We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Amalfi Coast Italian gem in a great neighborhood spot!”
Review of Vincenzo Ristorante - CLOSED

Vincenzo Ristorante
Price range: US$21 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Amalfi Coast Italian gem in a great neighborhood spot!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

During our week long stay in Santa Monica we chose to eat here twice because the Vincenzo Ristorante is that good! Great selection of dishes, wines, authentic taste, not too heavy, with wonderful specials and a quiet lovely small town atmosphere which makes you feel at home. Located on one of the best neighborhood streets in Santa Monica, Montana Ave., this restaurant is a must and an easy walk, bike or cab ride from the hustle and bustle. The owner is a friendly gentlemen who treats his guests like family, and you can tell by the repeat neighborhood customers that this is a favorite among locals and a well kept secret find. Enjoy...we sure did!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
461 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Excellent food in this small neighborhood Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have driven by here countless times and quite frankly did not realize that this was a separate restaurant. We dropped in without reservations and were seated immediately; but a table of 11 had come in before us and their order beat us to the kitchen so we had a much longer wait for food then we imagine is normal. There looked to be only 9 or 10 tables in the restaurant and 3 or 4 were pushed together for the big party. We had a variety of starters and main courses and everything was delicious - the Italian style onion soup was very good and the burrata cheese starter was excellent. All of our mains were delicious and made with fine fresh ingredients - the pasta and shrimp, the fish of the day (Med. Sea Bass) and chicken livornese were all terrific as evidenced by our empty plates. We were disappointed with the wait for our main course but had resigned ourselves to that fate when we dropped in after the large party. The food is excellent and we will be back (maybe earlier next time!).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_a_lot4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food you will not be disappointed. The overall experience will depend of your mood!”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

The food is totally high quality, there is no question on that, the place is really small and the owner is such a character. I come from an Italian family and found him funny but I understand that others can see him as rude. We went with kids but I wouldn't recommend
Is exexpensive and hasn't kids menu

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paub20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Italian food in LA”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Just spent 3 weeks in Italy, Rome, Florence, Venice, Milan and many other smaller cities. Out of many top rated restaurants Vincenzo beats them all. I would say only one or two in Italy were in the same league.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Nice food - Great owner”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Such a nice, intimate restaurant. Ate here after a long day at Six Flags and my wife and I were extremely impressed by the service and quality of food. Vincenzo himself roams the restaurant and is extremely amiable and friendly, making sure you are enjoying the food and service. He seems extremely passionate about the quality of the food and accommodating to any dietary requests. The desserts were simply out of this world.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vincenzo Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing