We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and grounded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed here on a new years break to LA. Started our holiday here for 3 nights, a very cool decision as it turned out as this was a great place to kill the jetlag. The room was hip cool and comfortable, a king bed and a sea view looking to the sea over the rooftop of shutters on the beach. Great sunsets and a very sexy room. The bar and lobby came to life after 11pm at night, good cocktails and a friendly crowd. However the hotel was pretty quiet, we checked in on the 26th ( this is not a family christmas hotel). We will definately be back for a summer stay. The staff were really friendly, not stuck up (as you may find at the Mondrian/Morgan group). Restaurant well recommended and the location is great, one block from the beach and a 10 minute walk to 3rd and main shops and the pier. Check out the library (just off the lobby) it's a great place to unwind with a book. The pool area really looked like a great place to party when the place warms up.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BernieandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2009

we stayed at the viceroy on 31st december and 1st january 2008/09. we appreciated an earlier reviewer's warning that the outside of the hotel does not do it justice, as this is certainly the case! it was the most expensive hotel of our 2 week trip and we had high expectations and in many ways we weren't disappointed.

the lobby in particular is very striking and our room was well presented, although the bathroom floor did not seem to have been cleaned and was covered in small pieces of foil...perhaps from opening a bottle?? these were cleared up by room service the following morning so not too big a deal and not bad enough that we felt we had to phone when we arrived.

we were a little disappointed to only be on the 2nd floor - my husband had emailed the hotel in advance to advise we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and to see if we could therefore have a room with a view or if they had any suggestions for how to mark the occasion. as far as i am aware he did not receive a reply. our travel agent had also informed the hotel about our anniversary but we received no indication that they had acknowledged this.

unfortunately there was a big new years eve celebration at the hotel and the $175 per person tickets were out of our price range. we were offered no discount as guests of the hotel and even refused access to the hotel when we returned from dinner at 11:30pm! we just wanted to go to our room and watch tv...certainly weren't planning to gatecrash the party! we were eventually let in after showing our room keys. because of the party, the pool area was out of bounds for the whole of our stay which was a shame because we had hoped to sit out there and have a drink (in spite of the cold weather!) as so many people had listed this as a highlight of the hotel.

we found the staff a little insincere, particularly when we voiced our disappointment with the above issue on check out.

the parking charges are very expensive - over $60 for our 2 nights. there was no personal touch to this stay and we ended up feeling out of place and kind of in the way when walking through the lobby. because of this we did not experience the hotel bar or restaurant.

it's a fairly long walk to 3rd st promenade...

oh, we had a lovely meal on new years eve at the shutter's coast cafe, around the corner from the viceroy and right on the beach...highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Had a superb stay at this hotel, got upgraded to a stunning suite on the top floor which was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. It's a super-stylish hotel but is still very friendly and the staff couldn't have done more to make us feel special. Will definately be back when I'm next visiting LA

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowsfieldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

This hotel delivers exactly what is promises on their website -- it is a cool, luxury, boutique hotel. Both the public areas and the bedrooms were decorated in the height of good taste, and the service was immaculate. We paid extra for a ocean view and got a room on the 8th floor -- remember this is a block from the sea so your view is across a fairly major road and over a strip of hotels actually on the beach (including Shutters). Does this make it the perfect hotel to take kids? Probably not! The pool was rather small, the food rather fussy, the room a bit tight and the prices a bit high. In particular, I rather resented the $30+ per night to park at the hotel. In summary, would definitely return for a business trip or romantic get-away, but not necessarily with kids.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoothroydEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

The Viceroy is one street back from the beach. We ummed and aahed over which hotel to stay in during our time in Santa Monica and eventually chose the Viceroy over Shutters.

We were thrilled with the interior of the hotel. The lobby and bar area are ultra stylish and just the place you want to have a drink in after a long day.

Our room was lovely. In hindsight we should have booked two rooms as the beds were a little small and we were sharing the room with our two boys - our fault, not the hotels. We had booked a seaview and it was well worth the extra money - the view made the room.

We found the bell boys and the valet staff to be very friendly and professional. The reservation staff upon check in were nice, too. We found the bar staff stuck up and when we asked the reception desk a few questions about the internet the next day, they were positively rude. The feeling we had from the bar (both in the day and the evening) was that we should be grateful to be in such a cool bar and we felt the staff showed very little customer service skills.

I ate to complain about hotels as the Viceroy did have many good points. However, we travel all over the world in 5 star hotels and there was a distinct lack of customer care at the Viceroy. For the money, this is simply unacceptable. For the same money, the Grand del Mar where we had beenf or the previous 3 nights was 500% better on customer care - no exaggeration!

Two major areas of complaint - room cleaning - the glasses from the champagne we received upon check in were left in our room on the table for 3 days and not removed! The bar and lobby staff and their attitudes.

Would i go there again - yes, but I would wait for them to improve custer care.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luxuriousliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

We stayed in a junior suite, which had the best interior we've ever stayed in. The staff was accommodating and everything was perfectly executed. Plus, my dog came for the night. We love this hotel so much we stayed even though we live in Los Angeles!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bellaballberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

From the outside, the hotel looks more like a civil service office block but looks can be deceiving. This is a very chic, funky hotel. We splashed out on an Ocean View Room thinking we'd get $2 to our British £1 - and even if we had, it would still have been expensive. But it was worth it. The bedroom was huge and designed very well so that you can see the Ocean from bed, which I always really like. Great size bathroom and quality furnishings. The bed is one of the most comfortable we've ever stayed in (Westin Heavenly Bed being the winner). The staff were all efficient and keen to help. The bar is a great place to hang out although at the weekends it is filled with LAs Beautiful People (or at least those that think they are). I have two small criticisms, neither of which would stop me staying there again. Firstly the charge for wifi - surely not necessary these days. Secondly, the fact that this hotel seems to have regular private functions during evenings around the pool area. When we were there, this necessitated the pool being closed for the whole day preceding it. So essentially, you are booking a hotel with no pool. If that's important to you, you should be aware of this fact.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,005 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,718 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,182 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,018 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: £307 - £528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing