We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building Big Ripoff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Beautiful old building and grounds. Recently purchased and renovated. Inferior location compared to most properties; three very long blocks to beach and miles from the Pier. We booked a "Classic Suite" advertised at "300 sq ft". It was the smallest single room I have ever stayed in. (And that includes many in Europe) We are talking Small) two feet around bed. Suite of what? No room to sit, the closet and the bathroom was so small you couldn't turn around in them. Hugely over priced. Extremely high parking rate and ridiculous three figure pet fee were hidden and more than most rooms. Amenities were laughable, no tissue "we don't supply that" in room, cheap, toiletries, outrageously priced many bar. There is apparently no management on site. I will say that the staff was very good, but could do nothing to alleviate the ripoff. I got the credit card bill and they added items we still don't understand. It appears that the new owners are trying to pay off the renovation in the first month. If you decide to stay here, make sure you understand the actual room size and all the extra fees before you book. The best properties in Santa Monica are only a very few dollars more., Pity for this beautiful old Embassy Lady.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NormanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Spent a happy two days here and enjoyed the cool breezes from the beach through our corner studio's many windows. With so many wonderful restaurants nearby, we didn't get to use our fully furnished kitchen. Roomy with plenty of closet space. Loved the furnishings. The hotel was once residence apartments for the famous. Architectural features abound. There is character and history in this unique property, all in a fabulous location. Wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to PaliHouse if we find ourselves near Santa Monica in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM4339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear SM4339,

Thank you for your lovely five star review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful sea breezes and our furnishings. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Cheers,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Happy to stay someplace that's not the typical gray minimal decor that's become so overly popular. Beautiful quiet neighborhood and charming accommodating staff made our brief stay wonderful. The bed was soft and luxe and we the morning breeze through the open windows made waking up a treat. Wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear onejkm,

Thanks for you wonderful five star review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and the wonderful Santa Monica sea breeze. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope you can stay longer next time!

Finest regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CAROVISA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W4941BLrogerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, General Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank U8588GGoliverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,970 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,148 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,683 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,371 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Address: 1001 3rd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-3703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: £241 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is offered at our lobby lounge for guests on Saturdays and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing