations during your arrival. While we are a dog friendly hotel we do limit these visitors to a pet friendly floor. We will be debuting a new room product at the end of this year which we hope you will find reminds you of what you loved about the hotel 6 years ago. I would consider it a privilege if you would contact me personally at 310-260-7506 so I may have the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Again we thank you for the opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here a few times over the years. Was fresh, on its toes and a younger alternative to the occasionally rather staid 5 stars dotted around LA. Sadly, seems to be going downhill - the rooms are getting tired and the service is definitely slapdash now. There seems to be more emphasis on catering for the "sub Kardashian" wannabe Nikki Beach crowd who wander in to use the lounge/terrace than to offering full-service hotel lodging to the discerning traveler.

Come on Viceroy, you did a great job for a while - but this is now a weak spot in your portfolio - sort it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upupandaway68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Upupandaway68,
Thank you for joining us over multiple visits over the last few years and for coming back to see us on this recent visit. We are very sorry to learn however that this recent visit did not match the experiences from stays past. While we are the oldest hotel in the Viceroy portfolio at 12 years old we aim to provide a consistently unique experience. Nothing is more important to us than our guests especially our loyal guests. We are debuting a newly refreshed room product at the end of this year and hope we'll have the opportunity for you to experience this on your next visit to Santa Monica.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,863 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,556 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,032 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing