We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour”
Review of The Lobster

The Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
The Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Colorado Ave.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

You can't beat the Lobsters location right at the top of the Santa Monica Pier! We came for Happy Happy hour on a Wednesday afternoon. You have the choice of sitting inside or outside - both have great beach and sunset views. The service was very friendly, drinks were good and the happy hour options enough to satisfy not only myself and my husband, but our two kids as well. A great spot that we hope to return to soon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleD_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    505
    173
    68
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita, CA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Truly 5 star in every way”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Exceptional location, view, food, wine and service at 5 star prices, as you would expect in Santa Monica. Ask your server for the "specials" and go with it. You'll need to book reservation early or go off hours. The bar is the way to go if you just want to stop by.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Snorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very popular place.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The lobster here is out of this world.. If you order it, the waiter will put a bib around your neck so that the mess doesn't get onto you !!
Again a nice and pleasant atmosphere, good service with care and attention. A place i would also recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JAG069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Lobster: 2 Nights In A Row!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing! Had dinner here 2 nights in a row! First night we decided on trying several appetizers: Crispy Calamari & Prawns, Fried Oysters and St and shared an entree of the Shellfish and Black Linguini. I couldn't help but notice what a neighboring table had ordered...Grilled Lobster! Looked so good! Well, the next night we were trying to decide where to eat as we were walking from our hotel. Did we want Mexican, Italian? No! We came back to The Lobster, without a reservation, and we found a table in the bar. We were welcomed by our waitress (Julia) who was as cute as could be! I didn't even have to look at the menu...I knew what I wanted...The 2.5 lb Grilled Lobster! It was phenomenal! My husband opted for the Sautéed Blue King Prawns and a Caesar Salad. The Manager spotted us, as he remember red us from the previous night. He loved that we had returned & offered to buy us a drink or desert. We had just ordered refills so we opted for the desert: Brioche Bread Pudding with Cashew Carmel Sauce! Oh my!!! If you are looking for a restaurant that not only offers spectacular views of the sunset, but most importantly great food and service The Lobster is it! Reservations are a must if you want to sit in the dining room, but the bar area is just as nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mcww2860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster with amazing ocean view”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We were in honeymoon...
Great boiled and roasted lobster, good wine, amazing view on Santa Monica Pier!!!

I love this place!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dom_8126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lobster also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing