We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish they would stop the pony rides” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Monica Farmers Market

Santa Monica Farmers Market
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.00*
and up
Santa Monica Private Tour by Electric Bike
Ranked #17 of 103 things to do in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish they would stop the pony rides”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The Wed. and Sat. Markets on the Promenade are very good, but the one on Main Street on Sunday is just depressing. As you walk in to the market the first thing you see at the Main Street Farmers Market is the pony ride. Ponies with children on their backs going around and around in circles. It is shocking that something like this is going on every week at the farmers market. It is depressing to see. You can't get the thought of the ponies out of your head the whole time you're there. It's just a primitive spectacle of animal exploitation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    19
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Skip the Sunday Santa Monica Farmers Market”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

It's more of a flea market than a farmers market, with too much Main St. commercialism.
I agree with the the other reviewers...the pony rides and animal petting area are very disturbing. Exposing children to this cruel treatment of ponies is wrong...so if you must go, leave the kids at home, or better yet, skip this market and go to the wonderful, cruelty free market on Saturday in downtown Santa Monica. Lots more organic fruits and vegetables also!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraTASSC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes for Saturday, but No for Sunday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The variety and produce in the Santa Monica Farmers Market is generally wonderful, but I can only recommend the Saturday markets in Downtown SM and on Pico. These are great places to pick up fresh produce, herbs, flowers and walk the community. However, the Sunday market (on Main St.) includes a petting zoo, which puts on display, among other things, ponies tied to metal poles for circle rides. I was shocked that our progressive community permitted this petting zoo in the first place, and I am even more disappointed that it continues to do so in the face of continued complaints.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Does anyone notice the miserable ponies and animals?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have lived two blocks away from this market since I moved to Santa Monica many years ago - but never go because I cannot stand seeing the sad ponies tied their sensitive muzzles to an iron bar- in the heat- going round and round- on the cement- music blasting in their ears- barely being given water because they will urinate- it makes my heart hurt to watch the parents smile while they watch their little kids tied in to the saddles- some miserable - some excited- while the parents never notice the condition of the animals- how can anyone love a child and feel nothing for animals- i will never know- the petting zoo is even more depressing- the small animals- constantly bred to have 'babies' cringe in horror and try to run from these small children who run after them- petting zoos have long been known for being terribly abusive to animals- Santa Monica- a world- wide destination and a supposed "liberal palace'- has allowed this abuse to continue- and previously allowed worse- the vendor doing it before - had dead animals parked in the truck- no one cared until a neighbor heard noises- there is no oversight here- the city is not honest and although I feel for the other vendors who work hard at a not easy job- I cannot wait to see the ponies get a better venue and this slavery- which is what it is stop- I am sorry to see so many reviews here where almost no one even notices- no wonder the slaughter of animals and horrid things are going on- no one even sees it- I will not go to this market for anything and I am sad to see so many reviews going on and on about a garlic clove or other things but never even seeing the ponies and babies animals-

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank dannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Depressing pony ride and zoo not organic or sustainable.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

How unfortunate that visitors to this market a few blocks from my home must pass tethered ponies and penned alpacas before purchasing pesticide-free fruits and veggies. There's nothing sustainable or organic about tethering ponies to a metal bar and forcing them to plod in a tiny circle for hours on concrete, car exhaust in their face, band music hammering their ears. Even some of the market vendors have signed a Move On petition to shut down these exploitative animal sideshows. Yes, the honey walnut butter is tasty and, yes, the blueberries are good for you, but normalizing animal exploitation is not, especially when it come to teaching our children that tethering is the norm. Santa Monica could learn a lot from studying farmers markets in Portland, where cooking contests and arts and crafts attract families without featuring animal exhibits from a bygone era.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Marcy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Monica Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing