We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viceroy Santa Monica
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“One of the best”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This was our second stay at the Viceroy,and as enjoyable as the first. Great rooms and location,friendly staff,fantastic ambience,this hotel is a personal favourite. It's so much more interesting than the big chains and in my opinion, the best option in Santa Monica.
There's a feeling of happiness that washes over you (particularly after a lengthy international flight) when you enter the Viceroy foyer and head to reception.Within its cool,quiet,calm interior, you really feel that this is where your holiday starts, it's a very pleasant sensation.
The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, places you are happy to spend time and relax in.The pool area is the perfect place for an afternoon cocktail and turns into a buzzing outdoor bar on a Friday/Saturday night.
The only issue is lack of free wi fi. It's probably not a great hotel for young families but for singles and couples it's a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    383
    175
    69
    38
See reviews for
268
559
87
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Funny, I looked at a review made in 2008 about all the same concerns I am about complain about. Clearly, they do not care or they have run out of money. First, this hotel IS A SMOKING HOTEL despite the "no smoking" Santa Monica ordinance. It reeks of stale smoke with cigarette burns in the carpets and ashtrays all over the pool area. They cannot control it so they try to pretend it's not a problem.The rooms are trendy but tired and need major refurbishment because the furniture looks like a fraternity has taken over since they fail to clean the fabric and just turn the cushion over to hide the filth. The hallways are dark because they can't be bothered to clean the carpet. Yuck. The only redeeming moment is the wonderful service we received from the Director of Housekeeping and a concerned manager. They are well versed since I am sure they hear this negative feedback often. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiagirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicejess, Director of Guest Services at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are scheduled to begin many upgrades to our guest rooms and public areas such as hallway carpet, guest room upholstery and we are finalizing details of our guest room renovation in the very near future. We truly do try our very best to enforce the no smoking policy we have in place but at times it is difficult to monitor every guest and unfortunately that was the case in the room in which you were assigned. We have changed our smoking policy at the pool as a result of your feedback and will certainly do a much better job enforcing this going forward. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind words. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Hotel is nice, clean and the staff are helpful but it definitely had a pretentious feel about it that we did not warm too. Bed was really good. It is quite expensive as well. The valet parking is compulsory and cost $30 per night plus tips etc. we parked in the secure public parking garage for $5-10 per night and it is a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicejess, Director of Guest Services at Viceroy Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
Thank you for your review and comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was helpful throughout your visit. In regards to our valet parking, I wanted to assure you that our pricing is below the neighboring competitors and we continuously evaluate this to ensure you are getting the best value. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I stayed at the Viceroy for work the weekend of the LA Marathon (which ended outside the hotel's doors). We stayed there for just one night, but I have to say I was a bit under-impressed by the hotel. I'd heard that the decor was amazing, but it all seemed a bit over designed. Our room was cute (nice wallpaper) but not really all that special in the layout. The service was mediocre and the restaurant was very overpriced for what you were getting. I wouldn't make an effort to return to the Viceroy. I think there are many more boutique hotels in LA with more personality.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank losangelesgirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

nice location near beach in santa monica
typical "hip/slick/trendy" decor - lots of "style"
but seen it all before elsewhere....
certainly very nice though and no major complaints other than the style seems a little overwrought and dated
pool pretty but more for posing or taking a meeting than chillin out...
small decent work out room was handy
walk to beach , pier boardwalk, bike rentals. great breakfast place directly across street

rated average in comparison to similar hi end places, in comparison to all hotels is clearly way above average

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We booked this hotel after a recommenation from our uk travel agent, trailfinders. The hotel is situated on ocean avenue and is very close to other similiar priced hotels (shutters on the beach, lowes and the jw Marriott). It also has great access to the beach and the pacific highway. The hotel is a few minutes walk to the pier and to the main shopping areas (3rd steeet is really good for food, shops and cinema)

Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly, knowledgable service and a free glass of lemonade or champagne The hotel is very impressive and clean. By booking with trailfinders, we were also upgraded to a ocean view room. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a great large bathroom that included a dressing table. The sony tv in the room was HD and had a great choice of channels. It also had iPod docks, a DVD player, bathrobes and slippers. The bed was also really comfortable.   

The service offered was good. The day before we left, the front desk proactively called our room to organise arrangements for the airport. They also printed our boarding passes and personally delivered them to our room.

The only flaw with the hotel is the small swimming pool that loses the sun  in the afternoon. If you want to spend the whole day in the sun you may also have to visit the beach!

In summary, this hotel was worth the money we paid. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Santa monica.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston, ct
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

The hotel is ultra cool. We stayed in a suite which had balcony like windows with ocean views. Staff could not have been more accommodating. Restaurant was great for lunch and breakfast, but don't order just coffee from room service, it will cost $10. But they brought up free popcorn in the evening. DVDs instead of in-room movie system is a bit limited, but the location and service of this hotel cannot be beat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyvWeston_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viceroy Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Santa Monica

Property: Viceroy Santa Monica
Address: 1819 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#6 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Viceroy Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban retreat at the shore - British impressions- with bold current perspectives. Business friendly- yet vacation ready- and just steps from the Santa Monica pier- beaches- shopping- dinning and nightlife. Each of the 162 guestrooms and suites offer ocean- pool- or palm views. Mascioni linens and bathrobes- custom beds with down comforters and pillows. Body and hair care products Aromatherapy Associates. In room spa services available- marble baths with seated vanities and soaking tubs- sitting areas- and fully stocked mini bars. In room entertainment centers feature 40 in flat screen tv- full cable access and movies- music- and video games- high-speed wireless Internet access- two-line telephones with speaker and private voicemail as well as media hubs. And dataports for modem/fax hookup - Viceroy also offers video check-out with e-mail reciept. A complete fitness center- 2 outdoor heated pools with private cabanas. Cameo bar- reunion dining at Cast- 24-hour room service- dry cleaning and laundry service- full-service concierge- choice of daily newspaper- and a 1300 sq foot meeting room with private patio overlooking the pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viceroy Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Santa Monica Hotel Santa Monica
Viceroy Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing