We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$481
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$402
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$584
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge by Wyndham Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$411
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Georgian Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$346/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$726
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$552
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$554
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$520
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$519
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$598
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$534
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveller rating
1,003
441
199
82
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,003
441
199
82
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaglass of champagnehip hotelocean viewupon checklocation is greatshort walk to the beachlobby barocean avela areamain streetvenice beachvalet parkingcasa del marlos angelesconciergeblock
Filter
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

loews After reading the exellent reviews, we decided that it should be chic hotel! And what we saw for this money?! The building looks more like a hostel rather than a hotel. For such a price for the room it could be breakfast included! We even thought to move to the Loews..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Kate K,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. I am very disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. While true that the building is a mid 60's design on the outside we believe what makes us truly special is what is on the inside with both the design and service. I am sorry that you did not feel this way and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you. You may contact me at my direct line of 310-260-7506. I look forward to this opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The Viceroy never fails to disappoint - from the complimentary glass of prosecco at check-in, to the outstanding service from the staff - this is a great experience. Two blocks to the beach with bikes available to use. Some tips: rooms on lower floors on "city" side can be loud as poolside tends to be busy at night. No towels available to take to beach (can purchase for $30) so if you're planning to lay out at the beach bring your own or buy from a nearby shop. Also smoothies on breakfast menu are delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMNFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

MsMNFoodie,
We are honored to be considered your favorite hotel in LA. Thank you for continuing to come back and see us. Thank you also for providing some tips to our future guests. We're very pleased to hear that we continue to impress and look forward to having the chance to do this many more times in the future. We'll have a smoothie waiting for you. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely hotel, and the location is good. The room's didn't match the very high standard of Palm Springs, and because we turned up Thanks Giving eve the hotel staff gave the impression they didn't really want to be there, which I guess you can't really blame them, but there was no holiday atmosphere. Also, disappointing that we weren't pre-warned that the whole pool area was out of use. Other than that a very nice hotel, I love the Viceroy chain!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Waltssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Waltssy,
Thank you for being such a loyal Viceroy Hotel Group guest. Our Palm Springs property is pretty special so we're please to learn that you have had good experiences in both properties. We did take advantage of the very slow period and colder weather around Thanksgiving last year to re-plaster our pools. I regret that you were not made aware ahead of time as we did attempt to communicate this on our website. I do hope that we can have you back on your next visit to enjoy the improved pool area.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying here! It is a bit hard to find on Ocean Avenue (as it is surrounded by large hedges). It is located a bit south from Santa Monica pier and 3rd street promenade, where most of the restaurants and stores are located. The decor is absolutely beautiful - the color schemes and decorating are top notch. Found check-in to be painless and was upgraded to an ocean view (not much of a view from the 3rd floor) - so request a higher floor to truly get an ocean view. It looks over a street, which is busy, but the doors and windows seemed to keep out most of the sound out. The room (we stayed in a King) was beautifully decorated, clean and classy. Housekeeping was good and prompt. The hotel is older, so you hear some pipes and banging noises in the morning. The charm of this hotel is the feel you get when you walk in the lobby or your room, the smell (which was delicious) and the general decor of the hotel. Parking is expensive (valet only at $35 a night). They have bike rentals (great idea) so you can cruise the strand or shop (bike locks included). Overall, it is a great hotel with a below average location - however if you don't care about walking this is a great option.

Room Tip: Request higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

natedawg4040,
We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for sharing. We appreciate that you were a fan of our decor and design as it is one of the aspects of the hotel we take great pride in. While the hotel is a short walk to the pier and promenade we closer that most hotels in Santa Monica to the Main Street shopping and dinning area. We hope you'll have the chance to explore this part of town on your next visit with us. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews