We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite LA area hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The Viceroy never fails to disappoint - from the complimentary glass of prosecco at check-in, to the outstanding service from the staff - this is a great experience. Two blocks to the beach with bikes available to use. Some tips: rooms on lower floors on "city" side can be loud as poolside tends to be busy at night. No towels available to take to beach (can purchase for $30) so if you're planning to lay out at the beach bring your own or buy from a nearby shop. Also smoothies on breakfast menu are delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMNFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

MsMNFoodie,
We are honored to be considered your favorite hotel in LA. Thank you for continuing to come back and see us. Thank you also for providing some tips to our future guests. We're very pleased to hear that we continue to impress and look forward to having the chance to do this many more times in the future. We'll have a smoothie waiting for you. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely hotel, and the location is good. The room's didn't match the very high standard of Palm Springs, and because we turned up Thanks Giving eve the hotel staff gave the impression they didn't really want to be there, which I guess you can't really blame them, but there was no holiday atmosphere. Also, disappointing that we weren't pre-warned that the whole pool area was out of use. Other than that a very nice hotel, I love the Viceroy chain!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Waltssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Waltssy,
Thank you for being such a loyal Viceroy Hotel Group guest. Our Palm Springs property is pretty special so we're please to learn that you have had good experiences in both properties. We did take advantage of the very slow period and colder weather around Thanksgiving last year to re-plaster our pools. I regret that you were not made aware ahead of time as we did attempt to communicate this on our website. I do hope that we can have you back on your next visit to enjoy the improved pool area.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying here! It is a bit hard to find on Ocean Avenue (as it is surrounded by large hedges). It is located a bit south from Santa Monica pier and 3rd street promenade, where most of the restaurants and stores are located. The decor is absolutely beautiful - the color schemes and decorating are top notch. Found check-in to be painless and was upgraded to an ocean view (not much of a view from the 3rd floor) - so request a higher floor to truly get an ocean view. It looks over a street, which is busy, but the doors and windows seemed to keep out most of the sound out. The room (we stayed in a King) was beautifully decorated, clean and classy. Housekeeping was good and prompt. The hotel is older, so you hear some pipes and banging noises in the morning. The charm of this hotel is the feel you get when you walk in the lobby or your room, the smell (which was delicious) and the general decor of the hotel. Parking is expensive (valet only at $35 a night). They have bike rentals (great idea) so you can cruise the strand or shop (bike locks included). Overall, it is a great hotel with a below average location - however if you don't care about walking this is a great option.

Room Tip: Request higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

natedawg4040,
We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for sharing. We appreciate that you were a fan of our decor and design as it is one of the aspects of the hotel we take great pride in. While the hotel is a short walk to the pier and promenade we closer that most hotels in Santa Monica to the Main Street shopping and dinning area. We hope you'll have the chance to explore this part of town on your next visit with us. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jesper H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is very trendy and lively. The pool area cabanas are a great place to relax, after touring around the Santa Monica Pier. Great service. The rooms didn't knock my socks off, but the view of the beach was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balletrfs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

balletrfs17,
Thank you for joining us in Santa Monica. We're pleased that you enjoyed yourself so much in our amazing city. While your socks are still on we're glad to know you had a good time while with us. We hope to have the chance to knock them off on your next visit. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at Viceroy for a long weekend, and the actual stay-in -experience was lovely, albeit Viceroy is missing some features normally expected in this price level (turn-down service, coffee makers / espresso machines) in the room. Compared to some other luxury hotels, it does additionally have a less favorable location, being slightly further away from the central Santa Monica hot spots.

What really pulled down my rating is the mess-up that followed after my stay; they didn't cancel the sum reserved on my credit card after I had settled the bill, which, because I'm not (their more typical type of customer?) a millionaire, basically ruined the rest of my vacation in my next stop, as I couldn't use the credit card basically at all!!! Not great for your shopping-leg-of-the-vacation!!! What upsets me even more is that when I contacted them on the issue, they said they had fixed it, yet three days later, the sum is still blocked on my credit card!!! I'm sorry but I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulSisterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

SoulSisterLondon,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay while you were with us but am disappointed to hear about the frustration you experienced with authorization on your card. We do release any authorizations at the hotel level at the end of each day at which point our it is up to our guest's bank as to how quickly they release the authorization on their end. I do know that our Front Office Manager had correspondence with you and made all attempts possible to assist in this matter for you though I do regret this was not able to be resolved faster for you. I would be happy to discuss this with you in person should you wish to phone me on my direct line of 310-260-7506. We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our 2nd summer stay here.

Upscale ambiance with the beach right outside is great!!! Staff is exceptionally friendly given the potential clientele who stay here, they do a good job at making even the common folk like us feel welcome. The check in dude was really nice and welcoming (even though we were in shorts and T's) to my wife and I and that started our stay off nice. That was most impressive and would make me want to stay there again.

Oh yea and the rooms are excellent and décor is what you'd expect for a urbane hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: try to get a beach front room. view of santa monica pier at night is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentd972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Vincent D,
Thank you for the love and for returning to see us at Viceroy. I'm very pleased to hear what a great time both you and your wife had. That is only topped by the knowledge that you were welcomed with open arms by our team. We appreciate your loyalty and hope that we can make this an annual summer visit for you.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,025 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,743 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,418 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £324 - £542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing