We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at this lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is a lovely boutique property with a very nice decor and funky vibe. I loved the pool area. When I arrived late Friday night there was a DJ playing loud music in the lobby bar. When I went to my 2nd floor room I heard nothing so the sound there is very good. The service was extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. I enjoyed the stay. The location is a little farther from the central shopping area and restaurants but all within an easy walk. It is on a busy street and you must cross the street and walk a block and a half to get to the beach. I paid a higher rate and booked a partial ocean view room. Save your money and don't bother because the way it was described on the website was not accurate. I had a second floor room and did not have an ocean view. I did nicely mention my disappointment in how it was described and the rate difference to the front desk and they were very apologetic and did make an adjustment to my rate. That told me a lot about the quality of their management. I had a plumbing problem in my sink for all three days but they did respond to it promptly once I called. Jack at the front desk was welcoming and sweet as was all the staff that went out of their way with great service. For the price, it would have been nice to be on the beach like some of the other properties but I liked the feel of the hotel versus the bigger chain properties.

Room Tip: Do not bother spending more on a partial or ocean view room. It is too far. Higher floor may be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear ellent1,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear you found our property to have great service. Your comments about Jack are well received and we can't want to have you back in the future!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Free champagne upon arrival, super cute reception/bar area when you walk in. Pool area was also chic- it was randomly cold the weekend we were there, but I would have loved to sit outside in one of the cabanas. They also offered free yoga by the pool at 10am on Sunday morning (we were out too late to enjoy, but I totally would have if I wasn't dead to the world).

Loved speaker system in room and decor. Small bathroom, but good use of space with vanity area for getting ready. Horrible water pressure, but other than that everything was great.

Tip- I wouldn't spend extra for a room with a view, you could see the ocean from our room, but you could also see the street below since the hotel is not ocean front.

Would definitely go back when staying in Santa Monica- highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Alexis M,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our property to have great decor and be in a great location. We hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've globe-trotted annually for 20 years, stayed at at least 150 hotels and Viceroy will be our most memorable. Yes, the décor is cool but the service is unbelievable - the staff actually cares. Each member will bend over backwards for you and offer you the shirt off his (her) back. My wife was stricken with a kidney infection in Santa Monica and the amount of kindness and care she received was truly humbling. We stayed at Lowes for two nights prior and let me tell you, they really need to take a leaf out of Viceroy's Service and Operations Manual. We'll offer Viceroy praise all day long every day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Mike M,

Thank for your review and kind words! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular our service.

We hope to see you for many years to come!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The decor is amazing but the service is the best! The rooms are very cool, comfortable beds, but the shower pressure is horrible. Apparently all Santa Monica hotels have low flow shower heads to conserve water. Oh well. We came from NYC to enjoy the view and splurged for a deluxe room on a high floor. It was "okay" - since the hotel is on the busy Ocean Ave, it was hard to enjoy the view with all the noise. There was also a lot of street construction that looks like it's going to go on for a long time. The sound of Jackhammers was a sound we were trying to avoid. We checked out 2 days early and headed up to Malibu. I would highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a cool and chic hotel with a great vibe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSMTravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear DSMTravel91,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our vibe and service!

Come back soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were in LA for 3 days as part of a family holiday and stayed at the Viceroy. The hotel was tres chic. The concierge was great and recommended a number of good activities. The hotel was an easy walk to 3rd street shops and they provided bikes free of charge.

We thought we would need a car in LA (and hired one from the airport) but if we had our time again we would have caught a taxi from LAX and done the tours with pickup from the hotel. There is a car rental place across the road from the hotel if you need to rent one.

Our only complaint was that we had a room with an interconnecting door and we could hear everything going on in the next room. The air conditioner was also a bit noisy when it came on.

Room Tip: Dont get room with interconnecting door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black_Cat_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Black_Cat_HK,

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is well suited for people without a car, as you suggested. We sit in between beautiful Santa Monica and Venice Beach. We do hope to see you again in the future and appreciate your patronage.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at the Viceroy for 2 nights after a long flight. The hotel was immaculate, great location and the early check in at 8am made it even better.

The only criticism was the weather as we couldn't utilise the beautiful pool area.

Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMDO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear SMDO007,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear we were able to get you an early check-in, especially after a long flight! Apologies for the weather! Next time you visit us I'm sure it will be bright and sunny.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at the Viceroy for a family adult weekend in LA - we had limo service to see the shuttle The Endeavor, to Jiraffe for dinner, and to The Eagles concert at the Forum, and for each experience the concierge at Viceroy was very accommodating. We really appreciate it when hotel staff take the reins and we don't have to worry about following up with drivers, coordinating schedules, sorting out water for the rides, etc. The staff made our stay extra special by alleviating the worry from us having to plan everything. In addition, the staff gave us full use of the cabanas by the pool when available and were very attentive to our needs (two of us were pregnant and hungry!!). Although we were a bit disappointed in the lack of view of the beach/ocean, the rooms were large and clean. We also didn't like that the pool was shaded, as we are a very sunny bunch from San Diego and Santa Barbara - but again, the friendliness of the wait staff made everything special. I will say that the check-in staff were a bit snobby and did not receive my husband and I very well. The bartenders and servers, on the other hand, were lovely and the food was delicious! I absolutely loved my hamachi ceviche. The cocktails are fabulous, too - especially the Ocean Ave.The drinks and dancing on Saturday night after The Eagles was really fun as the hotel gets quite trendy at night. My only complaints are regarding the lack of view, shaded pool, snobby check-in staff and small fitness center. But again, the wait staff are LOVELY and the concierge made us feel at home. thank you for a fun adult family weekend!

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room, otherwise you're staring at nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Front Office Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Laurel L,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and support. Please contact me directly anytime to discuss any service that fell short but we are happy to hear you enjoyed our property, our wonderful concierge and our restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Jonathan Wolfe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,916 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,652 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,106 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £295 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing