We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”
Review of Tar and Roses

Tar and Roses
Reserve with OpenTable
Tar and Roses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: SE Corner of 6th Street
Description: Centered around a wood burning oven, Tar & Roses serves up farmers market dishes with global influences.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had not only a very eclectic and delicious meal but the wines were amazing too. Service was excellent, the ambiance was fun and hip. Will definitely return to try all the rest of the dishes too. My favorite dish was the pork bellies - amazing!! Loved the snapper, the bone marrow and anything that I tried. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    90
    30
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, solid experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Although we had a reservation, they called us to confirm. I guess they would have suspended it if we didn't return their call. The place looks modern and elegant, service was very fast and friendly, but prices are a bit higher than average. We started with a trio of cold cuts with different jams and some bread, and my husband went for the wild king salmon with shelling beans, pea tendrils and tomato ragout, while I chose the hanger steak with chanterelles, potato cream, tomato and charred onion. Dishes are gourmet, so don't expect a lot of food. It is all very tasty, though. They don't sell liquor, so husband went for a beer and I chose a glass of primitivo wine. We ended with an amazing sorbet, great-sized portion. Atmosphere was nice and not too loud, it is good and out-of-the-ordinary cooking, so make sure to go there if you appreciate that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great service, nice ambience, brilliant food.

Book, eat, enjoy.

The Snapper was fantastic, so to popcorn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We've eaten at a lot of excellent restaurants, and this ranks among the very best. It has a hip and happening vibe without being too loud nor too edgy. The food was delicious and unusual, and the service was outstanding. I would definitely go back again, and I recommend this to anyone who appreciates creative quality food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exotic flood of flavors on the taste buds”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My daughter got recommendation from one of the staff members at a boutique shop on Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills- highly recommended this place. We agreed. Up for Bone Marrow anyone! sounds funky but delightfully light taste. Dishes are small and can be shared by 2 people so we ordered a 6 course onslaught of flavorful foods to which our wonderful server would bring out to us one by one; next was balsamic glazed ribs, very tasty, oxtail dumplings very subtle and very good, ricotta gnocchi was out of this world, and last stop was the duck breast- wunderbar; make sure you try their draught beers from local breweries. Don't forget to top it off with their wonderful desserts they have and a cappucino. Make sure to spend the time and enjoy the extravagance of the meal and take in all the different flavors touching your palate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tar and Roses also viewed

 

Been to Tar and Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing