We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place!! Book it, worth the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our 2nd summer stay here.

Upscale ambiance with the beach right outside is great!!! Staff is exceptionally friendly given the potential clientele who stay here, they do a good job at making even the common folk like us feel welcome. The check in dude was really nice and welcoming (even though we were in shorts and T's) to my wife and I and that started our stay off nice. That was most impressive and would make me want to stay there again.

Oh yea and the rooms are excellent and décor is what you'd expect for a urbane hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: try to get a beach front room. view of santa monica pier at night is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentd972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Vincent D,
Thank you for the love and for returning to see us at Viceroy. I'm very pleased to hear what a great time both you and your wife had. That is only topped by the knowledge that you were welcomed with open arms by our team. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that we can make this an annual summer visit for you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic hotel if you're looking for a comfortable and nice hotel with all amenities near Santa Monica. You are a block away from the beach, a short walk from the Santa Monica pier, as well as the Third Street promenade that has all the shops you can hope for.

There is a 24-hour gym, bar lobby, pool, indoor/outdoor seating restaurant. The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are extremely clean and the TV has enough channels for everyone. The mini bar is well stock if you are ever in dire need.

I was here for business but I would definitely come back for personal travel. Can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: There are really no bad rooms in this hotel. It's fairly small and easy to travel around. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Tara B,
Thank you so much for joining us a Viceroy and for sharing photos of your visit. Though you were traveling for business it's wonderful to see you had a chance to sneak down to the beach. I'm very pleased to learn what a great experience you had and that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities of the hotel. If you enjoyed yourself this much when you were working we can't wait to really wow you on your next visit for pleasure. Thank you again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We drove down to Santa Monica to stay at Viceroy after having stayed at The Beverly Hills Hotel. Upon arrival we didn't really feel wellcome. Front staff gave no information at all. Ocean View room very small. Pool area especially disappointing as pools were extremely small..
Would not recommend. We shortened our stay and went back to BHH.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mads R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Mads R,
There is nothing worse for us than to learn that one of our guests had a disappointing experience. I am very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your visit. That you were not made to feel welcome upon arrival is indeed disappointing. I regret that we were unable to resolve this disappointment and therefore allow you to enjoy the remainder of your stay. I would consider it a privilege if I could have the opportunity to discuss your experience personally. You may contact me on my direct line of 310-260-7506. I hope to have this chance to learn more. Thank you for joining us.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel definitely gives the 'trendy and hip' vibe as soon as you enter with a lot of stuff going on- champagne while you are being checked in , lots of mirrors and statues of greyhounds and things that can make your senses get overloaded!

We paid extra for a view of the beach which we got and it was nice. Considering we paid a pretty package, you would think maybe we would get a decent internet connection ? The free wifi doesn't work and when it works it is slower than the internet from the 90's. Considering that you can step out on the street and probably catch some free wifi which is faster, I find it ludicrous that such a high end hotel would make you pay $16 to get a decent connection.
There is no tea or coffee maker which is surprising , no dental kit unless you ask for one. The soaps and shampoos are in big bottles that remind you of the bottles that are chained to the walls in a hotel like an Ibis to make sure you don't run away with them. They have all sorts of high end soaps/shampoos and things for sale in the bathroom which you might mistake as part of the deal if you aren't careful .Kills the vibe of fancy , according to me.
The pool is teeny tiny and crowded most of the time. It's a close walk to the beach and to the Third Street Promenade where there are loads of shops and restaurants but I don't think the hotel is worth it. Way too pricy and stuck up. We had planned for two nights but luckily decided to stay only one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KismetJewellNakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

KismetJewellNakai,
Thank you for joining us. I am very sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit. The decor of the hotel is one of our trademarks though I regret to hear it wasn't to your liking. We do have fiber optic wireless internet through the building of which the basic entry speed is included in the room rate. We do offer an upgrade to this speed to allow for streaming. I am sorry however that you were not able to connect effectively. We aim to exceed our guests expectations and it is very unfortunate that this was not achieved during your visit. We appreciate the opportunity and thank you for your feedback.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I recently returned from another great stay at the Viceroy Santa Monica. I have stayed here numerous times for both work and vacation. The location is ideal as it is across the street from the beach. The pool area is wonderful but if I'm across the street from a beach...I'm heading to the beach every single day to get some sun or run/walk all the way to the Venice Beach boardwalk or north to Santa Monica State Beach and Will Rogers Beach!

I'm a big fan of Kelly Wearstler who designed the hotel. The space is modern but quirky and fun. The beds are by far some of the most comfortable that I've ever had the pleasure to catch some Zzzzzzz's in.... I have not dined at Cast but have ordered from room service. I thought the food was quite good. The concierge also has a list of restaurants in Santa Monica as well as elsewhere if you want to try LA's wide variety of food and restaurants of which there are many! If you're thinking of drinking at dinner, I'd suggest Uber or a taxi from the hotel. Cab fare isn't too bad if you're staying local or if you're going to Brentwood or Beverly Hills it's a little bit more but worth it to avoid a DUI. No one wants to spend vacation in jail.

The Cameo Bar is a great place to have a drink before you head out or enjoy happy hour. The cocktail menu has a wide variety of drinks with interesting ingredients. Definitely stop by the bar!

And last but not least...the staff at the Viceroy, in my opinion is one of the most friendliest that I've encountered in my many vacations. From the front desk, the valet, the bellman, the bartenders...everyone is very friendly and helpful. It's always a nice to be welcomed back to the Viceroy by a friendly and familiar face.

My one recommendation is to get a room that is a high floor if you're on the pool/city side. It does get quite noisy on the weekends from the crowd at the Cameo Bar. I had a partial ocean view room which overlooked Ocean Ave. With the sliding glass doors open, it can be a little noisy depending on the traffic.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a ocean or partial ocean view if you can. Or if you're on the pool/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gatsby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Gatsby92,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Viceroy Santa Monica. This means the world to us and we appreciate it. It's fantastic to hear that you continue to enjoy yourself just as much each and every visit. The fact that the friendliness of the team and their recognition of you plays a big part in this is stellar. While we know there are many amazing restaurants throughout LA you've got to give Cast a try on your next visit. You won't be disappointed. Thanks also for the recommendations of room location and transportation tips for our other guests. We've got a signature cocktail chilling on the Cameo Bar for your return visit with us which we hope is soon. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My teenage daughter booked the hotel online for a girls trip with my sister and her cousin. The hotel has a great location for access to the pier, shopping and getting around the area. However, it is for tourists. The highway is between the hotel and the beach and so it was not the peaceful I had hoped for.
The check in was good and the wine appreciated. While we enjoyed the fragrance on arrival, a few hours later it was overwhelming and gave us all a headache. The pool was quaint, small....and packed for the beautiful weekend. The vibe was very trending and modern - the rooms were well appointed and large. The shower in the suite was HUGE but the showerhead was disappointing trickle. The bathroom in the standard room had a tub and we loved it.
The amenities were more pricey than our stay at the Ritz.
Valet and manager were fantastic. I had an issue and it was quickly and properly resolved. Thank you.
In summary - great bathrooms, sufficiently large rooms - high priced amenities, too much fragrance, small pool, big highway.
I enjoyed our two night stay but would likely make another choice for our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the view of the beach ..... but not worth it to me. The beach is past the busy hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

tracy h,
It is fantastic that your daughter played travel agent and arranged a girls weekend for you. We appreciate that she chose Viceroy for this special trip. While it sounds like you were able to enjoy yourself it is disappointing that we didn't exceed your expectations. We are located on Ocean Ave however the beach is just across the street from us. One of the many perks of being in Santa Monica are the city's green initiatives however one of this includes water pressure control. While we recognize there are many choices of hotels in Santa Monica and LA we do hope you'll consider joining us again on your next visit. Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I, along with our two young daughters stayed at the Viceroy for a week in early July. Overall our stay was very pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from the beach and within walking distance to Venice Beach and Downtown Santa Monica. There are numerous excellent restaurant options in the area. The hotel restaurant, Cast, is a bit pricey but very good. We had breakfast and dinner there and both were enjoyable experiences. Another nice feature of the hotel is they have free bikes for loan and it was great to be able to take a ride along the beach. Service at the hotel is top notch. Probably the best we have ever experienced. Rooms were modern and very clean. Common areas of the hotel were cool and they even had a library where you could borrow a book. The only negative with the hotel is that it seems to cater to a younger, hipper demographic. The pool area was sometimes a bit like a party atmosphere, not always appropriate for young kids. Also, somebody was smoking in one of the rooms on our floor, filling the hallway with cigarette smoke. We complained to the front desk and they said they would send up security immediately but not sure what they did or could do. We could smell the smoke for a couple days. Even though there were a couple minor issues, we would still definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, stay on a higher floor, away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacramento_CADave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Sacramento_CADave,
Our thanks to you, your wife, and daughters for allowing us to play host to you during your visit. We are happy to learn that overall you had a great time with us. It's great that you had the chance to visit Cast for a few meals and even got to explore our library. We regret that experienced issue with guests smoking as we are a 100% non smoking hotel and take this issue very seriously. Should anyone be found violating our policy we do charge $450. We appreciate you making us aware of this. We're very happy to know that even with this issue you all had a great stay and we appreciate the recommendation.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,963 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,680 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
994 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £256 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing