We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian Dining in Santa Monica”
Review of Trastevere

Trastevere
Ranked #81 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Dining in Santa Monica”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had an evening meal at Trastevere in July. Excellent service, wonderful food and exceptional value. It was a warm nigh so we ate outside which provided a great view of the pedestrian Mall nearby with buskers doing great business. I had a very well cooked Spahegetti Carbonara plus side salad. My sona had a beautifully cooked thin crust pizza. Good wines by the glass, silver service. A great dining experience at a very reasonable price

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    175
    107
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a lovely meal here for 7 people, nice atmosphere in the restaurant and great service. Pizzas were pretty big and very nice as were the pasta dishes. Not too pricy either. Would eat there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This restaurant has high prices for mediocre food. We tried the lasagna and it tasted like Chef Boyardee straight out of a can. The noodles were mushy, it had very little cheese, no other vegetables and the beef was pasty. My guess is that it is reheated in a microwave.
The noodles in the Carbonara pasta were overcooked and it had too much bacon in it and a very heavy cream sauce.
If you have to eat here the pizza is okay.
The waiter did not come back to the table to check if our meals were all okay. It isn't his fault the food isn't great but he should still ask if everything is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionfortravel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Run of the mill Italian.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Not amazing. Not terrible. There are better restaurants, but there are also plenty worse. If you have little other choice or are in a rush, Trastevere will do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewDStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We feared that this place night not be great, given it's location (3rd Ave) and this sadly turned out to be the case. We had chicken parmigiana which was reheated, scorched and tasteless. The broccoli that came with it was far too tough and the potatoes were also reheated (or microwaved). Easily the worst place we ate in Santa Monica. Service etc was fine but the food was so poor that it didn't matter.

Helpful?
Thank iduggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trastevere also viewed

 

Been to Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing