We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality sushi without a high price”

SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa
Ranked #19 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Description: High end sushi. Has 4 locations.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“High quality sushi without a high price”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Dined on a Sunday night, which was fairly busy especially given the small size of the restaurant. We were quoted a 2 hour wait, but I was told that the wait is never as long as they quote, and we only waited about 1.5 hours. We were allowed to go elsewhere and have a drink while we waited, then they called us when our table was ready. Once seated, service was very speedy. We took advantage of some of the preset menus, which offered a really nice variety. The "lite" menu was $20 and was plenty of food for a hungry lady. The "regular" menu was $30 and was a good amount for a hungry gentleman. All of the seafood was extremely fresh and delicious. Given the prime location in downtown Santa Monica and the high quality of sushi, I think this place is a great value for what you get

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirBeardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    81
    19
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“It doesn't get any better than this”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Our best sushi experience ever!! Every new piece they bring out is like a little piece of heaven. The fish just melts in your mouth and every bite is an explosion of flavours. Pair it with the Stag's Leap chardonnay and life doesn't get any better. Don't miss it!

Helpful?
Thank Ragnhild P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food - don't bother choosing, just trust them”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I went here for lunch and took the 'trust me' menu. It was amazing, the best sushi that I've had in a very long time. Upon arrival you'll be given soja beans to nibble on, followed by a series of small sushi plates, each more delicious than the last.
It isn't cheap, and they are very sure of what they're doing (you're kindly requested not to add soy sauce or wasabi to the dishes, which should be eaten as presented). So if your idea of sushi is drowning everything with soy and plastering on the green stuff this won't be fore you. But if you're happy to just allow your hosts to provide you with a great experience, this might just be one of the highlights of your visit to Santa Monica.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
450 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“"Trust me" ... Sugarfish is one of the best!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went here with a colleague on a recent business trip to the LA area. Sugarfish has an amazing contemporary take on the traditional sushi fare. I've had sushi in Japan at 7 am next to the Tsukiji fish market, and this is almost as good! I went for the "Trust Me Nozawa" and my colleague went for the regular "Trust Me". We shared the few items that were not included on both. We also had some of the nigori sake (good value) and green tea, and everything went together ideally. The rice vinegar in the rice has some flavor to it, which sets off the rest of the dish very nicely.
There are not a lot of choices on sake, but the nigori is a good match, so you might as well have that unless you don't like the unfiltered sake.

No more details are needed about the menu items, as other reviewers have covered these, and the Trust Me choices could change as different fish becomes available in the market.
We did have a short wait on a Monday night, so you'll want to plan ahead accordingly. They will call you on your mobile if you walk away from the restaurant to enjoy the nearby ocean views.
This one is on my list for a return visit.
One other unexpected thing... the price on the menu includes service and tax! What you see is what you get! There isn't even a spot to add a tip, which is a nice touch and shows respect for the diners.
Don't hesitate... go here for the most memorable sushi you'll get. Just don't expect Tokyo-style presentation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great sushi, a bit pricey!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went there for lunch and ordered two 'trust me' (set menu) for the two of us. No complain about the sushi, the fish is very fresh and tasty, among the best we have had. We also like the way they serve, course after course, letting you finished and savored the last dish then enjoying the coming one. The sushi is freshly prepared, judging how crispy the sea weed is, it is sent to your table the second the chefs leave it on the bench! One negative is that the piece is quite small comparing to what they charge you (I am comparing to numbers of very good Japanese restaurant in US we have visited, apple to apple). This makes Sugar Fish not very good value. But then again, Santa Monica downtown is an expensive place. The ambience of the restaurant is modern, simple and chic. Recommend it if you value good sushi but don't mind the price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MojaveMaxNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa also viewed

 

Been to SUGARFISH by sushi nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing