We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

First night and so far we feel like we made a fantastic choice. How can you go wrong when you check in and they say Oh you've been upgraded to a suite, sorry your room isn't quite ready may we offer you a glass of Prosecco? Concierges so helpful!
More details to follow!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NancyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

NancyG_11,

It is very rare that we receive reviews while a guest is still in house with us. We are so pleased that you are having such a fantastic experience. We are eagerly waiting for more details but please do feel free to contact me personally during this visit if there's anything I can do to help make your stay even more fantastic. Thanks for sharing.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We loved the hotel. We had a lovely, clean room with a nice view of the ocean (5th floor, partial ocean view). The service was excellent - super friendly and professional staff from check-in, valet service, concierge, and all the servers at the restaurant and bar. We enjoyed great breakfast on the patio outside and delicious cocktails at happy hour. Great location: short walk to the beach and in walking distance of great restaurants and shops. We liked being close to Venice too.

Room Tip: 5th floor partial ocean view had a nice view of the ocean. If you need total quiet you may prefer n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizabetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

lizabetj,

Thank you for joining us at Viceroy and for sharing your experience. It is fabulous to hear how much you loved the hotel and know that we loved having you. Thank you for allowing our staff to take such good care of you and we're pleased to learn of the impact they all had on your visit. The weather has been absolutely amazing in Santa Monica so it's great to see that you got to spend breakfast and happy hour outside. We thank you again and hope to see you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The lovely outdoor areas around the pool feel like an oasis amongst the chaos of down town Santa Monica! Great place for a leisurely out door lunch.
Rooms and public areas very smart and spacious. Couldn't really fault anything except lacked a bit of character but that goes hand in hand with larger hotels and the training of the staff in bigger chains.
All in all would probably choose an hotel nearer to the beach on a return visit.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

FermanaghKeys,

We thank you for escaping the hustle and bustle of Santa Monica to come enjoy the oasis of our pool area. We are pleased to hear what an enjoyable time you had and the enjoyment of your leisurely lunch. While we understand that you may desire to be on the beach during your next visit we hope you'll remember the lovely visit you had with us and return to Viceroy. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel oozes urban chic from the moment you walk through the door. It has a very trendy feel with the lounge music in the background, the chandeliers and the suave furnishings. My wife and I were wowed as soon as we stepped in. The room was immaculate with all the amenities one could ask for. We did find it rather strange that many of the amenities had prices on them however. The valet parking service was friendly and prompt. The only little complaint would be of the pretentious staff who appeared very robotic in personality but they could have just been following instructions from management and we didn't let this bother us much. Overall a very good hotel but if I'm in the Santa Monica region again I'd probably stay at Shutters as that's by the beach and has a different vibe. Definitely satisfied with the stay however.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetAzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

SweetAzNz,
Thanks to both you and the Mrs. for joining us at Viceroy. One of our favorite things is when a guests is wowed the moment they walk through the doors so we're glad this happened with you. We're pleased also to learn that this impression carried up to the guest rooms. We are sorry however to learn that the staff did not make the same impression. We take great pride in our staff's genuine and organic service and regret that this didn't reflect during your visit. We are glad however that you were satisfied with your visit and hope to welcome you back to this side of the street on your next visit to Santa Monica.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I only stayed one night at the hotel as part of a business trip, but it was enough to leave a very positive lasting impression. The Viceroy is a pretty building with elegant but casual sensibilities. Pastel colors brighten up the lobby and the rooms, and all of the materials are top-quality. The room is supremely comfortable. Rooms with balconies overlook the beach. And the hotel restaurant is very, very good; try the shakshuka for breakfast, and then try to remember another hotel in North America that serves anything that good.

The only downside, if there is one, is that the hotel is about a 15-minute walk into downtown Santa Monica, and a 20-minute walk from Venice. But it's California, where the weather is always beautiful, so don't let distance sway you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

chalega,
We are very pleased to learn that a very positive long lasting impression was created from just one night with us. We thank you for opportunity to create this impression for you. It's fantastic to learn that you enjoyed yourself throughout the hotel especially in the restaurant. This is the second mention of the shakshuka dish on Trip Advisor so I'll have to let Chef know all the love it's getting. We appreciate the opportunity to host you for the night and hope to have the chance for many more to come. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Viceroy is mint. Stayed here during a business conference held at Shutters across the street. Although Shutters is on the beach and a little more expensive, the lobby bar at the Viceroy is much cooler and we enjoyed socializing in a large cabana by their pool. They have patio heaters so even in January it wasn't too cold. The rooms are both funky and fancy (rare combination), bed was super comfortable. Had one of the most delicious healthy breakfasts of my life, served by a very sweet maybe Russian waitress, with fresh vegetable juice and some kind of middle eastern egg-tomato-pita-feta dish. Lots of very friendly mostly male eye candy working in the lobby ;) And they remember and use your name. Andrew at the front desk was especially nice, and James the concierge went out of his way to offer to make a reservation for me on his personal time, after he had gotten off work. It's easy to walk to Main Street or downtown Santa Monica and feels safe at night. No downside except the price, and the value is excellent.

Room Tip: I don't think my room was special, so I expect they're all nice. There were ear plugs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbandicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

zbandicoot,
Thank you for choosing to commute across Ocean Ave during your summit just to stay with us. We appreciate that you were able to work there and enjoy yourself here. We are so pleased to hear that James, Andrew, Zana in the restaurant and of course all of the male eye candy took such great care of you. It sounds like Zana in Cast recommended some of the Rejuice juice and the shakshuka dish which is killer. It sounds like you were able to have a truly fabulous experience and we think this is in itself mint. Hope to have you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My family and I stayed the the VSM for 4 nights beginning January first. We had a few issues with our room, they were immediately dealt with and resolved. The staff is friendly and the service is spot on. However, this hotel does not have pay-per-view. It's jaw dropping that in 2014 if you want to watch movie, they schlep up a DVD player and DVD. For such a sleek and modern hotel to have such dated technology is rather odd. I haven't owned a dvd player in at least 5 years. Our children often like watching movies after busy travel days. It's 2014 and it's time for this hotel to add Pay Per View. Other than that, we would stay here again if they would add this feature.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

MizzWelch,
Thank you to you and your family for joining us in the new year. We appreciate knowing that our staff was able to help cure your "hiccups" and once resolving you were all able to have a great time. The hotel does feature Smart TV's to work with tablets and we are currently laying fiber which combined will provide our guests with the most up to date movie viewing system available. Knowing this we hope we can have the whole family back to enjoy this option. Until then.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,949 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,669 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
990 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £276 - £534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing