We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with superior service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palihouse Santa Monica
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with superior service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here with my Girlfriend for 4 nights. We looked at a lot of other options in Santa Monica but made a great decision by staying at Palihouse.

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, Majed and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome and gave us excellent recommendations on local nightspots, restaurants and sights.

The hotels layout was different from any other id stayed at. Very Boutique and stylishly decorated. The room we stayed in wasn't huge but full of little surprises. My girlfriend loved the interior design while the free WIFI kept me happy. Not only was WIFI free, but multiple devices can be connected for free (something i have been stung with a few times in the U.S).

The main lobby doubles as a cafe/ restaurant which served great food. The staff created a great atmosphere by offering first class professional service, but where still relaxed enough to converse with guests, a great balance. The food was amazing, I had the granola parfait and the chicken sandwich, both top notch. The coffee was fantastic and reminded me of my local cafe at home!

We also enjoyed the location of the hotel. Short 5 min stroll to the craziness of Santa Monica promenade. We hired a car to get around L.A and I got fined parking near the Palihouse. So be careful parking the signs are a bit confusing, paying $40 or so extra for valet is worth it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a fantastic time and it was really sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Dean W,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for your exceptional five star review! It is a pleasure to hear that our staff was able to make your visit so special. Their commitment to excellence and desire to provide everything they can to each and every guest is what we all strive for. I am also so pleased that your girlfriend enjoyed the design of the hotel!

Please let us know when you will be returning. Thank you again for staying with us.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    62
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
116
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pali house. It was quiet. Rooms were clean, big and comfortable. The staff was amazing. The hotel is gorgeous. Thank you Majed, Fernando and Brian B. Breakfast was delicious. The garden is so pretty. I rented a bike from them for a jaunt to Venice and that was really a nice touch. I think this is Santa Monica's hidden treasure...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear TwoNewYork,

Thank you for your recent stay at Palihouse Santa Monica, and thank you for your lovely four-star review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely pass on this review to Majed, Fernando, Bryan and all of our staff that made your stay with us so special. We are also so glad to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy some of our amenities like breakfast in our courtyard and renting a couple of our Linus Bikes for the day. Thank you again for staying with us, and please let us know when you will be returning for your next visit.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was recently in LA for a family celebration, and although I previously lived there for several years, instead of staying with friends, my wife and brother/sister-in-law decided to stay at this cute little place in Santa Monica. Not only was the hotel walking distance to the beach and the 3rd St Promenade, but the rooms were large and extremely comfortable, the staff was helpful and courteous, and the grounds had dozens of places to sit, relax, and just enjoy the warm California sun. I highly recommend!

Also, if you need your morning coffee fix, check out Cafe Demitasse (http://cafedemitasse.com), which has an incredible coffee bar with all different sorts of java and espresso. They also roast their own beans in-house, and the coffee is exceptional!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbi Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Scott S,

Thank you for your recent stay at Palihouse Santa Monica, and thank you for your lovely four-star review. We are glad to hear that everyone in your party enjoyed your stay with us. We are very close to many local attractions, restaurants and cafes, one of many great reasons to stay with us!

Also, thank you for the great coffee recommendation. For more local recommendations, please download our free app, “Palifornia”, where you can find an insider guide to all of the things that we enjoy about our lovely city.

Thank you again for staying with us, we all look forward to your next visit.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights in Palihouse Santa Monica. Unfortunately we are not satisfied at all.

The positive things:
The room and athmosphere was really good.

The negative things:
Day 1
In the room they have information about bikes. "Please reserve bikes in advance to make sure you get them the day after".
I walked down to the front desk, wanted to do this. The guy said that there is no need. Bikes will be avaliable tomorrow.

Next day, we walk down to get the bikes. The same guy says there are no bikes.. They are all rented out.
It takes him about an hour to fix two bikes for us. One hour of waiting that we had not expected.

Bike charge: 25 USD per bike

Day 2
We used their valet parking during our stay. In the evening we needed the car to go to a restaurant. The valet parking guy said that he was going to be there until 11 pm. We ended our visit at the restaurant a little bit early to make sure to be back before he left. We arrived 1040 pm. No valet parking guy.

Valet parking: 36 USD per night

Day 3
1030 am we asked the front desk for beach towels. The response was that the beach towels right now are in the washing machine. Instead of offering us two towels (any towels) he asks us to go back to our room and get it.

Day 4
Checking out we delivered the above feedback verbally to the guy in the front desk (same guy that we talked to Day 1 and 3 above). His response was, he could compensate me and my husband with 2 coffees to go...

Other:
The nightly rate do not include taxes. This is added.

They do not have permission to serve alcohol and do not have a restaurant that is open after 3 pm. Something we expected when you pay over 450 USD per night, include valet parking and taxes.

To summarize:
If you need a clean and beautiful room to stay in, on a great location. This is a good hotel.

If you expect basic good service and do not want to pay extra for everything else, this is not the place for you. Everything here is expensive.

To Palihouse Santa Monica:
I have now read the feedback you have been given here on Tripadvisor. To the people that gave you negative feedback your response were:
"We do not claim to be for everyone"
On several places.
Because of this and because of your poor service in offering us just a coffee as a compensation when giving you above feedback verbally, when just having spent 1400 USD on your hotel, do not bother to respond to this review. You have already made sure that we will never recommend your place to anyone and that you do not care about your guests nor wanting to improve your service.

/Anna
Stockholm, Sweden

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank annasthlmswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear annasthlmswe,

Thank you for your recent stay, and for sharing your feedback. We understand you don’t want us to respond, however, we feel a sincere apology is necessary. We are disappointed your stay did not go well, and we are so sorry for your experience. We would like to address your concerns to demonstrate we are dedicated to service excellence:

1. Bicycle Rentals: You are absolutely right regarding the bicycle rental. We should have had your bikes reserved in advance, fully functioning, and ready for you to pick up! We certainly failed you in this area, and we have coached our staff on this subject so we are better prepared moving forward. We are pleased to hear you did get a chance to ride them, albeit after waiting for a while. Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience.

2. Valet Parking: We spoke at length with our valet staff about the severity of not being available for you when you returned with your car. Our valet owner is reaching out to you personally to apologize. He has also recently promoted a valued and experienced employee to the Supervisor position, in order to provide the best service possible going forward.

3. Beach Towels: We apologize that our front desk staff asked you to retrieve your own towels from your room! This is certainly not the level of service we are trained to provide our guests, and we have spoken at length to this employee about our company protocol going forward. We are dedicated to making sure we tend to even the most simple guest requests with ease.

4. Taxes: You are correct. Our nightly room rates do not include taxes. This is specified on our website as well as third party partners, and is fairly common in the hotel industry.

In summary, we sincerely apologize that we missed the mark in exceeding your expectations. We are committed to delivering the very best and assure you that is the norm. Cleary, our team underestimated the severity of your inconvenience and we would like to extend a discount on future stay, to further prove to you what the true Palihouse experience is all about. If you would like to discuss further, please contact myself personally via email (nadeev@palihousesm.com).

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, and allowing us an opportunity to improve our performance. We wish you all the very best.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel oozes cool! I love the old Hollywood style yet it is also a modern, beautiful boutique hotel in a great location in Santa Monica! All staff are friendly and I love the design of the rooms which are all different and the rooms are very clean!

Room Tip: The website gives you a very good idea for rooms and prices are not over the top! I have stayed here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear wendy_whelan,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at Palihouse Santa Monica, and thank you for your incredible five star review. We always enjoy having you stay with us, it is an absolute pleasure. I will be sure and share your review with all of our staff. Please let us know when you will be returning; We are already looking forward to it. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at Palihouse in Santa Monica and LOVED it. It could not have been cuter - loved the decor inside and out. We had a queen suite and it was HUGE. Gorgeous windows, huge balcony, comfy bathrobes. They have delicious fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, and we had breakfast in the courtyard in the morning and it was amazing. Everything made from scratch, and very fresh. The location was great as it was a short walk to the 3rd street promenade and the pier, but far enough away to not be in that madness with thousands of tourists. The beach / bike path is two blocks away. Also, the hotel app you can download is great -- we took a lot of their suggestions for hiking and food and they were spot on! Will definitely stay there again when we are in LA.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Michelle S,

Thank you for you five star review! It is a pleasure to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed the hotel. Hopefully, on your next visit you will be able to stay longer than one night. We are pleased to hear that you found our app, Palifornia, so helpful during your stay. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here in 2010 when it was still the Embassy Apartments. I was pleased to see that the new owners have retained the old-world charm, although it has been "trendified" a bit. I wanted to return to stay here because the location is so good - a short walk to either Montana Ave or 3rd Street precinct, and to the beach. Yet, the area is nice and quiet and residential.

The service was excellent, especially because it is NOT stroller friendly - however, there was always someone around to help me lift the stroller up or down the stairs when I was on my own with the baby.

Having said that, the cot was provided without fuss and despite it being a boutique hotel we did not feel that our baby was unwelcome at all.

There was a slight mixup when we arrived and the staff were very apologetic and, without hesitation, offered us complimentary meals as recompense.

We look forward to returning next time we are in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalihouseManagement, Manager at Palihouse Santa Monica, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear BF,

Thank you for your recent stay, and thank you for your amazing five star review! We were so pleased to have you and your child stay with us. It is excellent to hear that the entire staff was able to assist you in all of your needs. We all look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you, again.

Finest Regards,
Palihouse Santa Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palihouse Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palihouse Santa Monica

Property: Palihouse Santa Monica
Address: 1001 3rd St, Santa Monica, CA 90403-3703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palihouse Santa Monica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palihouse Santa Monica is a boutique beach lodge offering 38 generously appointed classic rooms as well as stunning studios, one and two-bedroom guest suites featuring fully equipped kitchens. In continuous operation since 1927, Palihouse Santa Monica (formerly The Embassy Hotel Apartments) is an outstanding example of Moorish-influenced Mediterranean Revival Architecture. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, Palihouse Santa Monica is only a few minutes walk from some of Santa Monica's most famous attractions including the Third Street Promenade, Farmer's Market and the Santa Monica Pier. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is offered at our lobby lounge for guests on Saturdays and Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palihouse Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing