We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel and decor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Gorgeous hotel and decor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great stay at the viceroy. The pool was beautiful and the decor was fun. Our room was very clean, and I was very impressed about the housekeeping- best I've ever seen. Free bike rentals too! Location was great, close to the pier and easy cab ride to Venice or Marina del Ray. A little pricey but so worth it! This was the last stop on our 2 week CA adventure and it was definitely the best for last.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole3067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Nicole3067,
Thank you for choosing Viceroy to be the last stop on your journey. We pleased we were able to help you close out this trip with a bang. Thank you also for the recognition of our housekeeping team as they are often the unsung heroes of the hotel. It's great that you were able to make use of our complimentary bikes and really get out and about. Thank you for allowing us the chance to welcome you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    380
    172
    68
    38
See reviews for
263
552
87
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the way to take kids to Pepperdine for running camp. We wanted a place with ocean views and walking distance to the pier. We got all that and more at the Viceroy. This place is beautifully decorated and the staff is very helpful. The lobby, bar and pool area are so well done, you just want to hang out at the hotel. But don't miss the beaches. There is so much to do just a short walk from the hotel.

The rooms were nice, modern and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank McKD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
McKD92,
We are very pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations during your visit. Thank you for joining us. We love when a guest enjoys themselves so much they don't want to set foot outside the hotel. That's the experience we aim to provide. It is great however that you were also able to get out and explore the amazing city that is Santa Monica. We appreciate it and hope to have you all back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a lovely stay in this good located, cozy hotel. The beach is just a 3min walk, the pool area is ok and it is further a nice location for going out. The 3rd Street (modern shopping street) is right around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaVanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
VanessaVanK,
Thank you both for joining us at Viceroy. We are happy to learn that you did not only have a lovely stay but were also able to to enjoy the design throughout the hotel. While we always love when our guests are able to get out and enjoy the wonder that is Santa Monica. We're glad you had such a good visit. Thank you again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My 9 year old son and I stayed at the Viceroy for three nights from Thursday 26th June. After a long journey from Glasgow it was lovely to be greeted by so many friendly staff and a glass of bubbly (a Shirley Temple for my son which he was made up about) before heading to our room. It was late in the evening so we did not discover the extent of how fab our room was until the morning.

While the rooms are perfectly appointed, it is the view that makes it truly fabulous. We paid for an ocean view room and for the first time it didn't disappoint, the view of the beach from the 7th floor is great.

The bed was really comfortable, the marble bathroom a nice touch that added to the luxurious feel. The decor was just to my taste and everything was like new.

I was worried that the reputation of having a lively night scene might make it noisy or not suitable for families but I can say we didn't hear a peep and we're still given attention when we arrived back from our days out even though the bar and entrance areas were very busy. Everyone from the doorman to the porters, bar and restaurant staff were lovely and on leaving to head to San Francisco were given water for our trip and my son was given a few things to make his trip pass quicker.

It isn't cheap to stay here but it was worth every penny, we are just sorry we couldn't stay longer. I hope to be lucky enough to return. Our next hotel was thoroughly disappointing compared to this!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NicMcl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
NicMcI1971,
We are honored to be considered the best hotel and thank you for sharing your experience and for the great photos. We do believe it's the little touches that can make a stay special and to know that this helped to make a fan out of your son means the world to us. We're pleased also to hear how much you enjoyed your room and it sounds like you have fabulous taste. While we pride ourselves in our active night life scene it is important to us that all guests feel welcome at all times. We're happy that we were able to accomplish this during your stay. Thank you for the opportunity to be your hosts.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great décor, service and food. Our family of four stayed here two nights, and we ate lunch and dinner at the hotel both days. The rear courtyard area (with two plunge pools and food and bar service) is beautiful, and the food is very good. The atmosphere in the courtyard in the evening is especially lovely. Beds are quite comfortable, and the ocean view is fantastic. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Judy I,
Thank you to both you and your family for joining us at Viceroy. We appreciate the love and are very pleased to hear you all enjoyed yourself. We're very proud of our Cast restaurant and to know that you enjoyed lunch and dinner both days is wonderful. We agree that the evenings are when our pool area becomes truly magical so we're glad you had the chance to experience this. We'd love to have you back as much as you'd love to stay again. So let's make that happen soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My recent stay over the Fathers Day weekend, was like visiting an old familiar friend. The décor of the hotel and the appointment of the rooms is still of the highest order.The staff were as ever courteous and helpful. If you can, book into the Ocean view side of the hotel, the view is always fantastic. The walk to the pier, shops and restaurants is less than 5 minutes, and there is always lots to see.

Room Tip: Always book an Ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Simon F,
Thank you for coming back to join us and your continued loyalty. There is no greater compliment we can receive than that of a guest feeling they've found their favorite hotel with us. It's our pleasure to continue to welcome you back and appreciate that you continue to enjoy the style and substance of Viceroy. We look forward to many return visits. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved our short, 1 night stay. Right from being greeted with a glass of sparkling wine, to being upgraded without having to ask, to the fun pool party, to the comfy bed. It was great. Close to the pier, shopping, dining. It was also surprisingly quiet. I recommend booking through hotels.com. It was cheaper than calling the hotel directly.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean was beautiful and avoided the noise from the pool party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriLosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
LoriLosch,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. We are proud to be dog friendly and hope you were able to bring your furry loved one with you on this visit. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself on your visit and that you got to have some fun at the pool. One night simply isn't long enough so we do hope to have you back for a bit longer soon. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing