We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Santa Monica!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I loved my stay at the Viceroy.

The service was amazing and all of the staff was very attentive and accommodating. I also love that they treat you to a glass of champagne at your check in! I've stayed at the Viceroy twice now, and look forward to staying there again. The location is ideal, the hotel has a luxurious yet intimate feel, the restaurant has amazing food, it is also clean and well maintained.

Also, the coffee served in the morning was fantastic, I really enjoyed having a coffee and relaxing by the pool. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Samantha Y,
We cannot thank you enough for being a repeat guest with us at Viceroy. We a pleased to know that this return visit matched your first experience. It's also wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy all the areas of the hotel from the restaurant to the pool to the glass of bubbly. We're got a bottle on ice awaiting your next visit with us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Wonderful hotel. Beautiful pool area. Loved the products supplied in the bathroom and the mirrored wall beHind the bed. Looking forward to staying there again soon. Love their Palm Springs hotel too!xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innerblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Innerblonde,
Thank you for being such a loyal Viceroy guest. We're glad that you enjoyed your time in Santa Monica as much as at our sister property in the desert. Thank you for spending some time with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

During our two night stay, we found everything about this hotel to be quite exceptional. From check-in to check-out, our experience was great. The location is good. It's only a short walk to the beach. All the staff were extremely professional, polite, attentive and immaculately presented. Overall, the hotel is beautifully styled, making the hotel feel quite luxurious, whether you're in your room or enjoying the courtyard setting. The hotel is also exceptionally clean and the fragrance used throughout smells divine. The only downside we found was that on the Saturday night a DJ was playing in the courtyard area until late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel to avoid the noise from the DJ playing in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJA_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

DJA_SA,
We appreciate the opportunity to have welcomed you and thank you for sharing your feedback. The fact that you found everything to be exceptional is absolutely wonderful and nothing could please us more. Your recommendation of an ocean view room on nights the DJ spins is a great one and we thank you for sharing.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The service here is impeccable. I've never been to a hotel where we've been treated more like royalty than regular guests. It's absolutely amazing. The decor is stunning, both inside and outside. The pools are small but very nice and heated. The food is really good at the Cast restaurant.
The rooms are spacious with luxurious bathrooms. Parking is valet only and at $35 per night a bit steep but it's great to have the car nearby. We received a room upgrade when I mentioned we were celebrating our 5 year anniversary with them and thus had partial ocean view. It's just a block from the beach and in walking distance of both the Pier and the Third Street Promenade (with great restaurants and great shopping).
I'd highly recommend this hotel if you want amazing service, beautiful decor and a bit of luxury!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anouschkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Anouschkar,
Firstly allow us to congratulate you again on your 5 year anniversary. We are honored that you chose to spend it with us. We are so pleased to hear that this special occasion was a fabulous one. Thank you for allowing our team to take care of you and we look forward to having you back for your 6th anniversary next year. Until then.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel looked very plain from outside, hidden with large bushes and trees all the way around, but stepping closer to the entrance it was so much more.

The hotel was luxurious and the staff were very attentive, the restaurant food and bar was all very delicious but slightly pricey, but price was premium at that hotel, you paid for the quality you received, smack bang on the sea front of Santa Monica beach and pier with a great amusement park, close to 3rd street shopping promenade and restaurants and bars located all around, a great location and easy to get the city bus and tout busses from directly outside, you can book all tours across the road on the pier, there of course is valet to if you are driving.

Estrella Flores at the hotel was also magnificent getting us reservations and everything we needed sorting out for out stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ZCRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

ZCRX,
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you didn't judge this book by its cover and discovered the inner beauty of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that once inside you had a wonderful experience and were well taken care of. We appreciate that Estella was able to get you sorted and made such an impact on your stay. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We rented a 2nd floor accessible room (outpatient surgery UCLA) for hopeful relaxing recovery. The room was nice, though not great. Room-service was nice, very pricey, though not great. The noise at night (presumably when the downstairs bar cranked-up) was downright awful. For the price, you expect, and deserve better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jtimhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

jtimhall,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. Though you were not traveling on the ideal circumstances we appreciate you allowing us to take care of you during your recovery. We apologize that the experience you had was not as relaxing as you had hoped though we assure you our upper floor ocean view rooms provide an escape from the activity in our bar and pool area at night. We wish you a speedy recovery and hope the we may have the chance to have you back again in the future.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed one night with a company incentive group. Excellent arrival experience from the valet to the front desk agent offering a glass of champagne upon check-in, nice touch! We had an event poolside and ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and food was very good. Beautiful upscale finishes in the rooms with marble baths and amenities. My only complaint is that the color palette and furnishings are starting to look a little dated. But the room was super clean, quiet and comfortable. And again my compliments to the staff who really understand upscale service and delivered it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Big Traveler47,
Thank you for joining us for the night during your company event. We are pleased to hear that though your company chose the venue your experience did not disappoint. We are glad to hear the event was a success. We appreciate that you chose to remain in the hotel for breakfast and dinner to allow for a true Viceroy experience. That the staff and the service provided only enhanced this is icing on the cake. We hope to have you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,912 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,649 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £297 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing