We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool California Vibe”

Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe
Ranked #13 of 696 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Description: Welcome to Big Dean's Oceanfront Cafe, where the "locals" meet and the "fun loving" tourist always return! Voted one of L.A.'S 101 best bars, we are open every day and have all the sports games on Sundays on TV. Conveniently located on the beautiful Santa Monica Boardwalk, this is where nostalgia surrounds you while you relax, sip a beer or have a burger. In addition to fun in the sun on our outdoor patios, you'll find some great food, beer and wine at the world famous Big Dean's. Just ask any of our regulars- they'll tell you to try our World Famous Burgers like the Santa Monica Burger or Big Dean's Double Cheeseburger. We also have sandwiches, sausages and dogs, seafood, tacos and sides, as well as an extensive beer, wine and specialty beverage list, to satisfy guests of all ages! We invite you to check out our website to see what we offer, then bring your friends and family to join us at Big Dean's Oceanfront Cafe today! We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Big Deans is what most Brits would expect of a quintessential Californian bar. On the beach, great music, a sun kissed crowd and friendly, efficient staff - who am I to argue. I forgot to mention the simple, but tasty food and the great selection of beers. I will be taking my daughter there in October so that she can soak up that California vibe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

It's wonderful to hear you had the perfect California bar experience with us, Marc! Thank you for the compliments to our food and staff -- I'll be sure to pass your kind words along. We're delighted to hear that you'll be bringing your daughter back this year; we can't wait to welcome you both!

All the best,
Big Dean's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our group dined here after an evening on the pier. We were able to grab a table off the beach walk which allowed for a great sunset view with the pier as a backdrop. Hard to beat. Food was good. We had three juicy burgers and the clam chowder bread bowl which my wife really liked. Service was a little spotty. We would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thanks for the feedback, Matt! We're really glad to read that you were able to stop by and take in the sunset along with the burgers and the chowder. Thanks for letting us know about the service as well. Next time you're in the area, we hope we can do it again!

Best,
Big Dean's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, the calamari was realy nice. The beer was cold and the weather was nice. Seriously, i was nice having a beer and a bite here! If we could, we would come here again!

Thank Janpan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thanks for the review, Janpan19! It's great to read that you got to try our calamari -- it's a great pairing for a cold beer. If your travels bring you back to Santa Monica in the future, be sure to come back and say hello!

Best,
Big Dean's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Was looking for something not so "Santa Monica". Deans was a good local joint. Food was good, beer cold, and prices good.

Thank gtterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hey gtterb, thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your recent visit -- we'll be sure to pass your compliments along to our team here. If you find yourself in Santa Monica in the future, come back and see us!

Best,
Big Dean's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Right at the base of the Pier, the service and food were decent, nothing outstanding, but the location and people watching were great!

1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty M, Owner at Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hi Carol, thanks for the feedback. Obviously we wish we could've left you a bit more impressed, but we appreciate the comments and suggestions nonetheless. If you find yourself in Santa Monica in the future, we hope you'll come back and see us!

Best,
Big Dean's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big Deans Oceanfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing