We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pie”

Il Forno Caffe & Pizzeria
Ranked #168 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Between 29th and 30th
Transit: Santa Monica Blue Buss #8 at 28th street and walk back one block.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
921 reviews
623 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
“Good Pie”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I stopped in when I walked by at lunch time felt quite hungry. Had a whole pizza that we split. Really hit the spot. I had two thirds with a coke. Left happy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Italian dishes and great service!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Il Forno has been around on the same spot for several decades. While other restaurants opened and closed around it, Il Forno has been consistently serving great Italian food keeping its menu fresh and delicious. This is not a restaurant for "once a year", but one that you can enjoy everyday because its dishes are simple and the closest to Italian home cooking. Couple by great prices, wide menu selection, and great service, this is probably the best casual Italian restaurant in the area. Equally great for lunch or dinner.

Our family has been enjoying coming here since the 90s. When not feeling like cooking at home or going out, this is also a great restaurant for takeout.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“consistently superb, friendly neighborhood family run restaurant with food that is predictably delicious”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My extended family, including now adult children, has gone to this restaurant for decades. We all have come to count on predictably delicious menu items as well as tasty specials, friendly staff and neighborhood feel, slightly upscale from "down home neighborhood" places but reasonably priced for quality and offerings. The home made pastas, honestly friendly staff and owner, and pleasant decor which is not overdone all make for a special evening without pretense or fawning greetings or overly familiar "Hi Guys" greetings to my wife and me. One does truly feel like welcome guests when entering, appreciated customers when there, and thanked visitors when leaving. Try any of your favorite or new pastas, and he hazelnut flan (?) dessert.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On going quality!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've had many excellent meals here over the past 20 years! The quality of the food has not changed and I'm always excited about eating here. I've never had a mediocre dish at Il Forno. The service is friendly and professional and I once found out which employees supported Juventus football club when I wore my jersey to the restaurant. I was swamped by a number of them including the chef! Il Forno is a little tricky to find as it's on Ocean Park Blvd and tucked away in a mini-mall type building but there is street and lot parking. Many locals have made it their hang out over the years but it is also a meeting place for business meals and you might see celebrities on occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duke97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
239 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a friendly, neighborhood setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is a neighborhood gem. Families go here from the time their children are small until they grow up and move away from. This past Saturday night we went with my son, who is leaving for grad school in Florida. He ran into several other people from high school who were leaving to all parts of the country for grad school too! What a nice good-bye for all of them.

I had a New York strip special. Perfect, perfect. Medium rare cooked perfectly, excellent seasoning, fresh and unusual mushrooms on top. The rest of the family got pasta, and each dish was cooked perfectly, seasoned very well, and made them happy. We shared a blueberry topped cheesecake for dessert.

I can recommend anything on the menu, any of their specials (in fact, it took 7 times going here before I ordered anything off of their regular menu - always got specials). Pasta and pizza are delicious.

Friendly, well trained staff. You can pretty much dress any way you like here. The main dining room can be noisy (but in a fun way). If you want quiet, ask to be seated in the smaller room to the left of the entrance.

Come see how we locals like to dine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumeria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Forno Caffe & Pizzeria also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Il Forno Caffe & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing