We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viceroy Santa Monica
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Travelodge Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$552
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$433
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$370
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$449
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$518
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$501
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,732)
Filter reviews
1,732 results
Traveller rating
975
438
192
80
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
438
192
80
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaglass of champagnehip hotelocean viewbeautiful hotellocation is greatupon checklobby barshort walk to the beachocean avela areamain streetvalet parkingvenice beachcasa del marlos angelesconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 1,732 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My 9 year old son and I stayed at the Viceroy for three nights from Thursday 26th June. After a long journey from Glasgow it was lovely to be greeted by so many friendly staff and a glass of bubbly (a Shirley Temple for my son which he was made up about) before heading to our room. It was late in the evening so we did not discover the extent of how fab our room was until the morning.

While the rooms are perfectly appointed, it is the view that makes it truly fabulous. We paid for an ocean view room and for the first time it didn't disappoint, the view of the beach from the 7th floor is great.

The bed was really comfortable, the marble bathroom a nice touch that added to the luxurious feel. The decor was just to my taste and everything was like new.

I was worried that the reputation of having a lively night scene might make it noisy or not suitable for families but I can say we didn't hear a peep and we're still given attention when we arrived back from our days out even though the bar and entrance areas were very busy. Everyone from the doorman to the porters, bar and restaurant staff were lovely and on leaving to head to San Francisco were given water for our trip and my son was given a few things to make his trip pass quicker.

It isn't cheap to stay here but it was worth every penny, we are just sorry we couldn't stay longer. I hope to be lucky enough to return. Our next hotel was thoroughly disappointing compared to this!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank NicMcl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

NicMcI1971,
We are honored to be considered the best hotel and thank you for sharing your experience and for the great photos. We do believe it's the little touches that can make a stay special and to know that this helped to make a fan out of your son means the world to us. We're pleased also to hear how much you enjoyed your room and it sounds like you have fabulous taste. While we pride ourselves in our active night life scene it is important to us that all guests feel welcome at all times. We're happy that we were able to accomplish this during your stay. Thank you for the opportunity to be your hosts.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great décor, service and food. Our family of four stayed here two nights, and we ate lunch and dinner at the hotel both days. The rear courtyard area (with two plunge pools and food and bar service) is beautiful, and the food is very good. The atmosphere in the courtyard in the evening is especially lovely. Beds are quite comfortable, and the ocean view is fantastic. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Judy I,
Thank you to both you and your family for joining us at Viceroy. We appreciate the love and are very pleased to hear you all enjoyed yourself. We're very proud of our Cast restaurant and to know that you enjoyed lunch and dinner both days is wonderful. We agree that the evenings are when our pool area becomes truly magical so we're glad you had the chance to experience this. We'd love to have you back as much as you'd love to stay again. So let's make that happen soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My recent stay over the Fathers Day weekend, was like visiting an old familiar friend. The décor of the hotel and the appointment of the rooms is still of the highest order.The staff were as ever courteous and helpful. If you can, book into the Ocean view side of the hotel, the view is always fantastic. The walk to the pier, shops and restaurants is less than 5 minutes, and there is always lots to see.

Room Tip: Always book an Ocean view room!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Simon F,
Thank you for coming back to join us and your continued loyalty. There is no greater compliment we can receive than that of a guest feeling they've found their favorite hotel with us. It's our pleasure to continue to welcome you back and appreciate that you continue to enjoy the style and substance of Viceroy. We look forward to many return visits. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved our short, 1 night stay. Right from being greeted with a glass of sparkling wine, to being upgraded without having to ask, to the fun pool party, to the comfy bed. It was great. Close to the pier, shopping, dining. It was also surprisingly quiet. I recommend booking through hotels.com. It was cheaper than calling the hotel directly.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean was beautiful and avoided the noise from the pool party.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriLosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

LoriLosch,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. We are proud to be dog friendly and hope you were able to bring your furry loved one with you on this visit. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself on your visit and that you got to have some fun at the pool. One night simply isn't long enough so we do hope to have you back for a bit longer soon. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Found a real Gem in Santa Monica. Have tried the others, and this property is hands down the winner. From the moment I stepped out of the car, the valet was all over it. The front desk person was great , friendly and fast. I was in my room in 5 minutes. The room was in great shape and was larger than other local properties.
I had a dinner in the bar and enjoyed the food and service
Will definitely be back.
Don't change a thing !!

Room Tip: I had a high floor looking at the ocean
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

STLFritz,
Thank you for the winning endorsement. There are many wonderful hotels in Santa Monica so we are honored to be considered your favorite. We appreciate that you enjoyed your room and were able to have a great meal. We won't change a thing and look forward to your next visit with us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews