We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding, from start to finish!”
Review of Tar and Roses

Tar and Roses
Reserve with OpenTable
Tar and Roses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: SE Corner of 6th Street
Description: Centered around a wood burning oven, Tar & Roses serves up farmers market dishes with global influences.
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“outstanding, from start to finish!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I shared a flawless eveing at this restaurant in early August. We were seated in the back open-air room, and our server walked us through the menu, making suggestions, telling us her favorites. We started with two appetizers: beef heart kabobs and an Asian-spiced carpaccio, both of which were outstanding. For our entrée we shared the whole fish for two: a perfectly cooked red snapper, which we picked clean. A nice Barolo to go with, plus an amazing dessert and espresso to top it all off. Great ambiance, wonderful service, fantastic food. Go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    91
    31
    2
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small Plates-Great Location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Met a colleague for dinner at Tar and Roses, and was pleasantly surprised by their menu and their food quality. It was coincidental, that we need a restaurant that opened by 5:30 for us to make a plane at LAX.
This was one of the few in Santa Monica that opened before 6 pm, and it was a gem.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FHANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had not only a very eclectic and delicious meal but the wines were amazing too. Service was excellent, the ambiance was fun and hip. Will definitely return to try all the rest of the dishes too. My favorite dish was the pork bellies - amazing!! Loved the snapper, the bone marrow and anything that I tried. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, solid experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Although we had a reservation, they called us to confirm. I guess they would have suspended it if we didn't return their call. The place looks modern and elegant, service was very fast and friendly, but prices are a bit higher than average. We started with a trio of cold cuts with different jams and some bread, and my husband went for the wild king salmon with shelling beans, pea tendrils and tomato ragout, while I chose the hanger steak with chanterelles, potato cream, tomato and charred onion. Dishes are gourmet, so don't expect a lot of food. It is all very tasty, though. They don't sell liquor, so husband went for a beer and I chose a glass of primitivo wine. We ended with an amazing sorbet, great-sized portion. Atmosphere was nice and not too loud, it is good and out-of-the-ordinary cooking, so make sure to go there if you appreciate that!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great service, nice ambience, brilliant food.

Book, eat, enjoy.

The Snapper was fantastic, so to popcorn.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tar and Roses also viewed

 

Been to Tar and Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing