We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just not a great experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I chose the Viceroy for a business trip because of the solid reviews on Trip Advisor. As I walked into the lobby, I was thinking I'd made a good choice. The decor has a hip, cosmopolitan vibe going and the staff at the front desk was really welcoming.

Once I got my room, things became a bit less promising, but still good. There was nothing particularly bad about it; it could perhaps have used an update or refresh. It was just underwhelming. Things got worse once I realized my next-door neighbors were a sizable group of young guests bent on using their room as a headquarters for an ongoing party. This exposed an Achilles heel of the establishment: the walls are the thinnest of any I've ever experienced. I kid you not, I may as well have been in their room with them.

That started things downhill. Then things just got weird. When I first arrived in my room after check-in, I had the full complement of soap, shampoo and conditioner. After turn-down service came, everything but the hand soap was nowhere to be found. It was late and I needed a shower, so I used the hand soap as everything including shampoo.

The next morning I informed the front desk of the odd disappearance. They were suitably apologetic and confused and promised they would make sure I had everything when I got back. When I got back... it still wasn't there. I would have thought housekeeping would have fixed the situation as a matter of course and that my front desk visit would represent a sort of "belt-and-suspenders" approach, but alas, I was wrong on both counts.

After that, telling you about my disappointment with the workout room is a bit of a letdown to even mention, but a a disappointment it was nonetheless.

Overall, I just didn't find the hotel to be a particularly nice one. You can do better elsewhere in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Matt S,
While I'm pleased that your visit started off well I was very disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations through the rest of your stay. As you can tell from the numerous other reviews what you experienced is far from the norm and I am very sorry you did not have a great experience. I would consider it a privilege if I could discuss this with you directly. You may reach me at my direct line at 310-260-7606. I appreciate you sharing and look forward to the opportunity to speak with you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    392
    176
    69
    38
See reviews for
274
567
87
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I came here with a friend for a conference in L.A. Admittedly, we had a suite, so can't comment on "normal" rooms, but our suite was spectacular, complete with beach view. Lots of room, well-appointed and good layout of furniture so that we weren't bumping into each other. The hotel breakfast was pricey but beautifully prepared and enough to last through the day. All the staff we encountered were helpful, professional, cheerful, and eager to please. The bar scene in the evening is lively and young (as is the rest of the night life in SM)--and might be loud for lower rooms. We were on the 7th floor and slept like logs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher floor if you're a light sleeper. If you like looking at the ocean, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHCNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
CHCNV,
We are so pleased to hear that you and your friend had such lovely stay at Viceroy. Thank you for joining us. Though our suites are wonderful I can assure you that you would have loved one of the "normal" room just as much. We happy to know that our team looked after you and that you enjoyed the restaurant and bar scene just as much as the suite. We hope to see you back soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We choose this hotel to finish our 6 weeks of travel of the USA before we flew back home.
We stayed here for three nights. It's was the most expensive hotel of our trip, and we were greeted with a glass of champagne on check in. Our room was a lovely corner suit,with glimpse of the beach.
It is one block back from the beach.
We didn't get to use the pool, as on our first night there they had a cocktail night which started early, and everyone was around the pool in suits and evening dresses, so you couldn't exactly go swimming. The second night they closed it early afternoon for a private function, so once again we couldn't go swimming. The third day we didn't want wet bathers to take on long during back.
There was no coffee or tea in room, and at night I really enjoy a cup of tea to go to bed, and it cost us $16.00 each night for cup of tea. We're other hotels you could go down and get one down stairs if they didn't have anything in the rooms. Just thought for the most expensive place,. One of the nights when I asked to be served the waiter said he was busy with a private person. We had to wait 40 minutes to get a cup of tea. Just thought that was bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbierichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Barbierichardson,
Thank you for choosing Viceroy to close out your trip of the States. We are pleased to hear that you received a warm welcome and enjoyed you suite. We apologize that you were unable to use the pool to it's full capabilities. While the pool is open for swimming from sunrise to sunset we do from time to time have events poolside. We make all efforts to notify our guests of this in advance. While coffee makers and kettles do not match the design of the guest rooms we do have them available upon request for our guests. We again thank you for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Viceroy is an outstanding hotel, with superior customer. The building is nicely appointed and the rooms were exceptionally comfortable. Being greeted with a glass of champagne after a long drive, well, that was the beginning of a great visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Vernon M,
Thank you for sharing your exceptional experience. The pleasure was all ours. We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a lovely couple of days at this lovely hotel before we had to board a long flight home. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was great just across from the beach, close to the pier and a lots of cafes and restaurants. As we were checking out the staff were so helpful it made life so much easier. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you can't afford the ocean view the view over the pool is is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Diane S,
Thank you so much for allowing us the chance to provide you a little bit of luxury. We are sure you needed if before boarding your very long flight home. We're pleased to hear that our staff took such good care of you and made preparing for your flight a bit easier. We do we'll be able to welcome you back the next time you're in the States. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The rooms were large, clean, modern and very pleasant to stay in. The close accessibility to the beach also helped. We asked the concierge about things to do in the area and planning our 2 days there and he was extremely helpful. This is a great hotel to stay in while in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Harmeet S,
We are glad to learn you had such a lovely experience. Thank you for taking the time to share. All of our concierges are Santa Monica locals so they definitely have great recommendations of what to do in the area. Pleased to hear their advice was so helpful. It's great to hear you enjoyed the easy beach access too. We hope you were able to ride down on one of our bikes. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Across a busy road and down a short side street you will find the beautiful Pacific Ocean, a large beach and the famed Santa Monica Pier. Plenty of restaurants and shopping is just a few blocks north. The crazy thing is if you are a guest at the stunning Viceroy Hotel you might not bother to go because the Hotel is so nice. I had a lush comfortable well appointed room with all the needed amenities for a relaxing stay. Comfy bed, quiet room, clean and beautifully decorated. The hotel has that 4/5 star luxurious feel to it, like you are some place special. My check in was smooth and easy, the large attentive staff was helpful, pool area very nice, restaurant and bar both run well and were great. No complaints, would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDVMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
MrDVMP,
Thank you for joining us and for sharing your experience. We love that you enjoyed yourself so much that you almost didn't want to leave the hotel. We're glad you did though as you're correct that we're in a dandy location so there's plenty to get out and see in our beautiful city. We appreciate that you felt you were somewhere special as this is what we wish for all of our guests. We look forward to having you back.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,812 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
920 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,488 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
988 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing