We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end feel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“High end feel, great staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Viceroy Santa Monica is a pleasant surprise. The property has a high end feel in the heart of Santa Monica beach properties dominated by mid-range chains. The superior experience, however, is really a product of very skilled and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Atlrich,
We love to surprise our guests so thank you for allowing us the opportunity. We are very pleased to learn that you felt we stood out amongst the rest of the hotels in Santa Monica. That you had a superior experience and that this is a result of our staff means the world to us. Thank you for joining us and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    396
    178
    71
    39
See reviews for
281
570
87
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Viceroy in July - extremely stylish, classy hotel with impeccable service. Unlike many hotels, the rooms were at the same standard as the reception area. Location is "OK" being a block back from the beach / pier and a 5 min walk to the main shopping area, but you don't really have a sea view and the pool isn't really of size for swimming. So go here if you want a great stylish boutique type hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadtonowhere68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Roadtonowhere68,
Our thanks to you and your family for joining us at Viceroy. We are happy to learn how much everyone enjoyed themselves. We appreciate that you felt that our standards were consistent throughout the property and that you were well looked after while you were with, Indeed the pools are not meant for lap swimming but as warm as it has been we hope you had the chance to cool off a bit in them. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

loews After reading the exellent reviews, we decided that it should be chic hotel! And what we saw for this money?! The building looks more like a hostel rather than a hotel. For such a price for the room it could be breakfast included! We even thought to move to the Loews..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Kate K,
Thank you for joining us at Viceroy. I am very disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. While true that the building is a mid 60's design on the outside we believe what makes us truly special is what is on the inside with both the design and service. I am sorry that you did not feel this way and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you. You may contact me at my direct line of 310-260-7506. I look forward to this opportunity.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The Viceroy never fails to disappoint - from the complimentary glass of prosecco at check-in, to the outstanding service from the staff - this is a great experience. Two blocks to the beach with bikes available to use. Some tips: rooms on lower floors on "city" side can be loud as poolside tends to be busy at night. No towels available to take to beach (can purchase for $30) so if you're planning to lay out at the beach bring your own or buy from a nearby shop. Also smoothies on breakfast menu are delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMNFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
MsMNFoodie,
We are honored to be considered your favorite hotel in LA. Thank you for continuing to come back and see us. Thank you also for providing some tips to our future guests. We're very pleased to hear that we continue to impress and look forward to having the chance to do this many more times in the future. We'll have a smoothie waiting for you. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely hotel, and the location is good. The room's didn't match the very high standard of Palm Springs, and because we turned up Thanks Giving eve the hotel staff gave the impression they didn't really want to be there, which I guess you can't really blame them, but there was no holiday atmosphere. Also, disappointing that we weren't pre-warned that the whole pool area was out of use. Other than that a very nice hotel, I love the Viceroy chain!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Waltssy,
Thank you for being such a loyal Viceroy Hotel Group guest. Our Palm Springs property is pretty special so we're please to learn that you have had good experiences in both properties. We did take advantage of the very slow period and colder weather around Thanksgiving last year to re-plaster our pools. I regret that you were not made aware ahead of time as we did attempt to communicate this on our website. I do hope that we can have you back on your next visit to enjoy the improved pool area.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying here! It is a bit hard to find on Ocean Avenue (as it is surrounded by large hedges). It is located a bit south from Santa Monica pier and 3rd street promenade, where most of the restaurants and stores are located. The decor is absolutely beautiful - the color schemes and decorating are top notch. Found check-in to be painless and was upgraded to an ocean view (not much of a view from the 3rd floor) - so request a higher floor to truly get an ocean view. It looks over a street, which is busy, but the doors and windows seemed to keep out most of the sound out. The room (we stayed in a King) was beautifully decorated, clean and classy. Housekeeping was good and prompt. The hotel is older, so you hear some pipes and banging noises in the morning. The charm of this hotel is the feel you get when you walk in the lobby or your room, the smell (which was delicious) and the general decor of the hotel. Parking is expensive (valet only at $35 a night). They have bike rentals (great idea) so you can cruise the strand or shop (bike locks included). Overall, it is a great hotel with a below average location - however if you don't care about walking this is a great option.

Room Tip: Request higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natedawg4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Manager at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
natedawg4040,
We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for sharing. We appreciate that you were a fan of our decor and design as it is one of the aspects of the hotel we take great pride in. While the hotel is a short walk to the pier and promenade we closer that most hotels in Santa Monica to the Main Street shopping and dinning area. We hope you'll have the chance to explore this part of town on your next visit with us. Thanks again.

Matt Shough, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,863 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,556 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing