We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting for a Bridal Shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting for a Bridal Shower”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My daughter loved the bridal shower I hosted at the Viceroy in one of the hotel cabanas next to the small pool. The setting was lovely as thirteen of us shared the couches looking out onto the greenery. Round and round went the tasty delights: grilled shrimp, pita bread with hummus and olives, flatbreads with tomatoes and goat cheese, big chocolate chip cookies and much more. It was warm and cozy and memorable; far superior to renting a back room in a restaurant. We forgot there were other people outside, as we created our own universe inside the cabana. Food, games, toasts to the bride; my daughter laughed and cried (feeling so honored) and me, the mother, beamed with pride. Cynthia, the sales rep, helped me plan the whole event and was great with follow-up; Vanessa, our server, was gracious, pleasant, and incredibly helpful, always there with the Arnold Palmers and bottled waters; BJ, the smiling valet captain, made sure the guests were able to retrieve their cars easily and quickly. All in all, it was a beautiful day at the Viceroy Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59marcyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Marcy W,
Congratulations to both you and your daughter on the upcoming wedding. We are honored to have played a part in celebrating this very important shower. To hear how special the day was and how much everyone enjoyed themselves gives us so much joy. We are very pleased to learn what a positive part Cynthia, Vanessa, and BJ played in making this happen. We've certainly recognized them for this. We hope we'll have the opportunity to join you in celebrating many other special occasions to come. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    386
    175
    69
    38
See reviews for
269
563
87
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There is no bar overlooking the water and even the luscious poolside has no views but this hotel is an oasis of tranquility with top service and standards. The hotel is situated one block from the beach and in between two fasionable districts so that restaurants and shops are all within walking distance. There are hotels located closer to the promenade, or more seaside but the viceroy is absolutely convenient to all. This is not a hotel for swimming laps or sitting on your bedroom terrace but the right rooms have beautiful views and my daughter and i spent many hours relaxing in luxury by the pool. Worth a few nights if you can handle the price tag.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Lau123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
123Lau123,
We absolutely love your description of us as an "oasis of tranquility" so thank you for that. Thank you also for taking the time share your experience. We're pleased to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed both the hotel and fully explored the surrounded areas. While we do have rooms with great ocean views we love when our guests come down to join us in our public areas. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you both.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My boyfriend and I just got back from a three day stay at the Viceroy and really enjoyed it. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.

The hotel is in the best location possible short of being on the actual beach. A short two minute walk to the beach, it was well worth being so close.

Service was impeccable. Our check in was smooth and effortless and being greeted with a glass of bubbly is a nice touch. Every time we passed a member of the staff they were friendly and smiled and said hello, which made us feel very welcome.

The outdoor space is really where the hotel shines. The pool space isn't large but the cabanas are beautiful, the pools are warm and there are lots of little seating areas where you feel like you can tuck yourself away. It was a little oasis. That said, on weekends it gets a little loud at night (we were trying to sleep in rooms that face the pool area and it was a tiny bit loud).

The rooms were nice and well appointed. The only downside of the rooms for me was the shower. I found the shower couldn't get quite warm enough for my taste (it wasn't cold by any stretch but I like a hot shower) and the showerhead could stand to be upgraded.

We ordered room service a few times for breakfast and the food was great. I found the mini bar and the food to be just a little pricey but I'd rather have that than an empty mini bar fridge.

All in all, it was a great space and I'd recommend it to any young couples looking for a fun getaway in LA (I'm certain that my folks wouldn't like this place but it was perfect for us).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dardar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
dardar14,
Many thanks to you and your boyfriend for joining us. And while we also wish you could give us 4.5 stars we're grateful for the wonderful feedback. We're glad to hear that the staff all gave you a big welcome and that you truly understood the vibe we are going for in our outdoor area. While we are required to have low flow shower heads we are indeed looking for ways to enhance these. We do hope we can welcome you both back soon and we think you're parents would also have a great time here so please extend them the offer too.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here over a weekend in April. It was our first stay at a Viceroy property. From start to finish the experience was unbeatable. The service was AMAZING, check- in to check- out. Every single member of the staff that we encountered was above standard. The food was better than most "fancy" restaurants, our son got sick one of the days we were there so we ordered room service it was ridiculously good. We travel quite often for both work and personal and can honestly say this is by far one of our new favorite spots. We will definitely be back. I am not sure if all Viceroy properties are as exceptional as this one but we will now consider the Viceroy for our trip to NY in June. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firsttimertoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
firsttimertoeur,
We are honored to be your first Viceroy experience and so pleased to hear it did not disappoint. While we're sorry to hear that your son fell ill we're glad Chef could help nurse him back to health. We are happy to be your new spot and you absolutely must check out the newest addition to the Viceroy family Viceroy New York in June. Glad to have made such a fan out of you and we look forward to your next visit.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here on our Spring Break for one night. The service was superb from the moment we walked in the door. Jonathan at the front desk went out of his way to make us feel welcome. Was there with the whole family and the kids loved it. Great location. just across the street from the beach and within walking distance to most of the things we wanted to do. Our room was great, clean and had a good view of the Pacific.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Jon I,
We understand how difficult it can be to make sure the whole family enjoys themselves when on holiday. We are thrilled to hear that this visit achieved that task. It's nice also to hear that Jonathan extended such a warm welcome. One night is simply not long enough so we do hope we can have you all back with us soon for a longer visit.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days with some friends. We were attending music venues in LA so it was convenient and far enough away from the hustle of the city. Close to the beach, good dining and the Pier. Room was on the 7th floor ocean front so the views were great.
Staff was friendly and extremely helpful in what ever I needed.
The pool was small and shaded except for one area... More of a social experience than anything. Not recommend for kids in my opinion. Watch out for the overpriced valet parking if you are bringing a car.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BDE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
BDE111,
Our thanks to you and your friends for escaping the hustle of the city to join us in Santa Monica. We are very pleased to hear that you all were able to enjoy yourselves. It's even better to know that this was due in part to the service you received from our staff. We do hope we'll have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to LA. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We recently spent three weeks traveling down the west coast from San Francisco to San Diego staying in some fantastic hotels along the way. I can honestly say the Viceroy was the worst of all. The interiors are tired, there was hair in the bathroom, stains on the carpet, curtains and bathroom tiles, grime on the drawer insides. In fairness the staff did their best to upgrade us to something better but by then we just wanted to leave. Stayed one night and checked out ASAP. Also the pool area is tiny and I can't imagine it sees much sun through the day. We didn't stay long enough to find out though!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Nat99,
We are very sorry to learn that your visit did not meet expectations. While the conditions you are reporting are unacceptable they are not the norm as visible by the numerous other reviews. We have just finished a refresh of the guest rooms which did involve, among other enhancements, refinishing of the tubs and bathroom floors and replacing all drapes. I would consider it a privildge to have the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience and can be reached at my direct line of 310-260-7506 at any time. Thank you for the opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,779 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
904 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
959 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,452 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing